Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

uptempos

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 25, 2015
debating if I should keep my sleeve and spend 50 on that speck clam shell case. Ive heard the clamshells actually can scratch the macbook itself..but I do want that extra protection. Thoughts/experience?

-anyone use it without any protection besides a sleeve and was fine?
-anyone prefer using the clamshell but have any scratch/issues with them?

JTToft

macrumors 68040
Apr 27, 2010
Aarhus, Denmark
I've been using an Incase sleeve for 4 years when transporting my MBP over longer distances. Nothing when in normal use.
I've never grasped the point of hard shell cases, unless you work in extremely rough surroundings.

roncron

macrumors 65816
Aug 15, 2011
debating if I should keep my sleeve and spend 50 on that speck clam shell case. Ive heard the clamshells actually can scratch the macbook itself..but I do want that extra protection. Thoughts/experience?

I've used only a sleeve, if that, for my 2010 13" MBA, 2012 11" MBA, and 2015 13" rMBP. I'm not careless with them but I also don't baby them, either. I have literally no scratches on any of them. Yesterday, I dropped my brand new 2015 13" rMBP; on the way down, it hit the desk and then a chair before landing a carpeted floor. No scratches or damage of any kind. (Man, that was the longest and scariest 1.5 seconds of my life) (not counting when someone crashed my car and it flipped over with me in it)

Despite this run of good luck without a case, I've just ordered a Kuzy case from Amazon based on the favorable reviews and the low price (just $25, I think that's about half of what you pay for the Speck).

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009V17TH6/

flur

macrumors 68020
Nov 12, 2012
I use a sleeve. I also use a skin on the top case to prevent scratches.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California