Home button unresponsive?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Nrwrit3r, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. Nrwrit3r macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #1
    Is anyone else with a jailbroken app having a problem with the home button not always responding to clicks? Sometimes I need to click it 2 or 3 times. Seems like a software issue too.

    Also on sbsettings when i adjust brghtness it changes, but when I turn the phone to sleep and wake it up, it's back to the old brightness.


    Any help with these two issues would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. Kevio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #2
    Run across this problem occasionally, i just reboot the phone. I have no clue what causes it. I can bring up the multi tasking bar and use voice control, but clicking the home button once does nothing, totally unresponsive. This has only happened twice in the past 3 weeks.
     
  3. edlo83 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #3
    It's been happening to me also. I thought it might have be a hardware problem. Maybe it's not.....
     
  4. evanavevan macrumors member

    evanavevan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #4
    This is exactly what happens to me. I usually just bring down SBSettings and respring, which fixes it. Faster than a full reboot but still annoying to have to do. Also unsure what causes it.
     
  5. scirica macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #5
    I'm seeing some inconsistencies too with the task switcher. Sometimes it switches with one click, sometimes two, sometimes not at all and have to retry. No logic to it.
     
  6. h1r0ll3r macrumors 68040

    h1r0ll3r

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    Maryland
    #6
    For me, I've noticed that the timing of the home button is off. If I double click really fast then it'll work fine everytime. If I hit it slowly then it usually doesn't work. I got a ton of JB apps running so I'm guessing all of them (combined) have something to do with this issue. Not a huge thing for me though since the double tap only brings up the multitasker...which I hate.
     
  7. ender21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #7
    Yeah I sometimes have this. It's almost like it's asleep and one tap of the home button doesn't cut it. But if I've just swiped-to-unlock and am in a folder or on a different page, one tap will work just like it normally does. It's if the phone has been idle for a while that it appears to take place.

    I think there is enough anecdotal evidence to suggest that it is indeed happening, so I'll list my JB apps. Maybe there's some commonality amongst us.

    Cydia
    Rock
    SBSettings
    LockInfo
    3G Unrestrictor
    MyWi 4.0
    XDrive
     
  8. adrianwd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #8
    This exact same thing has been happening to me. A few people have believed that activator is the source of this problem but i unfortunately haven't been able to test it. But thought I'd put it out there
     
  9. reaborg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #9
    Not jailbroken, but happens to mine as well....

    The same thing is happening to my iP4, yet mine is not jailbroken. But the behavior of the Home Button (in terms of unresponsiveness) seems to be exactly as you guys would describe it. This wasn't always the case. After I installed more apps, and added music to my iPod library, I started noticing it. Not sure if its a particular app that is causing this. But bit strange.... All the apps I download are off the "top 25" list typically, so no untested apps that I can see.
     
  10. adrianwd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #10
    does anyone have any insight on this problem because this problem unfortunately still persists on 4.1 with a fresh restore/jailbreak :(
     
  11. CactusHawk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
  12. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #12
    This come up from time to time. I know with me I can never tell if I didn't just hit the button square enough. It's never seemed like a software problem.
     
  13. rsk137 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #13
    I'm actually kind of glad to see this thread as I am having the same problem. Sometimes when I try to close an app, it will take 2-3 presses to register. Doesn't happen all the time, but I would say in the ballpark of 35%- 40%. I can hear the "click" sound of me depressing the button but it remains unresponsive.

    I was figuring it was a hardware problem, but after reading this I'm thinking otherwise.

    Just for the sake of maybe someone linking 2 and 2 together, here are my JB apps.

    Activator (I saw someone a couple posts up say this could be the issue)
    Cydia
    Installous
    Makeitmine
    Respring
    MxTube
     
  14. Snowman3459 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #14
    Wow this is weird I thought I was the only one. Weird thing is, it never happened until I jailbroke using Jailbreakme. Once I restored I started noticing that my home button wouldn't work all the time, but my phone is jailbroken with Limera1n and I haven't had the issue since...
     
  15. adrianwd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #15
    It didn't happen to me either until i jb with jailbreakme. So thinking i possibly had the bug still in my backup files...i figured i'd start fresh and jb with limera1n and it'd all go away which it did for a couple days but think it came back when i installed something from cydia
     
  16. rsk137 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #16
    That's weird, I'm the exact opposite. JailbreakMe had zero issues, but limera1n is when the home button started having issues.
     
  17. josh.ct.wang macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    #17
  18. n7plus1 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Location:
    York, PA
    #18
    yes...ALL OF THE TIME! happens unjailbroken as well.
     
  19. Nrwrit3r thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #19
    It was a hardware issue. Got the phone replaced at an apple store (was waiting for 4.1 jb to come out before doing so).

    Works really nicely :) The genius guy told me to be careful pressing the home button as it's very sensitive and pressing it too hard will result in it desensitizing.
     
  20. polobreaka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #20
    hmm thats strange, because i was sure that when i was on 3.1.2, i had no problem with the home button. it just seems like such a coincidence that once 4.0 came out, the home button became unresponsive and so did a couple of people that posted up about this when the 4.0 came out.
     
  21. xsecretfiles macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #21
    Since mine is out of warranty, I've just decided to use activator and replace the home button with a shake

    I don't care for multi-tasking , so a shake can close the apps just fine or bring me to the first page etc
     
  22. Fabricman112 macrumors regular

    Fabricman112

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #22
    I also had this on 4.0.1, got so annoying I upgraded to 4.0.2 (no SHSH..)
    now on 4.1 jailbroken it never happens, I think it had to do with activator/switcherplus... tried everything but couldnt restore as I got the phone, when 4.0.2 was signed

    my cydias:
    activator
    afc2add
    five icon dock
    winterboard
    mobile terminal
    nospot
    openssh
    pkgbackup
    sbsettings
    switcherplus.. and all patches needed for them to run
     
  23. ivan300 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #23
    Im getting this on my ip4 with 4.1
    It dont recall it doing this before the jb
     
  24. Nrwrit3r thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #24
    Maybe you guys have different issues? I reset the phone and put it on 4.1 at the apple store and it still did it.
     
  25. Fabricman112 macrumors regular

    Fabricman112

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #25
    it could be hardware, but in my case it was something with activator
     

Share This Page