High CPU Load

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Bioshox, Jan 15, 2012.

  1. Bioshox macrumors newbie

    Bioshox

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Location:
    Manchester, UK.
    #1
    Hey all

    Just wondering, when using Handbrake my CPU load goes up to around 80-90% I have a 2011 iMac...

    Is it bad for a Mac to have a high CPU load? Will it damage it or reduce it's lifespan?

    I have some heavy CPU load-activities I want to carry out, but don't want to run the risk of damaging the hardware.

    Thanks.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    No, it won't harm it, as that's what they're designed to do. It's unlikely you'll be running with that level of demand most of the time, anyway.
     
  3. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #3
    Periods of heavy use are more likely to help diagnose a problem than create one, so if you start experiencing crashes or anything like that, take it in while it's still under warranty.
     
  4. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #4
    It's a dual core processor (or possibly a quad core processor). It is designed to run both cores (or all four cores) at full tilt for unlimited amount of time.
     

Share This Page