How can Apple top their current design/build?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macDonalds, Jul 16, 2009.

1. macDonalds macrumors 6502

I'm still relatively new to Apple products. I've only seen a few years worth of revisions and they seem to get better each time (you would expect that!).

The Unibody's are a real peace of work. They look great and they feel great. Flex, what's that? I mean this seems like the pinnacle of laptop build. The only problem I see is the reports of the aluminum bending. It appears we traded one problem for another: crack vs bend (plastic vs. aluminum).

So where does Apple go from here? What can they do to improve the design or build quality?

2. celticpride678

Somehow make it lighter. Also, make the aluminum less denatble.

3. Kobra macrumors regular

Kobra

Well, they could:

* Make it lighter (not by much, but every gram counts)

* Add higher screen resolution ( 1280*800 is OK, but higher would be good)

* Add internal 3g modem (come on Apple, PC laptops have had this for a long time now)

* Optional Blue-Ray

* Modular drive bay (so that the user can choose if he want a extra HDD or a CR-ROM)

Other than that, there's little I miss or can come to think of right now ;)

4. suburbia macrumors 6502

The unibody design looks great closed. But opened? Not so much for me. I prefer the all-silver/grey interior. And although the black bezel does give the illusion of a bigger display, I still prefer the aluminum/silver bezel.

The all-silver interior made the MacBook Pro such a sleek design, an Apple signature. The new interior just made it common.

5. aprofetto macrumors 6502a

aprofetto

Interesting, I think we'll obviously see changes with the evolution of technology, but I think one area which you can always improve is in the overall size and weight. Obviously by size I don't mean shrink the screen and such, but rather the thickness, etc.

6. NRose8989 macrumors 6502a

Agreed.