How do I add a screen resolution to the display preferences in OSX?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by huskermania, Jun 30, 2009.

  1. huskermania macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #1
    I just bought my 13" MacBook Pro and I'm trying to extend the monitor onto my 19" HDTV. The only problem is that my monitor has a resolution of 1440x900, which isn't in Apple's Display Options. How would I add a resolution to this list? I talked to an Apple Expert and he said that you would have to go to Samsung's website and download a driver... but their aren't any. Anyone have any advice?
     
  2. guydude193 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    MI
    #2
    While attached to your monitor, open up Preferences and go to Displays. While there, make sure you're in the Display tab, and look for the button named 'Detect Display'. Hope this helps!
     
  3. huskermania thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #3
    It detects the display, but it doesn't/ can't display at my TV's native resolution which is 1440x900. It's a 19" HDTV.
     
  4. neonblue2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Location:
    Port Pirie, South Australia
    #4
    You're not mirroring the display, are you? If you mirror then the maximum screen resolution is the same as the computer's.
     
  5. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #5
    I had never heard of an HDTV with a 1440x900 resolution. Thats kind of an odd-ball thing - really more of a computer monitor since its 16:10 rather than 16:9 like normal tvs.
     
  6. neonblue2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Location:
    Port Pirie, South Australia
    #6
    They're actually extremely common these days as are widescreen HDTVs with screen resolutions of 1024x768 and other kooky numbers. The worst I've seen is a 46" HDTV at 1024x768.
     
  7. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #7
    I guess only geeks pay attention to screen resolutions and anyone else just buys whatever is put on the Best Buy shelves.
     
  8. Prekesh macrumors regular

    Prekesh

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #8
    How are you connecting to it? using a VGA cable probably won't work, you'd have to use HDMI or DVI
     
  9. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #9
    you download a program called switchresx, which allows you to add resolutions. It's a trial, but you can uninstall it after you add the resolution you want and it will stay there.
     
  10. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #10
    So what resolutions does the "Displays" preference actually show? You shouldn't need any drivers; there has been a standard for many years that lets monitors report exactly which resolutions they support, no driver needed for that. There is of course the possibility that the monitor doesn't actually support the 1440 x 900 resolution that you were told. Switch to the highest resolution the Mac displays and check if the image is absolutely sharp; if it is, then you have the native resolution of the monitor which is the best you can get.

    And who is that "Apple Expert"? Is that some guy who owns a Mac and knows it all, or for example the "Genius" in your nearest Apple Store?
     
  11. huskermania thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #11
    I'm connecting through a VGA. I bought it last Christmas and checked the resolutions so I knew it would work with my Dell. (B/c that's what I had at the time) So I thought I would work with the Mac too.

    Here are the resolutions that are under the "VGA Display:" (All at 60 Hz)
    1024x768 (Highest the TV will let me)
    1280x768
    1280x800
    1280x960
    1280x1024
    1400x1050
    1600x1024
    1600x1200
    1920x1080

    So it looks like I'll just buy a 24" Dell monitor that has a 1920x1080 resolution for $250 b/c I don't think I can get it to work with the Mac.

    It was the "Apple Expert" that you can call, you can find them on Apple's Support Page.
    http://www.apple.com/support/expert/
     

Share This Page