Help! Upgrade my Mac Pro 4.1 to a 5.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by GameFreak348, Oct 31, 2014.

  1. GameFreak348 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #1
    Ok i tried to upgrade my Mac Pro 4.1 to a 5.1 by using the firmware hack and CPU upgrade.

    Dual Xeon E5520 2.26 Ghz to Dual Xeon X5650 2.66 Ghz
    6GB DDR3 1066Mhz
    NVIDIA GT 120

    i did everything this guy did:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YAdgT-hJuXU

    Now. Everything is installed. I power the device on then I can see 1 red LED blinking for a extremely short time as soon as I power it on. The machine works but I dont hear a startup chime and im stuck with a blackscreen. This happens If I dont really turn the "screws" hard. If i turn it hard I can see a constant Red LED from the same spot its not blinking, it stays on and doesnt do anything and also the Fan gets on max speed

    I searched so much and was so careful, please help me!
     
  2. GameFreak348 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #2
    btw that blinking LED is on the right side of the board, on top of the 4th Ram Sloth under the CPU cooler
     
  3. mrxak macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    Drifting through space in a broken escape pod
    #3
    You've probably killed your Mac, but just for the sake of determining cause of death (and maybe it's not completely dead), which red LED specifically is it? I believe there are several on the motherboard and they all indicate different things.
     
  4. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #4
    It could be the heat sensor under the heatsink is not properly seated and you will get a red LED warning light and your machine will not boot. To verify that your CPU tray still works fine, try to reinstall your old 2.26 cpus. Make sure to apply new thermal paste. If your Mac Pro boots fine using your old 2.26 cpus then your tray is good. You may try reading this article HERE

    You may also try to read thru this thread for other information http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=19120575&highlight=bxs#post19120575

    Good Luck and hope you get to upgrade your cpus.
     
  5. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #5
    i cringed so hard when i read tighten screws hard...if you weren't using washers you almost certainly killed your mac pro
     
  6. GameFreak348 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #6
  7. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #7
    You most likely bent some pins in CPU A socket (or in both). If they didn't short-out, there's a chance to rescue the board.
     
  8. Brian Y macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #8
    Things to do.

    1. Check the diagnostic LEDs. There will be a cluster of 9 LEDs on the logic board. Check which of these are illuminated with the machine powered on. Once you've checked them, press the diag_LED button on the logic board and see which of them are on now (1,2,7,8,9 require you to press the button). Details of what the LEDs mean are below, if you post which lights are on we can help diagnose further.

    2. Check everything is seated correctly. Reseat everything - all cables, connectors and daughterboards.

    3. Remove the CPUs and check all CPUs and the sockets on the logic board for damage.

    4. Try running the machine with the RAM removed. Does it beep? If not, then it's likely you've corrupted the firmware on the machine.

    LED meanings:

    1: Should be off, indicates that the machine is sleeping.
    2: Will be yellow if the machine is getting trickle power.
    3: Will be red if there is a fault with CPU B
    4: Will be red if there is a fault with CPU A
    5: Will be red if CPU B is overheating
    6: Will be red if CPU A is overheating
    7: Will be green if a GPU has been detected
    8: Will be green if all power rails are supplying the correct voltage
    9: Will be green once the firmware has finished loading
     
  9. GameFreak348 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #9
    Ok i swapped all the ram out and tried to boot, no beep, just the right led flashing for 1 sec.

    I tried to find the diag_Led and I found it, but if i press on it nothing happens even with power on and everything.

    I just found out where the red light directly comes from :
    The top one, its directly behind the 4th ram slot

    http://img5.fotos-hochladen.net/uploads/img48130vgnpkxa85.jpg
     
  10. Brian Y macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #10
    If you have no diagnostics LEDs at all then I'm afraid to say you've pretty much killed the logic board.

    I don't know if there are any companies who can reflash them, other than that the only real option is to replace the board.
     
  11. GameFreak348 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
  12. GameFreak348 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #12
    i cant believe i broke the board, nothing is bent i checked everything. Im kinda starting to give up, but does no one know what the blinking LED means?
     
  13. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    Most likely it means nothing. The Apple technician guide said:

    Note: The status LED lights up when the power button is depressed at startup. Do not count this light as one of the diagnostic flashes. The memory processor board diagnostic LEDs will also flash briefly when the computer is started up or shut down and when it goes in and out of sleep mode. This is normal behavior.

