Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sweenyjosh

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 17, 2010
I am looking for advice/opinions. I am going to be purchasing a computer for my new business in the late part of 2011(sep,oct?) I like the high end iMac but am also considering the high end mac pro. Either way I will spring for the best processor and install the extra ram myself. I will be using this computer for the early stages of my film company. I am currently a pro photographer and use Aperture for all my needs. I am going to grad school for film and intend to work in mostly documentary arenas. I do not presently do a lot of special effects, just a lot of hd footage. I like the idea of having the fastest machine possible and am aware of the big price difference(4k vs 8+k) in the machines. My biggest concern is the rate at which computers update. I dont know that I will be making a good purchase with the mac pro if in two or three years it will be outdated?
For film editing specifically, can people give me real life examples why they believe one or the other is the best purchase. I will be making indie films, not Avatar. I need professional capabilities but dont know what will suit me best?

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
The question is, do you need the extra cores and the ability to expand internal storage?

sweenyjosh

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 17, 2010
... that is a good question. I use the Adobe cs5 suite and final cut studio. I am not up to date on the whole area of 64bit and multi core threading. I just tend to do my editing. I am more of a creative end kinda person and dont pay attention to tech stuff like that. Which is not to say I couldnt put together my own PC from scratch, I just dont spend a lot of time keeping myself up to date with what programs utilize such abilities.... so I am not sure.