High Sierra Causing Blank Screen MacPro

lucasajackson

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 22, 2017
7
8
Hello,
I have the latest MacPro (I use that term loosely). My monitors (there are 2) go black after being idle for a while and won't display anything until I hard power cycle the machine. This started right after I upgraded to High Sierra. Has anyone else ran into this issue, and does anyone have any recommendations to fix it?
 

digitaltrader

macrumors newbie
Aug 22, 2006
23
0
Hello,
I have the latest MacPro (I use that term loosely). My monitors (there are 2) go black after being idle for a while and won't display anything until I hard power cycle the machine. This started right after I upgraded to High Sierra. Has anyone else ran into this issue, and does anyone have any recommendations to fix it?

I am having this exact same problem with 3 monitors and MacPro 2013 after upgrading last night.
 

LS417

macrumors regular
Oct 30, 2009
133
18
Also having this issue with high Sierra on 2013 Mac Pro with 2x apple TB displays. I've tried clean install, reset pram / nvram to no avail.

My latest attempt was to uncheck "put hard drives to sleep" in energy settings. It's been 5 hours and the machine is waking fine so far.

Will keep monitoring.
 

lucasajackson

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 22, 2017
7
8
Thank you for the suggestion. I'm going to try that, and I'm turning off sleep and powernap. I will keep you posted.
 

digitaltrader

macrumors newbie
Aug 22, 2006
23
0
I've since updated to 10.13.1 beta to no avail.

I have tried everything including now powernap, no shutdown of HDD etc and still have the issue. Why Apple cannot properly beta test its software fr lesser used products like the MacPro amazes me.
 

iamcheron

macrumors newbie
Sep 30, 2017
1
0
Singapore / Manila
Hello,
I have the latest MacPro (I use that term loosely). My monitors (there are 2) go black after being idle for a while and won't display anything until I hard power cycle the machine. This started right after I upgraded to High Sierra. Has anyone else ran into this issue, and does anyone have any recommendations to fix it?
I am having the same problems ):
 

Mormith

macrumors newbie
Mar 25, 2012
14
0
Hello,
I have the latest MacPro (I use that term loosely). My monitors (there are 2) go black after being idle for a while and won't display anything until I hard power cycle the machine. This started right after I upgraded to High Sierra. Has anyone else ran into this issue, and does anyone have any recommendations to fix it?

Thank goodness I'm not alone. I've been pulling my hair out after installing High Sierra on my MacPro(2013) and it freezing up after the screensaver is on for a little while. I've reset the SMC and PRAM, unplugged item after item and nothing has worked.

I've set some of the error reports from the "This Mac didn't shutdown/restart properly" error window that I've had to deal with several times a day-- hopefully you all are too. The faster Apple fixes this the better.
 

Mormith

macrumors newbie
Mar 25, 2012
14
0
I've recently had some success with this problem by doing two things: #1, turning off my screen saver (Start After=Never) and #2, having some background apps running that I think will prevent the Mac from going into a sleep/standby mode.
 

ceparker27

macrumors member
Sep 21, 2015
80
45
I think this is common enough at this point that it's a new bug in High Sierra that Apple needs to fix. My R9 M370X is not very happy with this update, and I'm worried it's going to put more wear and tear on the GPU than it should have.
 

keithpgdrb

macrumors newbie
Nov 23, 2013
2
0
Same problem here. hope someone figures out a workaround for this. I use my computer for teaching. I cant deal with the screen randomly going black and locking me out for no reason
 

bob.vicktor

macrumors newbie
Feb 25, 2015
4
0
I have High Sierra on my 2009 Mac Pro with both a GTX 680 (stock Mac version) and a Radeon 560 (not Mac version, but works fine, just doesn't show anything on boot) and it wouldn't wake from sleep either, so I worked through the suggestions I found in this order:

1. Reset NVRAM - no go
2. Reset SMC - no go
3. Safe boot - no go
4. Remove 560 - Wakey wakey!

I guess I'm lucky since I wasn't really using the 560 anyway, so taking it out doesn't really affect me. I got it for another computer that I don't need anymore so I just stuck it in the Mac Pro to see how well it would work and left it there.
I'm sorry for the rest of you that aren't so lucky. At least I can say that from my experience I can confirm that the problem is with the graphics card.

Also, in case anyone was wondering, I got High Sierra on my 2009 Mac Pro by installing firmware from a 2010 Mac Pro to fake out the installer. The only issue I have is with missing wifi drivers, but that can be fixed by upgrading the wifi module, or just using ethernet (what I do).
 

SoCalReviews

macrumors 6502a
Dec 31, 2012
582
202
Hello,
I have the latest MacPro (I use that term loosely). My monitors (there are 2) go black after being idle for a while and won't display anything until I hard power cycle the machine. This started right after I upgraded to High Sierra. Has anyone else ran into this issue, and does anyone have any recommendations to fix it?
I saw what sounds like a similar problem installing High Sierra on all of my 2012 Mac Minis. This was not something I had seen with previous MacOS updates. The monitor screen went blank during the installation and I couldn't seem to get the screen back. Moving the mouse or tapping on the keyboard didn't seem to wake the monitor. I suspected what the issue was because I had seen a similar problem on Windows machines many times in the past. The monitor goes into standby/sleep mode during the HS installation. It loses communication with the Mac and gets stuck in sleep mode. I'm not sure if the type of connection matters (HDMI, VGA, DVI, etc.) but all my connections were via Mini display port with VGA to the monitor.

The solution was more simple for me than you'd think. I was patient and gave more than enough time for the High Sierra installation to finish (up to two hours) despite not seeing the progress. I didn't have to reboot the Mac Minis. After I suspected the HS installation was finished I just tapped again on the keyboard to wake the Mac Mini... then I power cycled the monitors and then I could see the login screen was there and the HS install had finished.
 
Last edited:

h9826790

macrumors G5
Apr 3, 2014
14,239
6,840
Hong Kong
I have High Sierra on my 2009 Mac Pro with both a GTX 680 (stock Mac version) and a Radeon 560 (not Mac version, but works fine, just doesn't show anything on boot) and it wouldn't wake from sleep either, so I worked through the suggestions I found in this order:

1. Reset NVRAM - no go
2. Reset SMC - no go
3. Safe boot - no go
4. Remove 560 - Wakey wakey!

I guess I'm lucky since I wasn't really using the 560 anyway, so taking it out doesn't really affect me. I got it for another computer that I don't need anymore so I just stuck it in the Mac Pro to see how well it would work and left it there.
I'm sorry for the rest of you that aren't so lucky. At least I can say that from my experience I can confirm that the problem is with the graphics card.

Also, in case anyone was wondering, I got High Sierra on my 2009 Mac Pro by installing firmware from a 2010 Mac Pro to fake out the installer. The only issue I have is with missing wifi drivers, but that can be fixed by upgrading the wifi module, or just using ethernet (what I do).
It's a known issue. The work around at this moment is to flash the card (edit the ROM), or edit the relevant kext.

https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/high-sierra-10-13-2-broke-sleep.2093595/page-2#post-25572837
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.