    Note: When connecting the Mac Pro to AC power, verify that the LEDs for OVTMP CPUA and OVTMP CPUB briefly flash red (less than 0.5 sec). The LEDs are located under hard drive bay 1 on the backplane board. If they do not illuminate briefly, there is an issue with either the power supply or the backplane board. Generally speaking, power supplies, because of their nature, can be affected by issues more than other modules. If you suspect a power supply has failed,verify it in another Mac Pro (Early 2009), if available, before replacing any modules.

    Note: The OVTMP CPUA and OVTMP CPUB LEDs on a properly functioning Mac Pro will also momentarily flash red immediately after the Mac Pro is disconnected from AC power.

    All these explain the flash LED, and it just means the machine is normal.
     
  14. GameFreak348 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #14
    well thats strange, now i have this blinking power light thing. And as I read it has to do something about RAM.
     
  15. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #15
    Pretty much how I felt reading that also. Washers help but hard turns and 4,1 do not make a cheap fix. I learnt that the first time years ago and it cost me a single processor board, a dual costs much more.

    I do the first few turns relatively quickly then it's almost down to gentle 'hours in the day' turns until spectrum is green!
     
  16. GameFreak348 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #16
    Ok my Power light isnt blinking anymore after taking out all the amd and putting 1x 1GB 1066Mhz Stick in ram slot 8, but still blackscreen and no startup chime.

    The Processors arent too tight, there are also no bends. I just leave it when it starts to becoming hard
     
  17. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #17
    That's what she said:eek:

    Lou
     
  18. GameFreak348 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #18
    lol. I swapped the GT 120 to a GTX 650 and a 770, nothing. I really dont get it, all the fans are running at normal speed and it sounds like it works normally but im stuck with a blackscreen and no startup chime. Also some guy said something about diag_LED, I think mine is where the gpu is but when i press it nothing happens
     
  19. h9826790, Nov 1, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2014

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #19
    With no LED, fans on (normal speed), but no start up chime.

    The 1st thing to try now may be SMC reset. Even though I don't think it can fix the problem if that's related to the CPU swap. However, it cost nothing and worth to try.
     
  20. GameFreak348 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #20
    Hello,



    Im the guy btw who made the "Help! Upgrade my Mac Pro 4.1 to a 5.1" Thread on Macrumors.



    I replacd everything and i tighted up the screws till the limit.



    2 New LED Lights:



    Behind the CPU A but I cant see it:



    http://img5.fotos-hochladen.net/uploads/img4816sb79xht83i.jpg



    When I turn the machine down I get another Red light which is on even tho i turn the mac off, the light is only gone when i plug out the power cable



    http://img5.fotos-hochladen.net/uploads/img4817wiz1j8dfps.jpg





    Coming from here:



    http://img5.fotos-hochladen.net/uploads/img4818ntp92h4c3z.jpg



    Close look:



    http://img5.fotos-hochladen.net/uploads/img4820t03cv9mxfy.png



    The light is from "R1531"
     
  21. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #21
    That LED's meaning is next to it (OVTMP CPUB: CPU B over temperature).

    So, it may means the heatsink is not properly installed for the CPU B.
     
  22. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #22
  23. GameFreak348 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #23
    Im not gonna sell it, I will buy a new Board if needed.

    Ok i replaced CPU B once again and something new happened, the light blinking for 1 sec at the startup of the mac behind the 4th ram slot( look at my posts above to know which one i mean) is not blinking anymore. The light on it is on and fans go full speeed

    ----------

    omg this machine is so funny, I made the screws a bit loose on the CPU B.
    Now there is a red light on the whole time behind CPU A, Behind the Rams.
     
  24. snorkelman macrumors 6502a

    snorkelman

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #24
    you sure it'll boot with a single DIMM? Have never tried it personally as I always thought you needed minimum of two in slots 1 and 2?
     
  25. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #25
    This LED means CPU B is missing or processor hot. In your case, most likely means CPU missing, since you just start the computer.

    There is a LED at that location indicate CPU A is missing or processor hot.

    So, if this one is always one. That means the CPU A may be never properly seated.
     

Share This Page