How can I rip DVDS to my hard drive and also play it in iTunes?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Ann P, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. Ann P macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #1
    I want to back up my entire DVD collection to an external and possibly play it in iTunes. Any programs that I can download/buy? Price is no issue here.
     
  2. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
  3. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    MacTheRipper for ripping/copying the DVDs content to your HDD, and Handbrake for converting it to an .mp4 or something else iTunes understands.
    Handbrake comes with many presets, so there is no need to fiddle a lot.

    Both apps are free. Also MRoogle for similar questions.
     
  5. Ann P thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Thanks for the answers thus far. I got Handbrake up and running. Set up my presets all ready to go but the eta eventually said over 22 hours to rip. Is this normal or will it eventually go down?
     
  6. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #6
    That seems extreme, what are your computer's specs? :confused:
     
  7. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #7
    handbrake is very cpu intensive

    so depending on your settings and your cpu, it could vary alot
     
  8. Ann P thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Here are my specs: 2.53GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB memory, 250 HD

    I'm running Snow Leopard. Maybe the rip presets are too high? I pretty much left everything on default. Thanks for continuous help... I obviously don't know what I'm doing.
     
  9. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #9
    What presets are you using? Are you sure you haven't cranked those up?

    My old 1.83 Core Duo can do a movie in about 3-4 hours.
     
  10. Ann P thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
  11. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #11
    Well there is the problem, you're ripping Twilight, and everyone knows that movie just isn't worth it.... even your computer is trying to stop you.

    (sorry couldn't resist)
     
  12. Ann P thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #12
    Oh, stop that. :p I'm not a fanatic but it was a good movie!
     
  13. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #13
    Are you encoding (using Handbrake) directly from DVD, or did you rip/copy the DVD's contents to your HDD first, from which you then use Handbrake?


    If it's the first, then it might explain the long encoding, as the Superdrive is not as fast as your HDD, and so the read times will be slower.

    Normally it should only take up to 4 hours for a normal 2hour movie, 2-pass encode with your specs.


    Therefore I recommend copying the DVD to your HDD first and use that for Handbrake.
     
  14. Ann P thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #15
    Hm, I don't know what it is but I put in another movie (around same length) and the estimated time was only about 2 hours. Very strange.
     
  15. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #16
    Makes no difference. Data can be read off DVDs at a much higher rate than Handbrake can encode it.

    I don't have any explanation of why it would say it was going to take 22 hours, but it's definitely not because he's using the DVD player.
     
  16. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #17
    Could be read errors. This may sound odd, but try cleaning the disc.
     
  17. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #18
    That may be true due to encoding settings and CPU speed, but having a movie encode 150 frames per second should be faster from an HDD than an optical drive.
    Also the constant access of the optical drive might an annoying sound.

    Also having the film ripped by MTR is important due to copyright-protection-schemes being circumvented by that software, which Handbrake obviously can't do.
    In hindsight I think that might be the problem, as Twilight might have another copyright-protection-scheme than the other film you tried.
     
  18. whaled09 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    #19
    Handbrake

    Handbrake is probably your best option, it is a free download from www.handbrake.fr.

    If you change the settings, to convert it to an MP4 or an M4V, you will not need to further convert them after ripping it, I usually use the ipod touch/iphone preset with the quality at about 60% because i usually just watch my movies on my computer screen. Once you rip it you just drag the file into itunes and play. If you want, you can move it to an external and then into itunes from the external so it knows where it is without having to locate it.

    :apple:Gotta Love Handbrake!:D
     
  19. whaled09 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    #20
    Answer


    Ann, Hopefully this will work, but I have had this problem with several of my other movies (Casino Royale was the worst) and the answer to your problem should be solved by selecting file and then "Open Source (Title Specific)" and when the dialogue pops up, select 1 as the starting title, if it still says that it will not rip, try downloading RipIt, it is free for your first ten times and that is what i had to do for casino royale. Note: It may take several hours but your DVD wouldnt have ripped in 22 hours, it just keeps going up because of zero cells in the DVD.

    If you have any further questions, feel free to ask.
     
  20. Steve-M macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #21
    A less time consuming option would be to simply copy the VIDEO_TS folders on you DVD's to your external drive. Then download VLC to watch them. Just point VLC to the VIDEO_TS folder, and it will play your back ups. :)
     
  21. Adam0306 macrumors regular

    Adam0306

    #22
    I tried ripping Assault on Precinct 13 last night direct from disc and it took like 4.5 -5 hours to do with only one pass encoding. Of course though it was using the one in my sig. Is this the usual time length for a movie using default settings? Plus the file was something like 10GB:eek: after everything was overwith.
     
  22. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #23
    When the resulting file is bigger than the original data, then something went "wrong".
    You may have used the wrong settings, like the bitrate was to high or so (video DVDs normally use 6-9Mbit/s for their MPEG-2 encoded content), you might wanna try a lower setting. 1500Kbit/s and a 2-pass encode normally work just fine, and you get a file of about 1.2 - 1.5GB out of it.

    And really use the 2-pass encode, as with the 1-pass encode you might get blocks/artifacts during fast movements, if the bitrate is little bit lower.
    A 2-pass encode analyzes the picture/image in the first pass, and in the second pass all the information it learnt during the first pass will be used in encoding the movie.
     
  23. Adam0306 macrumors regular

    Adam0306

    #24
    [​IMG]

    That's what I was thinking as far as the size difference. Just like Ann P posted earlier this is the same settings that I used other than using a 1 pass instead. 1500K just as you said the only thing different was the file was MP4 and not MPEG-2. As far as I remember I didn't touch any of the other tabs. I guess I'll have to try it again tonight to be sure.
     
  24. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #25
    .mp4 is a container/suffix for a video file encoded with mostly MPEG-4 codecs like .h263/4.
    MPEG-2 is a codec and not a video file container/suffix, and DVDs use files with .vob as a suffix.

    Maybe the movie you try to encode has some copyright protection scheme installed, that's why I always recommend using an app to rip/copy the DVD first, like MacTheRipper for example, as that removes that copyright protection scheme, which Handbrake can't handle, and will result in some kind of errors.

    If you used the settings Ann used, you shouldn't get such a big file. Have you used a preset? If not, does it work differently?
     

Share This Page