High Sierra won't start after dosdude patch

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by dtrimble, Jan 12, 2018.

  1. dtrimble macrumors member

    dtrimble

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    #1
    I have a 2008 Mac Pro (3,1). Dual 2.8Ghz quadcores, 64GB RAM, and a 2 TB internal SSD. I was running El Capitan and opted to put in @dosdude1 's High Sierra patch in order to be able to run some newer software I couldn’t run on El Capitan.

    Following his website's instructions, I ended up installing from a 32GB USB thumb drive. I was surprised that, start to finish, it took literally 34 hours to install. I chalked it up to USB 2.0 on a 10-year-old machine being awfully slow by any modern standard, but I’m not so sure that’s the problem anymore.

    I then ran his post install tool with the default options for a 3,1 Mac Pro, and rebooted into the SSD. It came up quickly with the password prompt (I run FileVault, so the SSD is encrypted). And then the progress bar started moving to load the rest of the OS. It hangs perpetually around 95%. I let it run overnight and then some, and it never got any further. It’s an SSD, so I can’t listen for any hard drive movements or other observable activity in the background.

    Rebooted into the boot USB, ran the post installer again, and this time opted for the Force Rebuild option for the caches. Rebooted back into the SSS. Same problem. I turned off the machine and let it sit for a while and went back to my MacBook Pro while I thought through what’s going on.

    Just for kicks, I decided to try building a new boot drive w/ High Sierra and the patch. This time I used a FireWire 800 external 1TB hard drive.

    Re-ran post install from that drive e and the forced cache rebuild. Same exact problem.

    When I did the force rebuild, it told me there’s a command I should run from Terminal after booting into HighSierra. I haven’t even been able to get that far to run it.

    Is there any point in running that command from Terminal from the installer boot drive?

    Might any of you have any idea what other problems are taking place?
     
  2. dtrimble thread starter macrumors member

    dtrimble

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    #3
  3. roronl macrumors member

    roronl

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    Only on supported machines. Never on unsupported patched machines.
    You can do this manually easily.
     
  4. dtrimble thread starter macrumors member

    dtrimble

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    #5
    Does High Sierra require APFS on SSDs? Is that why I'm having issues? The patch instructions only stipulated to format if you were doing a clean install.
     
  5. andraderj macrumors newbie

    andraderj

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #6
    --- Post Merged, Jan 13, 2018 ---
    Hi.... Am using the patch on a 2009 January 17inch MBP... and a 2008 iMac. The deal is... I remember reading something about FILEVAULT... it does not work with it.... I believe I saw something that said you had to check to see if it was enabled.... and then turn it off... which requires the encryption key you used when turning it on.

    Hopefully that will help. The patch rocks...and makes my iMac and MBP run better than they did when new! High Sierra is so much more efficient...and it does really run well. Hope this helps. Go back and read his material with an eye towards FILEVAULT. Good luck ;-)
     
  6. roronl macrumors member

    roronl

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    No, this is not necessary. Both formats should work fine. The problem must be elsewhere.
     
  7. ABQdude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    #8
    Is your SSD in one of the bay slots or on a PCIE card? I could never get High Sierra to run APFS on the Apricorn PCIE card with the SSD, but it works fine in HFS+. I was able to get High Sierra on APFS on the SSD in one of the bay slots, but wasn't willing to give up a drive bay slot.
     
  8. dtrimble thread starter macrumors member

    dtrimble

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    #9
    PCIe. It's this one:
    https://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/SSDACL6G2TB/
     
  9. L Caputo macrumors 6502

    L Caputo

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    #10
    Running 2008 MacPro here on High Sierra, Sierra and El Capitan. All is well and good.
    Did you disable SIP before you tried the patch, it needs to be off.
    It does not work on an encrypted drive so decrypt it, and it won't work well on an SSD on a PCIe card.
    You really must go to the Unsupported page and read through it, yes it is 114 pages but it is worth it, and doesn't take that long really. You could try installing it in one of the internal disks, make a partition on one and trial it out.

    Once booted from the USB and start of install takes about 35 Minutes, on a clean drive it should be 15Minutes.
     
  10. dtrimble thread starter macrumors member

    dtrimble

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    #11
    Yes, SIP is disabled.

    I tried it on a blank HDD this afternoon, and that also did not work.

    The instructions for the HS patch provide instructions on how to work with FileVault-encrypted drives. Has anyone confirmed with the developer that it doesn't actually work with encrypted drives?
     
  11. L Caputo macrumors 6502

    L Caputo

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    #12
    If you post your experience on the Unsupported thread you are more likely to get a response from dosdude1.
    As you have done here describe what you have done and the results, there is more of an audience over there that might get to the bottom of your problems.
     
  12. EC12, Jan 21, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2018

    EC12 macrumors newbie

    EC12

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    #13
    --- Post Merged, Jan 21, 2018 ---
    Not sure if I am too late to help. I had same problem with 64GB RAM on a 3,1, took it down to 32GB and booted up in seconds.

    EDIT: Just put another 2 X 8GB Sticks in, 48GB works fine, 64GB tried again, same issue
     
  13. pitbull60077 macrumors member

    pitbull60077

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Location:
    skokie Illinois
    #14
    I have High Sierra running on a mid 2009 MacBook pro 5.5 using the patch tool and it runs absolutely perfect even after the latest update with the specter and meltdown patch from apple
     
  14. crossmiles8 macrumors newbie

    crossmiles8

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    #15
    Hey man! The problem is absolutely the 64gb of RAM. High Sierra not compatible with your 64gb. Take out a matched pair and add in 2 4gb DIMMs and ur golden at 56gb. Don't know why, kind of silly.
     
  15. marshallscore macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    #16
    I can verify Crossmiles8 answer, I had the same problem with High Sierra not booting (having had it working!) and thought something had happened to the USB post install stick, but I had forgot I replaced the removed bottom RAM riser giving me 64gb ram.

    After a few days of complete mindless faffing about reformatting SSDs HD and making up a new USB tool etc and going back to Sierra 10.12.6, I read Crossmiles8 article and I have just tried it.

    I removed a pair of 8gb ram, rebooted the SSD I had formatted to High Sierra and boom, it works!.

    Therefore, running High Sierra on the Mac Pro3,1, it only can handle a maximum of 56Gb ram which is more than enough.

    Thanks for the info "crossmiles8' Hope this sorts 'dtrimble' out too.
     

Share This Page