How do i view the C++ program i just made in Xcode? I'm a beginner

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by AustinWhite, Sep 11, 2011.

1. AustinWhite macrumors newbie

i just programmed my first "Hello world" Application in Xcode. so i ran the program and there were no errors but when i try to open the product all i see is a window with a grey box in the center that says "exec" in the top left of it. am i doing it wrong? I'm confused.

i just started teaching myself C++ today and i have absolutely no programing experience, so excuse my ignorance please

2. gnasher729 macrumors P6

gnasher729

Every program has an icon. The program you created was most likely a "command line program" and the grey box with "exec" inside is the icon that the Macintosh uses for command line programs. So that is absolutely what is expected.

Command line programs don't contain any code to show them in a window. So if you double click it in the Finder you won't see anything that it does. You can start it from XCode (Command-R) or start the Terminal application and use standard Posix commands to start it. You'll probably want to run it from XCode.

Telling us which XCode version you are using is very helpful, because different versions of XCode behave different.

3. chown33 macrumors 604

Which book or tutorial you're learning programming from? Be specific: title & author, or the URL of the online tutorial.

4. robvas macrumors 68020

You need to view the console window by hitting Shift-Command-R or going to the 'Run' menu and choosing 'Console'

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

5. AustinWhite thread starter macrumors newbie

the book is called "Sams Teach Yourself C++ in One Hour a Day" by Jesse Liberty, Siddhartha Rao, and Bradley Jones

It seems like a pretty informative book so far

----------

I'm using the latest Xcode, 4.1.1 i believe.

so is there a different place in Xcode where I'm supposed to write a C++ program or is command line the right place to be.