HELP! Refurbished 2012 Fusion drive problem

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Akula971, Oct 31, 2014.

  1. Akula971 macrumors regular

    Akula971

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Location:
    Perfidious Albion
    #1
    I thought I was lucky getting an Apple refurbished 2.6GHz Quad core I7 with a 1TB fusion drive. Well it arrived today, and when I started it up, all there was, was a grey screen with a no entry sign on it. No operating system? OK not impressed, but I can install from the internet, so I pressed cxmd+R and off it went to get it, but then when it came to install it said no hard drive found? So I started up disk utility and saw only one 128GB drive, unformatted, But wait it was supposed to have a 1TB fusion drive, where is it?

    I've tried re-setting the pram, installing a fresh copy of Mavericks, but no show. So I'm left a bit miffed and either I'm doing something wrong or the drive is dead?

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #2
    Check the internal cable connections!
     
  3. Richard8655 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    I wouldn't risk opening it and trying to fix the hardware yourself. Take it into your local Apple Store genius bar. You're covered for any problems.
     
  4. Akula971 thread starter macrumors regular

    Akula971

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Location:
    Perfidious Albion
    #4
    I found that the hard drive connector was not connected. All fixed.
     
  5. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #5
    Very simple idea. If you buy a product and it doesn't work, don't post here asking for help to get it working. Instead, return it to the seller and let them fix it.

    ----------

    I once had a problem with a (non-Apple) product, took it to the store, had it replaced, and then I went on the Internet and found a thread with more than 100 people trying to figure out how to fix that problem...
     

Share This Page