***How are you going to to build your 2012 Mac Mini *** include links

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by JAYBEATS23, Jul 1, 2012.

  1. JAYBEATS23, Jul 1, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2012

    JAYBEATS23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #1
  2. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #2
    I'm confused by the title of this thread and the content... Further the 2010 Mac Mini could only use 8gb of RAM. I think this tread needs to head to the wasteland
     
  3. philipma1957, Jul 1, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2012

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #3
    the 2010 mac mini maxes at 8gb ram. Although a 123macmini poster swears he got a 2gb and a 8gb stick to work. He never gave any proof on the site.

    I would also say pulling the dvd player from a 2010 mac mini is not the best move. If I was going to upgrade a 2010 mac mini I would put in a 256gb samsung ssd series 810. I would put in 2x 4gb sticks of samsung ram.

    I would leave the dvd player alone but I have seen one guy get an internal blu ray player to work in a 2010 mini while running windows 7 in bootcamp.

    I am typing on a 2010 mac mini with a 256gb samsung ssd and 8gb of samsung ram so I know it is a good piece of gear. I left the dvd inside it see thumbnails
     

    Attached Files:

  4. vastoholic macrumors 68000

    vastoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    #4
  5. JAYBEATS23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #5
    I know that . The idea was for people to list memory upgrades for their current and future mac mini.
     
  6. mystic man macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #6
    no point in putting 1333mhz memory
    even the 2011 model can support 1600mhz memory, and if the rumored update for the 2012 model comes, and it has ivy bridge, then it will support officially 1600 mhz

    also if you can, prefer higher capacity ssd's
    during my time in macrumors i ve seldom read that ssd's show their true colors on chips higher than 240gb in capacity
     
  7. Ifti macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Already have my 120GB Vertex 3 SSD ready and wating.
    Will also be adding 8GB Kingston HyperX 1600mhz RAM, and a second drive - 1TB HDD.
     
  8. mystic man macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #8
    I will have to wait to see final specs
    but I m leaning towards a crucial m4 256 GB, or a vertex if trim is supported officially in ML
    memory wise I ll be opting for either 2x4=8gb 1600mhz ram or 2x8=16gb depending on my financial situation, probably from crucial too
     
  9. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #10
    I'll probably just bump the memory (from Crucial).

    I'd like to drop an SSD inside, but for a desktop I'd prefer a capacity that I cannot afford.
     
  10. aarond12 macrumors 65816

    aarond12

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX USA
    #11
    Since selling my hackintosh and putting its drives in external cases attached to my Airport Extreme, I have little need for internal storage. An SSD will very likely be in the cards for me, along with a local external drive (USB 3 drive built and ready!) for things like video capture. Time Machine will go through the Airport Extreme, as do the rest of the Macs in the house.

    Hurry up, Apple! :D
     

Share This Page