How do I encode The Office Tv show Dvd. It's encoding half shows.

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Alx9876, Sep 3, 2008.

  1. Alx9876 macrumors 6502

    Alx9876

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    NorCal
    #1
    I'm only getting half shows. Also I can't recognize the .Vob files and which is which.

    I'm looking for title 1,2,&3.

    It's very confusing, I look for the big files but I only end up with half a Tv show.

    Anyone know why?
     
  2. davidleon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    #2
    Use VLC to play the .VOB files. Or, try using MPEG Streamclip to encode.
     
  3. fivepoint macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #3
    I've encoded ALL of The Office (American) seasons (including season #4) using Handbrake and tagging with MetaX. I've had ZERO problems with them. I get the complete episode, and I must say... the quality is fantastic!

    Maybe provide a bit more info. What program are you using?
     
  4. Alx9876 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Alx9876

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    NorCal
    #4
    I am using Handbrake and Meta-X. Here's where I'm unsure. I am used to doing nothing but movies.

    But with Handbrake I've never done tv shows before. So I'm a tad bit confused when trying to locate the file when there's 15 different files to look at.

    I encoded the first show of Season 4 of the Office but could not get episode 2 and 3 to work.

    Should I just encode the whole entire thing and have 3 tv shows as one big file?

    Thank you sir for any help.:confused:
     
  5. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #5
    Dont open the file, open the VIDEO_TS folder.
     
  6. Alx9876 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Alx9876

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    NorCal
    #6
    I did that. It's a mess when you open the VIDEO_TS Folder. This is where I'm getting stuck.

    Because you see a long list of crap to pick from. I'm not sure which one to encode or if I encode all of them.
     
  7. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #7
    In Handbrake, Open the folder that is 'above' the VIDEO_TS folder, that is the folder that contains the VIDEO_TS folder.

    Then, once Handbrake has opened that, you can select which Title to convert, convert the ones that are about 22 minutes long as they'll be the episodes.
     
  8. Alx9876 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Alx9876

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    NorCal
    #8
    Out of curiosity should I do a full disc extraction or title only extraction in Mac the Ripper?

    Also the folder above VIDEO_TS folder is the Audio_TS folder. Nothing inside of that folder. I am re-ripping all four disc of Season 4. I'm starting from scratch again.
     
  9. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #9
    No, never use mactheripper, it is a slow POS. The AUDIO_TS folder is useless, you can ignore it.

    Use FairMount if you need to decrypt something before using handbrake.
     
  10. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #10
    I couldn't disagree more with you. If you tell people not to use Mac The Ripper, you are giving them extremely bad advice. Quite the opposite is true; Mac The Ripper is much better at ripping DVDs than HandBrake is, and using Mac The Ripper will vastly improve your workflow if you have multiple DVDs to rip, and reduce wear and tear on your DVD drive.
     
  11. gadabout macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #11
    -put the dvd in.
    -open mactheripper
    -choose full disc extraction
    -press go or whatever the button says

    -when that is done, open handbrake
    -find where you saved the dvd to. select the folder that mactheripper created that has the same name that the dvd did in finder. not the video_ts folder, the one that has the video_ts folder in it.
    -select the titles to rip from here. probably the 3 longest ones if there are three episodes on the disc, and most of the time they are in order. it may be worth checking in dvd player for the first few discs though.
    -select your preset or make your own settings
    -add to queue and press start
    -sit back and enjoy the show (after waiting of course...)

    hope that helps!
     
  12. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #12
    If I rip a full DVD onto my iMac with Handbrake, it takes about 45 minutes.

    If I rip a full DVD onto my iMac with MTR, it takes about 50 minutes, and has not been transcoded. How does that help my DVD drive when it takes longer? If anything it is more damaging to the harddrive and cpu since it has to do everything twice.

    If you really want a full DVD rip, use FairMount. It is free, unlike MTR.
     
  13. Alx9876 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Alx9876

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    NorCal
    #13
    I'll tell you what guys? I have been using Handbrake for about one year now. But this has seriously been the biggest pain in the ass I've ever encountered in HB.

    I'm not a noob but The Office Season 4 gives you plenty of false files to encode only to find you out that you effed up the first 2 shows but the 3rd one encoded just right.

    Thanks for the advice guys. I finaly got it. Pain in the ass and I'm still ticked off about this.
     
  14. fivepoint macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #14
    I literally just finished my Office Season 4 Encodes. I had ZERO problems, just using Handbrake. Nothing else. I don't know what problems you had, but there were none on my end! :confused:
     
  15. Alx9876 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Alx9876

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    NorCal
    #15
    ^^Then that makes sense what you said. Handbrake and nothing else. I used Mac the Ripper first then started trying to locate files in the VIDEO_TS folder all the while looking for episode one,two, and three. :)

    For Disc2-4 I think I might just use Handbrake without Mac the Ripper. Don't get me wrong I love Mac the ripper. Perfect deal for movies. But tv shows is another story within itself. :)
     
  16. fivepoint macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #16
    I use only Handbrake about 98% of the time. The only reason I EVER use MTR is if I am ripping 5-10 discs in a day, and want Handbrake to encode them at night.
     

Share This Page