How can i get the menu bar to stay without disappearing

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by stevefo, Mar 17, 2013.

  1. stevefo, Mar 17, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2013

    stevefo macrumors regular

    stevefo

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Are you talking about the menu bar along the top?
    Or the dock along the bottom?

    Apple Menu -> Dock -> Dock Preferences
     
  3. ppcg4mac macrumors 6502

    ppcg4mac

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Northwest Kansas
    #3
    With the menu bar, just don't use full screen apps
    the dock, command option d will unhide or hide it.
     
  4. stevefo thread starter macrumors regular

    stevefo

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    #4
    I meant the tool bar at the top where the time is and stuff.
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    It probably disappears when you go to full screen with some apps? If so, do not go to full screen.


    Basic Mac OS X Graphical User Interface (GUI) Elements
    clickable for bigger picture
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Jacksonville macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    #6
    Ah, thanks. I am having the same problem. I understand that it disappears when I go fullscreen, so how do I change this? It's really annoying having the top bar peek back in when I'm trying to click on another tab. :)
     
  7. opinio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    #7
    If you use apps in full screen then they're in full screen. If you want the menu bar always there then don't use fullscreen, just stretch the window out a bit so it is larger.

    You can't have 'not quite fullscreen' or 'I can't believe it is not "fullscreen"' mode. It is one or the other.
     
  8. Jacksonville macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    #8
    Ah, I see. So is there a registry entry I can change to fix this, or something?
     
  9. opinio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    #9
    Fix what? If it is in full screen it covers the menu bar. By definition is it 'full screen'. If it is not in fullscreen then the menu bar is visible. Just don't run the app in fullscreen and your menu bar is visible.
     
  10. vistadude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #10
    Instead of pressing the full screen button in the top right corner of the program, click the green full screen button in the upper left corner of the program. this will keep the menu bar from hiding itself.
     
  11. MacFern macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    #11
    simple answer

    I came here looking for a simple answer, but had to google it. Hover your cursor at the top of the screen so you can see the toolbar, then > View> and way at the bottom is "exit full screen." When you're out of full screen that changes to "enter full screen."
     
  12. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #12
    Or, simply press the "esc" key .... :)
     
  13. dyt1983, Feb 21, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #13
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  14. flamestar macrumors newbie

    flamestar

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    #14
     
  15. flamestar macrumors newbie

    flamestar

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    #15
    That is false I am not at full screen and again the computer bosses take away our menus. It just happened with the latest up date. They never rest in trying to take away our control of our own computer.
     
  16. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #16
    Yes, in El Capitan beta, you have a setting that allows the top menubar to hide automatically.
    Yes, it really is a sign that those folks at Apple are taking control completely away from the user :rolleyes: <sarcasm>

    If you don't want that (or just not impressed), then turn setting back on - UN-check the box in System Preferences/General pref pane "Automatically hide and show the menu bar"
     
  17. flamestar macrumors newbie

    flamestar

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    #17
    Screenshot 2015-08-31 01.35.56.png
     
  18. flamestar macrumors newbie

    flamestar

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    #18



    So please tell me where I check? I don't see it. I may have the wrong page,
     

    Attached Files:

  19. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #19
    You don't have latest beta, which is from less than 2 weeks ago.
    You can check what you have by going to the Apple menu/About this Computer.
    The build for latest beta is 15A262e
    Are you using more than one display?

    The choice for hiding the top menubar will be directly under Use Dark menu bar and Dock
     

    Attached Files:

  20. flamestar, Aug 31, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2015

    flamestar macrumors newbie

    flamestar

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    #20
    Dear customer support: I may have the latest bata because I did a manual update by accident about a week ago. It is usually automatic but I pushed the wrong button and thought it wanted to up date so I went along with it.
     
  21. flamestar macrumors newbie

    flamestar

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    #21
    Dear customer support: I should have gotten back to you earlier. I lost it and I ran my fingers over the keyboard pushing every individual key and plenty of combinations including the F keys. Then I pounded it with my both fists not very hard and I ran my palm over the keyboard all in anger. and frustration. When I finished the menu bar and app bar are back. They stay where they are supposed to be. Everything works perfectly now including the web browser. I have no idea what I did. Thank you for caring.
     
  22. JackieInCo macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Location:
    Colorado
  23. azpc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #23
  24. azpc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #24
    I wish Apple would implement an option to choose the behavior of the Green Button.

    If you would like see this option contact Apple at:

    https://www.apple.com/feedback/macosx.html

    In addition, Tim Cook Apple CEO can be reached on Twitter.
    [​IMG]
     
  25. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #25
    It seems this thread has gone off topic from the OP's original interest.
     

Share This Page