How can i get the menu bar to stay without disappearing

stevefo

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 16, 2013
185
37
The menu bar not the dock bar.
 
Last edited:

stevefo

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 16, 2013
185
37
I meant the tool bar at the top where the time is and stuff.
 

Jacksonville

macrumors newbie
Sep 6, 2013
2
0
Ah, thanks. I am having the same problem. I understand that it disappears when I go fullscreen, so how do I change this? It's really annoying having the top bar peek back in when I'm trying to click on another tab. :)
 

opinio

macrumors 65816
Mar 23, 2013
1,171
5
Ah, thanks. I am having the same problem. I understand that it disappears when I go fullscreen, so how do I change this? It's really annoying having the top bar peek back in when I'm trying to click on another tab. :)
If you use apps in full screen then they're in full screen. If you want the menu bar always there then don't use fullscreen, just stretch the window out a bit so it is larger.

You can't have 'not quite fullscreen' or 'I can't believe it is not "fullscreen"' mode. It is one or the other.
 

opinio

macrumors 65816
Mar 23, 2013
1,171
5
Ah, I see. So is there a registry entry I can change to fix this, or something?
Fix what? If it is in full screen it covers the menu bar. By definition is it 'full screen'. If it is not in fullscreen then the menu bar is visible. Just don't run the app in fullscreen and your menu bar is visible.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rmpbklyn

vistadude

macrumors 65816
Jan 3, 2010
1,423
1
Instead of pressing the full screen button in the top right corner of the program, click the green full screen button in the upper left corner of the program. this will keep the menu bar from hiding itself.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rmpbklyn

MacFern

macrumors newbie
Feb 21, 2015
1
1
simple answer

Ah, I see. So is there a registry entry I can change to fix this, or something?
I came here looking for a simple answer, but had to google it. Hover your cursor at the top of the screen so you can see the toolbar, then > View> and way at the bottom is "exit full screen." When you're out of full screen that changes to "enter full screen."
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dale Collie

hfg

macrumors 68040
Dec 1, 2006
3,576
281
Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
I came here looking for a simple answer, but had to google it. Hover your cursor at the top of the screen so you can see the toolbar, then > View> and way at the bottom is "exit full screen." When you're out of full screen that changes to "enter full screen."
Or, simply press the "esc" key .... :)
 

flamestar

macrumors newbie
Aug 12, 2015
13
2
That is false I am not at full screen and again the computer bosses take away our menus. It just happened with the latest up date. They never rest in trying to take away our control of our own computer.
 

DeltaMac

macrumors G4
Jul 30, 2003
10,124
2,638
Delaware
Yes, in El Capitan beta, you have a setting that allows the top menubar to hide automatically.
Yes, it really is a sign that those folks at Apple are taking control completely away from the user :rolleyes: <sarcasm>

If you don't want that (or just not impressed), then turn setting back on - UN-check the box in System Preferences/General pref pane "Automatically hide and show the menu bar"
 
  • Like
Reactions: BanimalQ

flamestar

macrumors newbie
Aug 12, 2015
13
2
Screenshot 2015-08-31 01.35.56.png
Yes, in El Capitan beta, you have a setting that allows the top menubar to hide automatically.
Yes, it really is a sign that those folks at Apple are taking control completely away from the user :rolleyes: <sarcasm>

If you don't want that (or just not impressed), then turn setting back on - UN-check the box in System Preferences/General pref pane "Automatically hide and show the menu bar"
 

flamestar

macrumors newbie
Aug 12, 2015
13
2
Yes, in El Capitan beta, you have a setting that allows the top menubar to hide automatically.
Yes, it really is a sign that those folks at Apple are taking control completely away from the user :rolleyes: <sarcasm>

If you don't want that (or just not impressed), then turn setting back on - UN-check the box in System Preferences/General pref pane "Automatically hide and show the menu bar"



So please tell me where I check? I don't see it. I may have the wrong page,
 

Attachments

  • Like
Reactions: jude2151

DeltaMac

macrumors G4
Jul 30, 2003
10,124
2,638
Delaware
You don't have latest beta, which is from less than 2 weeks ago.
You can check what you have by going to the Apple menu/About this Computer.
The build for latest beta is 15A262e
Are you using more than one display?

The choice for hiding the top menubar will be directly under Use Dark menu bar and Dock
 

Attachments

flamestar

macrumors newbie
Aug 12, 2015
13
2
Dear customer support: I may have the latest bata because I did a manual update by accident about a week ago. It is usually automatic but I pushed the wrong button and thought it wanted to up date so I went along with it.
 
Last edited:

flamestar

macrumors newbie
Aug 12, 2015
13
2
Dear customer support: I should have gotten back to you earlier. I lost it and I ran my fingers over the keyboard pushing every individual key and plenty of combinations including the F keys. Then I pounded it with my both fists not very hard and I ran my palm over the keyboard all in anger. and frustration. When I finished the menu bar and app bar are back. They stay where they are supposed to be. Everything works perfectly now including the web browser. I have no idea what I did. Thank you for caring.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BanimalQ

azpc

macrumors regular
Feb 24, 2011
241
81
I have been requesting that Apple add a "Choose Your Maximize Option"

You can send Apple feedback here:

https://www.apple.com/feedback/macosx.html

Apple CEO Tim Cook can be reached on Twitter.

https://forums.macrumors.com/proxy.php?image=http%3A%2F%2Fi.imgur.com%2F6Xy1B1Q.jpg&hash=75996d10ec80c6d256019070ed49ab99
 

azpc

macrumors regular
Feb 24, 2011
241
81
I wish Apple would implement an option to choose the behavior of the Green Button.

If you would like see this option contact Apple at:

https://www.apple.com/feedback/macosx.html

In addition, Tim Cook Apple CEO can be reached on Twitter.
https://forums.macrumors.com/proxy.php?image=http%3A%2F%2Fforums.macrumors.com%2Fproxy.php%3Fimage%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fi.imgur.com%252F6Xy1B1Q.jpg%26hash%3D75996d10ec80c6d256019070ed49ab99&hash=6cbe9e4c7d749fa0bef76231970c6222
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.