High Sierra (or Mojave) on MBP Early 2011?

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by darkarn, Oct 18, 2018.

  1. darkarn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #1
    Hi, how's High Sierra (or Mojave if it was somehow possible) like on a Macbook Pro Early 2011?

    I am thinking if I should go ahead with upgrading it from Sierra but I thought I should ask around first lest I encounter bugs

    Note that I am using it with Bootcamp for Windows 7 Ultimate

    Thanks!
     
  2. LiveM macrumors 65816

    LiveM

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #2
    Definitely not Mojave for a non-retina screen. It makes it blurry, don’t you know. It also makes it hard to downgrade the OS.
     
  3. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    Thanks, this didnt occur to me. How about just High Sierra?
     
  4. fokmik macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Yes Mojave it should be listed just for retina macs...but if you want you can but it will not be the best exp
     
  5. tcador macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    I’ve had High Sierra on my early 2011 since it came out without any issues.
     
  6. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    Thanks! Indeed that should be the case but I got the Download button for Mojave so I thought I would ask as a form of sanity check. At this point, I am expecting the file to be downloaded but then get a rejection prompt afterwards

    Thanks for the confirm!
     
  7. StellarVixen macrumors 68000

    StellarVixen

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    Font issue is not the problem, it can be fixed. The old font rendering engine is still there in the Mojave, it is just disabled, and can be enabled.

    But, still, if I had the 2011, I would keep using the High Sierra. Mojave needs the patch to run properly on that Mac, and there is always a possibility of the future update breaking something, because that Mac is not supported by Apple.

    High Sierra will still be OK for few years, it's gonna receive the regular updates.
     
  8. seabreeze56 macrumors member

    seabreeze56

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    #8
    I have a macbook pro mid 2012 running on high sierra. Also debating whether or not to upgrade to Mojave. I'm not sure if mine is retina or not?? I"m assuming it does not have it because I don't see it listed anywhere on "about this mac." But like someone said that High sierra should be good for a few more years, maybe there's no rush? I had issues several years ago when nothing was supported anymore when I was on an old version and had issues trying to upgrade way later on. So I don't want that to happen now on down the road.
     
  9. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    Interesting, I didn't know there are patches for such ways to get Mojave but you got a point there. Who knows how long the patch would be supported, Apple or not.

    I was more afraid of High Sierra or any new macOS breaking stuff so I had to ask
     
  10. LiveM macrumors 65816

    LiveM

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #10
  11. StellarVixen macrumors 68000

    StellarVixen

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Location:
    Earth
    #11
  12. Howard2k macrumors 68020

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #12
    2015 MBPro. Sierra was solid as a rock. I’m considering going back.

    High Sierra significantly increased drain while sleeping and my system became less stable.

    Mojave doubled down on sleep problems, sleep is now practically useless, but it’s been rock solid in terms of stability. Far more stable than HS.

    I had upgraded from Sierra to HS. For Mojave I did a clean install.

    Very stable. Sleep is totally broken.
     
  13. seabreeze56 macrumors member

    seabreeze56

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    #13
    So do you have to shut it down each time you go off line? I noticed that HS increased drain while sleeping for sure and the less stable as you noticed as well. But the sleep issue bothers me with Mojave as you have seen :( I don't to have to shut it down each time.
     
  14. Howard2k macrumors 68020

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #14
    Sleeping from 6pm until 8am drains about 25%-30%. Under HS it was 10% or so. Under Sierra perhaps 4%-6%. So I can leave it in sleep, it just wakes up very depleted.
     
  15. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #15
    Hmm if I were to shut it down completely, I can avoid all of these sleep issues right?
     
  16. Howard2k macrumors 68020

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #16
    Totally. That's what I do right now. Just have to close all my apps and re-open them again when re-booted.
     
  17. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #17
    Ah I see thanks. Sometimes I notice that even after I do this, after a few days, there will be almost no battery left after I switch it on again
     
  18. seabreeze56 macrumors member

    seabreeze56

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
  19. Howard2k macrumors 68020

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #19

    No, certainly not. Some people force hibernation by changing the options. There might be someone people where it's just working as designed, I'm not sure.
     
  20. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #20
    Seems like it since it is close to 7 years old and it was a hand-me-down. I had another laptop with similar age and also similar battery health

    I am unsure either but am definitely not using hibernation; it's either on or off for me. I'll need to test further
     
  21. seabreeze56 macrumors member

    seabreeze56

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    #21
    I have never found hibernation on mine. Not sure mine has it.
     
  22. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #22
    I found it on my Bootcamp Windows 7 though
     
  23. Howard2k macrumors 68020

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #23
    You can enable it via the command line. I don’t have the syntax to hand but it’s done with pmset IIRC.
     

Share This Page

22 October 18, 2018