How do you activate Retina Display on the iPhone 4??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by yhellotharsir, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. yhellotharsir macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #1
    Hey guys, when I get my iPhone 4 will it have the proper resolution already set up or do you can swtich between Retinas Mode and a lower resolution, like maybe the 3GS resolution. That way you can save battery power when you're on the go, and don't need the higher res.

    Thanks
     
  2. X2D macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #2
    I felt bad for my original post, it's just there, there is no switching res there is no activating it.
     
  3. wesk702 macrumors 68000

    wesk702

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The hood
    #3
    Make two circles with your finger as you do a screen shot. Make sure its counter clockwise or it may brick your phone...err clockwise. Dunno , one of those, I'm sure
     
  4. LiquidThunderLT macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    #4

    The iPhone 4 has a resolution of 960 x 640 pixels. You cannot change how many pixels a screen has, they are physical objects.
     
  5. Torresangel88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A400 Safari/6531.22.7)

    both answers are dum you can't bring the resolution down. but you still get great battery life
     
  6. Maverick1337 macrumors 65816

    Maverick1337

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #7
    I came into this thread thinking it was a troll. For the love of god I hope you are kidding OP...
     
  7. Turkeywrap macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Location:
    South Florida
    #8
    I agree :eek:
     
  8. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #9
    Actually, it'd be super cool if you could switch between resolutions. Instead of the zoom feature, they could have done that instead.
     
  9. M-5 macrumors 65816

    M-5

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #10
    Why would you want to switch to a lower resolution?
     
  10. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #11
    Because we have old eyes and have a hard time looking at anything 1000+ without putting the device up to our face.
     
  11. Maverick1337 macrumors 65816

    Maverick1337

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #12
    Seriously. After having my iPhone 4 for so long, I can't stand to look at a 3GS's screen or a 3G's, everything looks blurry.
     
  12. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #13
    There was a post just like this one yesterday I think. The OP was joking in that one. I was so sure this was the same post until I saw it was posted today.
     
  13. jonjames macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #14
    co-sign
     
  14. edk99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    FL
    #15
    If you want to change resolutions just switch back to your 3gs.
     
  15. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #16
    So you're basically saying that we can't have new technology just because we have weaker eyes?
     
  16. quagmire macrumors 603

    quagmire

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #17
    On the iPhone, everything is the same size on the retina display as with the previous iPhone screens. It is just clearer now.
     
  17. onne2slick macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #18
    No he's saying... if you want a lower resolution, go back to the 3GS..
     
  18. cfernandes macrumors regular

    cfernandes

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    Connecticut
  19. chakraj macrumors 65816

    chakraj

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Location:
    So Cal
    #20
    Ok,well since we have that all cleared up I have a seriouse question. Since I have 3G and I only use less than 1 G a month, can I cancel my contract and still use my other 2 Gs until they run out?
     
  20. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #21
    The guy asked a simple question, that is all.

    To the OP, dimming your screen might help with the battery life. You could also lock the portrait view so it doesn't move all over the place when you're on Safari or whatever.
     
  21. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #22
    Then it'd be called EDGE. the iPhone switches between 3G and EDGE, depending on what is available in the area.
     
  22. Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #23
    That was the worst part of ditching my IP4 - ...going back to Lite-Brite resolution.... :(
     
  23. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #24
    Yeah, I can't look at my MacBook Pro the same anymore.

    And I was trying to be nice about it. Nothing worse than asking a question only to get a "durrrrr" response. We're human afterall.
     
  24. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008

Share This Page