High Sierra Causing Blank Screen MacPro

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by lucasajackson, Sep 27, 2017.

  1. lucasajackson macrumors newbie

    lucasajackson

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    #1
    Hello,
    I have the latest MacPro (I use that term loosely). My monitors (there are 2) go black after being idle for a while and won't display anything until I hard power cycle the machine. This started right after I upgraded to High Sierra. Has anyone else ran into this issue, and does anyone have any recommendations to fix it?
     
  2. digitaltrader macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #2

    I am having this exact same problem with 3 monitors and MacPro 2013 after upgrading last night.
     
  3. LS417 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #3
    Also having this issue with high Sierra on 2013 Mac Pro with 2x apple TB displays. I've tried clean install, reset pram / nvram to no avail.

    My latest attempt was to uncheck "put hard drives to sleep" in energy settings. It's been 5 hours and the machine is waking fine so far.

    Will keep monitoring.
     
  4. lucasajackson thread starter macrumors newbie

    lucasajackson

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    #4
    Thank you for the suggestion. I'm going to try that, and I'm turning off sleep and powernap. I will keep you posted.
     
  5. LS417 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
  6. LS417 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #6
    I've since updated to 10.13.1 beta to no avail.
     
  7. digitaltrader macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #7

    I have tried everything including now powernap, no shutdown of HDD etc and still have the issue. Why Apple cannot properly beta test its software fr lesser used products like the MacPro amazes me.
     
  8. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #8
  9. iamcheron macrumors newbie

    iamcheron

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore / Manila
    #9
    I am having the same problems ):
     
  10. Mormith macrumors newbie

    Mormith

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    #10

    Thank goodness I'm not alone. I've been pulling my hair out after installing High Sierra on my MacPro(2013) and it freezing up after the screensaver is on for a little while. I've reset the SMC and PRAM, unplugged item after item and nothing has worked.

    I've set some of the error reports from the "This Mac didn't shutdown/restart properly" error window that I've had to deal with several times a day-- hopefully you all are too. The faster Apple fixes this the better.
     
  11. ManuCH macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #11
  12. digitaltrader macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #12
    I will update this thread if I find a resolution, please do the same if you find one as well.
     
  13. Mormith macrumors newbie

    Mormith

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    #13
    I've recently had some success with this problem by doing two things: #1, turning off my screen saver (Start After=Never) and #2, having some background apps running that I think will prevent the Mac from going into a sleep/standby mode.
     
  14. ceparker27 macrumors member

    ceparker27

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #14
    I think this is common enough at this point that it's a new bug in High Sierra that Apple needs to fix. My R9 M370X is not very happy with this update, and I'm worried it's going to put more wear and tear on the GPU than it should have.
     
  15. Montagekid macrumors newbie

    Montagekid

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
  16. keithpgdrb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    #16
    Same problem here. hope someone figures out a workaround for this. I use my computer for teaching. I cant deal with the screen randomly going black and locking me out for no reason
     
  17. dpavid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Location:
    Mililani, Hawaii
  18. dpavid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Location:
    Mililani, Hawaii
    #19
  19. Montagekid macrumors newbie

    Montagekid

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
  20. dpavid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Location:
    Mililani, Hawaii
    #21
    OK! Restarted in safe mode, restart back to normal, we'll see when I leave my desktop and come back. Thanks.
     
  21. dpavid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Location:
    Mililani, Hawaii
    #22
    Gave it a try, didn't work for me.
     
  22. bob.vicktor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    #23
    I have High Sierra on my 2009 Mac Pro with both a GTX 680 (stock Mac version) and a Radeon 560 (not Mac version, but works fine, just doesn't show anything on boot) and it wouldn't wake from sleep either, so I worked through the suggestions I found in this order:

    1. Reset NVRAM - no go
    2. Reset SMC - no go
    3. Safe boot - no go
    4. Remove 560 - Wakey wakey!

    I guess I'm lucky since I wasn't really using the 560 anyway, so taking it out doesn't really affect me. I got it for another computer that I don't need anymore so I just stuck it in the Mac Pro to see how well it would work and left it there.
    I'm sorry for the rest of you that aren't so lucky. At least I can say that from my experience I can confirm that the problem is with the graphics card.

    Also, in case anyone was wondering, I got High Sierra on my 2009 Mac Pro by installing firmware from a 2010 Mac Pro to fake out the installer. The only issue I have is with missing wifi drivers, but that can be fixed by upgrading the wifi module, or just using ethernet (what I do).
     
  23. SoCalReviews, Dec 12, 2017 at 11:27 PM
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2017 at 11:42 PM

    SoCalReviews macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    #24
    I saw what sounds like a similar problem installing High Sierra on all of my 2012 Mac Minis. This was not something I had seen with previous MacOS updates. The monitor screen went blank during the installation and I couldn't seem to get the screen back. Moving the mouse or tapping on the keyboard didn't seem to wake the monitor. I suspected what the issue was because I had seen a similar problem on Windows machines many times in the past. The monitor goes into standby/sleep mode during the HS installation. It loses communication with the Mac and gets stuck in sleep mode. I'm not sure if the type of connection matters (HDMI, VGA, DVI, etc.) but all my connections were via Mini display port with VGA to the monitor.

    The solution was more simple for me than you'd think. I was patient and gave more than enough time for the High Sierra installation to finish (up to two hours) despite not seeing the progress. I didn't have to reboot the Mac Minis. After I suspected the HS installation was finished I just tapped again on the keyboard to wake the Mac Mini... then I power cycled the monitors and then I could see the login screen was there and the HS install had finished.
     
  24. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #25
    It's a known issue. The work around at this moment is to flash the card (edit the ROM), or edit the relevant kext.

    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/high-sierra-10-13-2-broke-sleep.2093595/page-2#post-25572837
     

Share This Page