Help using iMac 27" as PS3 monitor

Discussion in 'iMac' started by felixen, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. felixen macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    #1
    I have the iMac 27" model that came out just before they implemented Thunderbold. I also have a Thunderbold-HDMI cable that fits perfectly fine into the display port on the back of the iMac, so I have connected the PS3 this way.

    Right now I am having no luck, but I hope I just need to switch display or something on the Mac settings.. Or do I HAVE TO buy Apple's own cable for this to work (which does not sound unlikely at all..!).

    Hope you can help.


    Thanks
     
  2. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #2
    The port on the iMac is not MiniDisplay-In, it is MiniDisplay-Out. (Thunderbolt and MiniDisplay use identical cables/connectors).

    To use your iMac as a PS3 display you will need to find a Tuner and capture card. They can be cheap but if you want HD be prepared to pay top dollar.

    I'd recommend the Blackmagic Design Intensity Shuttle. It costs 200$ but it very well worth it. It has both HDMI, Component, S-Video, and Analog A/V In and Out so you can use your iMac as a TV for almost anything, as well as record your videos.
     
  3. Swift Sketcher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #3
    Does this work for 2011 thunderbolt iMacs?
     
  4. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #4
    Also make sure that whatever you get is HDCP compliment, or you'll be wasting your money if you want to hook up the PS3.
     
  5. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #6
    Yes, it is compatible with the new 2011 Thunderbolt iMacs.

    If your computer has a Thunderbolt port, i'd reccomend getting the Intensity Extreme, simply because it connects via Thunderbolt so it transfers a lot faster. Otherwise get the Shuttle
     
  6. jamesvdm macrumors regular

    jamesvdm

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    #7
    It's both.
     
  7. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #8
    Since when?
     
  8. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    Apple site seems to suggest the Mini DisplayPort is output only.
     
  9. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #10

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3924
     
  10. GyroFX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles and NorCal
    #11
  11. felixen thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    #12
    This is horrible. So in order to play in HD I need to buy a $200 thing?
     
  12. Piggie macrumors 604

    Piggie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #13
    Honestly, you'd be better off just spending the money on a cheap 1920x1080 24" or 27" monitor and enjoying it, without being tethered to the iMac.
     
  13. Danando1993 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #14
    I use the kanex xd to connect my ps3 with my 2010 27inch imac, it only allows 720p but that doesn't bother me much.
     
  14. MatthewAMEL macrumors 6502

    MatthewAMEL

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #15
    If you have a Late 2009 27" iMac, you can use ANY DisplayPort compliant device (Blu-ray, GPU, etc) to drive the monitor.

    I have a Digital Storm Enix with a GTX 590 connected to my iMac. Works perfectly. The iMac functions normally when the PC is powered off and works as my PC Monitor when I turn the Enix on.

    The only card I have heard having issues with this is the AMD 5XXX series.

    EVERY device that uses DisplayPort is HDCP compliant. It's part of the spec.
     
  15. Isotom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    #16
    The Intensity Extreme is still not on the market (preordered one online at BHphotovideo for a job and it is still backorder and can't find any other place that sells it yet). As for the Intensity Shuttle, it will mostly not work on an iMac because there's no usb3 port. It might work with a Mac Pro with a usb3 card but I'm not sure, and in that case it is out of what we want to use it for.
     
  16. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #17
    You don't need a USB 3.0 port. It downgrades to USB 2.0 when in a USB 2.0 port.
     
  17. The Samurai, Dec 26, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 26, 2011

    The Samurai macrumors 68000

    The Samurai

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #18
    You need a Kanex XD - I used to have my Xbox 360 hooked up to my 27"er.


    Here's a video demo of how it worked.
     
  18. Isotom, Dec 26, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011

    Isotom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    #19
    http://www.blackmagic-design.com/ca/products/intensity/techspecs/

    It doesn't even state that it is compatible with mac...

    and here some more links about the subject... read more before saying that things works when they are not supposed to.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1204552

    http://www.kenstone.net/discussions/read.php?3,37075,37130

    http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/327725-Blackmagic-Intensity-Shuttle-use-with-Laptop

    Basically, usb2 does not have enough bandwidth for it to work. Even usb3 adapters does not all works.

    And about the Kanex XD it should work for the iMac 27" the OP have since it pre-thunderbolt, but what about the thunderbolt > HDMI cable the OP is talking about? Does it even exist? It is probably just a MDP > HDMI adapter?

    Kanex company has nothing yet on the market that is Thunderbolt compatible for video input.

    http://www.kanexlive.com/forums/sho...-late-2011-27-quot-imac?highlight=thunderbolt

    http://www.kanexlive.com/forums/sho...nd-new-imac-thunderbolt?highlight=thunderbolt

    you can search for thunderbolt on Kanex forum if you want to have a day of rant reading ;P
     
  19. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #20
    Uncle has it running on a USB 2.0 machine, so I don't know why it didn't work?

    EDIT: Contacted him just now. He was on USB 3.0. Nevermind.
     
  20. Isotom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    #21
    I was about to ask if he was using it for SD or HD... SD capture options are available in usb2, so it could have worked only for standard resolution input.

    By any chance do you have your uncle's computer specs? Is it a mac?
     
  21. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #22
    Some Dell or HP? It's a Windows 7 machine, but since you can run Windows 7 on Mac via boot camp or even run Windows apps via VMware, I didn't see the issue if it worked with 2.0 in HD, but I forgot not everyone has Windows 7 access.
     
  22. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #23
    The Kanex XD compatibility chart does not show 2011 imac as compatible.
     
  23. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #24
    Except I wasn't talking about the Kanex HD, I was talking about the BlackMagic Design Intensity Extreme.
     
  24. revolt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #25
    Hey Matthew,
    Thanks for this insight! Planning on ordering the iMac on Jan 1. Were you using the Moshi Mini DP to HDMI to connect it? Love to know which adapter you were using.
     

Share This Page