Hi guys, Im new to this forum and this is my 1st question for the Pro geeks.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dreamersofeden, May 26, 2011.

  1. dreamersofeden, May 26, 2011
    Last edited: May 26, 2011

    dreamersofeden macrumors member

    dreamersofeden

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Location:
    Spain
    #1
    Hi guys,

    My name is Daniel, and im new to this awesome forum.

    Im seriously thinking of buying a Mac Pro Quad Xeon (1.1, 2006 model) that I saw in another forum for only 800€, so here is my first question:

    If I buy it, I'll make some upgrades:

    1- Replace the 250GB HDD with my 120GB SSD
    2- Replace the ATi Radeon X1900XT with a Radeon 6870 (probably: http://es.msi.com/index.php?func=proddesc&maincat_no=130&cat2_no=137&prod_no=2144 or http://es.msi.com/index.php?func=proddesc&maincat_no=130&cat2_no=137&prod_no=2106)
    3- Replace the 2 CPU's with 2 Quad Xeon L5420 (in the same forum I saw one for 50€, so I'll have to buy another one from eBay), making 8 core in total.

    The question is if that Quad Xeons will work well, because the upgraded 1.1 Mac Pros that I saw on many forums have been replaced only with X5355 models (http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=28035), not the L5420 (http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=33929), and they use the SAME socket (LGA771)... So well, what do u think, will they work or not?, as the Intel page says, the X5355 has "65nm litography", but the L5420 has 45nm... I don't know if that makes sense, but well... if they are the same socket what's the problem?

    Thanks in advance,
    Daniel.
     
  2. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #2
    You can only use 5100 and 5300 series Xeons. Been tested and confirmed.
     
  3. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #3
    Mac pro 2006 and 2007 models use woodcrest (5100) for dual core processors and clovertown (5300) for quad cores. If your going to make it a octo (8 core) system, you need the xeon clovertowns. Both are 65nm. The 2008 Mac pro's switched to the harpertown 5400 series xeons, which are 45nm. Unless your getting real good deals are parts to upgrade, might be better to save for at least a 2008 model. I wouldn't pay more than 600 bucks for a 2006 Mac pro. Have seen 2008 models go for around 1000 bucks, depending on set up. Another issue with the 2006 and 2007 models, is it's only 32 bit EFI. Not sure if the next upgrade OS will work. The 2008 is 64 bit EFI and should work with Lion.
     
  4. dreamersofeden thread starter macrumors member

    dreamersofeden

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Location:
    Spain
    #4
    The Lion betas support 32bit EFI Macs and work flawlessly on 1.1 Mac Pros, in addition, there are a lot of rumors confirming that the retail release of Lion will continue supporting the 32bit EFI, so I think that the only problem will be Mac OS X 10.8, because probably Apple is planning to use 64bit "purely" after Lion.

    Where did u see that 2008 Pros for 1000 bucks?, in eBay they are for 1200€ or more, so there is no reason to pay the double than a 2006 Pro for a 2008 one if I can get the same power (and a better GPU) with a little upgrade.
     
  5. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #5
    If lion supports 32bit then the 2006 mac pro is okay at the right price. Since you are in europe my thoughts on price won't help you.

    USA prices are a lot better.
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    6870 is problematic, but if as long as you are aware of the problems and don't mind, I guess that's okay. Who knows what will happen when Lion releases.
     
  7. dreamersofeden thread starter macrumors member

    dreamersofeden

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Location:
    Spain
    #7
    I know that... thats the reason why I hate living in Europe, LOL.
     
  8. dreamersofeden thread starter macrumors member

    dreamersofeden

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Location:
    Spain
    #8
    If there are problems with Lion I'll continue using Snow Leopard or I'll sell the card to buy a "non-problematic" one, for example the 4890.
     
  9. fairbanx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #9
    I guess the price is ok for EU. The cheapest MP1,1 I saw was 700EUR.
     
  10. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
    Wrong example of "non-problematic" graphics card ;) :p
     
  11. dreamersofeden thread starter macrumors member

    dreamersofeden

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Location:
    Spain
    #11
    A lot of people has that card on their 1.1 Mac Pros :rolleyes:
     
  12. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #12
    Yeah, ask them which graphic drivers they use and how comfortable OS updates are... :rolleyes:
     
  13. dreamersofeden thread starter macrumors member

    dreamersofeden

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Location:
    Spain
    #13
    BTW, which card u recommend?, I need a powerful one. I like the 5870 but I saw on reviews that they're noisy... is that true on depends on model (XFX, Sapphire, HIS, MSI...)?
     
  14. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #14
    IMHO noise level is user sensitivity relative. Some people would say that reference 5870 cooler is noisy, and others would say it's quiet. 5870 (flashed) it's good choice if you're aware of its limitation, i.e. VGA only boot screen.

    If it would too noisy for you, you can always put this big boy on it: http://www.arctic.ac/en/p/cooling/vga/20/accelero-xtreme-5870.html
     

Share This Page