How are you preparing for a job loss?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by iShater, Nov 14, 2008.

1. iShater macrumors 604

iShater

There have been a few threads about lists of layoffs and reaction to the economic downturn.

Since job loss is a big part of this, I am curious what others are doing to prepare for it.

I am an IT contractor and my current gig will end right before Thanksgiving, so I will start with mine:

1) Started saving a cushion earlier this year, it can hopefully last me more than 3 months of "normal" expenses.
    2) Watching my accounts as a hawk to ensure I know where everything is going.
    3) Taking advantage of any good coupons ($10 off $20 at CVS, $150 to open a new Chase account), etc.
    4) Started making a list of expenses we can remove from the monthly budget.
    5) Refreshing skills in my field (i.e. studying my butt off)
    6) Looking for jobs. Duh!
    7) Researching unemployment benefits (if they even apply).

What about you?

2. soberbrain macrumors 65816

soberbrain

I'm a contractor too and today is my last day. Pretty much the same as you, plus not buying a new MacBook.

I had not taken much time off in the past year so I'm just going to enjoy being home and also work on a few things around the house.

I had been planning for this in the last few months since workload had decreased in my department, which I found was inversely proportional to the number of posts and visits I make in the forums ;)

3. iShater thread starter macrumors 604

iShater

The wife and I planned a vacation to Mexico in December, gonna take it no matter what. I started the last two gigs with zero time-off in between.

I need the break from the rat race. :p

4. JNB macrumors 604

JNB

Made sure my better half has a recession-proof job! (Sheriff's Office ;))

5. iGary Guest

iGary

We have about 4 months of expenses in savings - wish it was more, but the significant other has been out of work since July.