How do I tell what service provider does my iPhone 4 have

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Sex, Aug 31, 2013.

  1. Sex macrumors newbie

    Sex

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #1
    I go to settings>about>carrier and it just says "carrier 14.0"?
    How can I tell what carrier my iphone is?


    Thanks a lot
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    It won't tell you, you have to have known initially or if it was factory unlocked or not. Also... ***** on the user name?
     
  3. Thierry ba macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    Sarajevo, Bosnia
    #3
    Cool username. Ive seen factory unlocked iPhones which says T-Mobile carrier 14 in the settings app.
     
  4. Sex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Sex

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #4
    I have no idea. Is there a way to find out ? Any help appreciated. Couldn't think of a better username.

    ----------

    Mine does not say that. Just carrier 14.0 whatever that means :/
     
  5. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Why do you need to know exactly?
     
  6. Sex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Sex

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #6
    A family member not knowledgable in tech bought this for me used a while ago as bday gift. Put it aside to collect dust because I had an ipad mini and couldn't afford service used it a few times for apps thats about it. Found it in my cabinet long time after and decided to sell it to buy an iPod touch 5g. Now I don't know how to describe it to the buyer on craigslist or eBay and don't want to give them an AT&T phone that is probably Verizon

    ----------

    By the way I asked this in the official apple forums And got no reply. So decided to come here and hopefully be an active member.
     
  7. nicholasss macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Location:
    Usa
    #7
    What you need to do is have the IMEI number checked.

    Settings/General/About

    Scroll down to IMEI and you will see this number.

    Pm me if you need help, I can get the network of your iPhone.
     
  8. Shrink macrumors G3

    Shrink

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    New England, USA
    #8


    Although it's not clear...if you are asking how to change your username, send in a Contact Us form found at the bottom of every page in the blue bar.

    Just explain why you want to change your username, and what new name you would like.

    It may take a few days to get a response, but the Admins always answer Contact forms with their decision regarding your request.
     
  9. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    Well, another poster gave the answer. Use the IMEI number to check on the type of phone it is. (Verizon or GSM Global).
     

Share This Page