Help...Sierra ruin my iMac 2009

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by omegastar, Oct 18, 2016.

  1. omegastar macrumors newbie

    omegastar

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    #1
    I made the "usual" update onOSX from AppleStore ...bad bad ideia .... after instalation iMac freezes and try allready 3 new installs and get the same thing on image 1. After a few time if i touch keyboard get the error on image 2.
    Try the shift key to security mode not working,
    I can get to the menu on image 3 were i perform allready the 3 reeinstalls with no sucess...i go there using ctrl alt P R
    PLEASE HELP ME
    Can i eject the image of OSX like seen on image 4, will that make it reverse to the preious version???
    If not what can i do, so affraid to lose my data, mac user for late 2004 and never seen this.
    I have an iMac late 2009 passed the mac test for Siera.

    Thnx
     

    Attached Files:

    • 01.JPG
      01.JPG
      File size:
      52.4 KB
      Views:
      150
    • 02.JPG
      02.JPG
      File size:
      85.6 KB
      Views:
      168
    • 03.JPG
      03.JPG
      File size:
      87.7 KB
      Views:
      155
    • 04.JPG
      04.JPG
      File size:
      102.6 KB
      Views:
      154
    • 05.JPG
      05.JPG
      File size:
      114 KB
      Views:
      149
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Do you have a Logitech USB keyboard plugged in? Can you try a different USB keyboard? I'm hoping that's what the kernel panic in the 2nd picture is relating to...

    Otherwise kernel panics normally indicate faulty HDD, GPU, or RAM.
     
  3. omegastar thread starter macrumors newbie

    omegastar

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    #3
    --- Post Merged, Oct 18, 2016 ---
    I had a Samsung USB keyboard connected on the 1st install but now i disconnect it and using the original keyboard wireless.
     
  4. nOw2, Oct 18, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2016

    nOw2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    #4
    EDIT : see my later post. It wasn't Sierra's fault at all.

    ---

    It's good to see someone else with the same problem.

    Sierra just doesn't work on my iMac 27" 2009 i7. Corrupts the display, then crashes out with a kernel panic. Can't use the machine at all.

    Two things work:
    1. Run in safe mode.
    2. Return to El Capitan.

    You can go back to El Capitan in two ways:

    1. Use Recovery Mode to restore a time machine backup.
    2. Wipe and reinstall from USB: http://www.macworld.co.uk/how-to/ma...ierra-el-capitan-remove-macos-sierra-3581872/
     
  5. OldCorpse macrumors 65816

    OldCorpse

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Location:
    compost heap
    #5
    Wow. Scary. I have a late 2009 i7 27" iMac. I was thinking of upgrading from El Cap due to a few issues, but reading this, I'm staying away from Sierra for the time being. Whew!
     
  6. omegastar thread starter macrumors newbie

    omegastar

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    #6

    Thanx for your help
    Dont have a backup
    Is there any way to acess my data on the hardrive??
    --- Post Merged, Oct 21, 2016 ---
    Also i cant get in safe mode just recover mode
     
  7. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #7
    The problems the OP is experiencing should be a prime lesson to all reading this post:

    Always, ALWAYS, ALWAYS have a bootable cloned backup of your internal drive close by!
     
  8. omegastar thread starter macrumors newbie

    omegastar

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    #8
    Unfortunately in this new Apple days all users must be ready to get in troubles sooner or later. Passing through Apple oficial website and we can see what Sierra is doing to the name of the once brand known for their perfectionist launches of hardware and software. Since 2004 never I had a trouble with an upgrade of OSX, although I have been noticing downgrade in the experience of upgrading our once great machines.
     
  9. macklos macrumors member

    macklos

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    #9
    Currently finding no issues with Sierra on my iMac i5 (27-inch, Late 2009). The GPU failed on me a few months back. I picked up a AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB (2011) to replace it. That may be why.
     
  10. CHarrisMedia macrumors newbie

    CHarrisMedia

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    #10
    Currently experiencing the exact same problem with a Macbook pro 2011, thing is, it's using a Samsung 840 Evo SSD inside and everything was working fine until the upgrade.

    Does anybody actually know some more things to try to potentially fix this?
     
  11. mastermind6192 macrumors member

    mastermind6192

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    The fact you both have the same Mac is just a coincidence. There is no concrete evidence to support its a known issue on this model. Every upgrade has the risk of causing an issue overall regardless of model.
     
  12. nOw2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    #12
    I'm taking back my post - it was a co-incidence. The graphics card had failed on my 2009 27" i7. The failures became reproducible in El Capitan.

    I removed the card, reflow soldered the GPU, and the thing is now working fine - so it was the known issue of lead-less solder joints failing after ~5 years.
     
  13. Asliceofpie macrumors newbie

    Asliceofpie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    #13
    I don't know who gave you the advice to upgrade your 2009 MAC from Snow Leopard all the way up to Sierra Vista which is designed for the most latest MACs. The system dynamics hardware and ram requirements to run Sierra must be more demanding. I had a 2007 and got up to Lion OK but no go after that because of system requirements and changes made no longer compatible with the latest technology but still works just internet issues. So I own two now.
     
  14. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #14
    In actuality, Sierra is not much more demanding compared to El Capitan, just as Mountain Lion is not a worse performer compared to Lion. In both cases Apple upped the requirements simply to obsolete/not have to support the older hardware, unfortunately for those who continue to use it.
     
  15. Asliceofpie, Mar 22, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2017

    Asliceofpie macrumors newbie

    Asliceofpie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    #15
    There are a lot of variables when upgrading on an much older computer. The oldest manufactured computer shown to be upgradable to Sierra Vista 10.12 is a "Late" 2009" which came with Snow Leopard 10.6 and that is border line obsolete depending on your particular computers condition. I found this information that you might find helpful in your pursuit to upgrade your older MAC to Sierra Vista.

    http://www.apple.com/lae/macos/how-to-upgrade/
    --- Post Merged, Mar 22, 2017 ---
    Sorry you feel that way, I had a 2007 machine and upgraded it without problems a few times and then it became obsolete to upgrade in 2014 so I bought a new 2015 model (8 years later which still is operable BTW) and have upgraded it twice now and had no issues at any time except with Quicken which is another subject. The only thing I encountered is my printer not working after upgrading to Sierra, but I found MAC Toolbox online and discovered I needed to turn it off and back on (re-boot) to re-establish connection with the new OS. I really don't understand why you would want to upgrade to an OS that your computer cannot facilitate the new features anyway. You could look at buying a newer machine if you want the latest geeky features in Sierra that integrate iPhone functions that sync with the MAC, such as; calls on iPhone can be picked up on your MAC with video/speaker phone capability, also making calls from MAC on any number you click on virtually anywhere, continuing text messaging on your MAC, Siri and even copy pictures etc from iPhone and paste into doc or email on MAC . Good Luck!
     

Share This Page