How do you save changes to the original photo in Lightroom?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by LoneWolf121188, Dec 31, 2008.

  1. LoneWolf121188 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    #1
    Say I make a crop or adjust the white balance or something in Lightroom...how do I get it to save the changes to the original photo? I can't seem to find a "save" button anywhere, and if I try to export it using the same filename, it complains about overwriting the original file (but that's exactly what I want it to do!).
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #2
    The whole point of Lightroom/Aperture is they make none destructive changes. That is, the originals are untouched.

    To obtain a modified photo, you have to use export.
     
  3. raxafarian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #3
    As said above... that's the entire point :)

    Changes are stored in the database and applied to the photos. Keep good backups of both your photos AND your database.

    Your original photo remains untouched which is a good thing. As your skills improve you will go back to old photos and wonder what the heck were you thinking when you originally edited it. Now you can either delete your changes and start over or make a copy and start over on the copy.
     
  4. LoneWolf121188 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    #4
    Right, I get that, but this is annoying when you want to upload the picture with your changes to a website or email it to someone. I have to export it as a new picture with a different filename, and then upload that to wherever I want it to go?
     
  5. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #5
    Yep....
     
  6. firestarter macrumors 603

    firestarter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Location:
    Green and pleasant land
    #6
    How often would you want to send a 10MB RAW file to someone, or upload it to a web site?

    You have to export anyway to create a JPEG that you would need for these two uses.
     
  7. LoneWolf121188 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    #7
    I shoot mostly JPEGs to save space. I know I *should* be shooting in RAW, but my 160GB HDD can't handle it. :(
     
  8. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
  9. ajpl, Jan 5, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 4, 2011

    ajpl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #9
    No need to change name, if exported to a different folder and this is no different from using PS if prepping for web. If emailling, again you rarely send the full sized file.
    If resaving a smaller/altered file, you should do so as a copy, particularly with JPEGs as otherwise you lose the original as resaving jpegs is not good anyway as eacch time you save you lose original and resaving repeatedly is bad with lossy files as you lose information each time you resave. You cannot save over a RAW file as such.

    LR saves as you go along, so need to save as such. however you can 'save' in LR by writing to XMP. This adds a text file next to the original which details changes made and also means files will not lose the the work done if Database corrupts. I'm having problems with mine at moment with 2.2 updates and a LR bug, but all my developments are safe.
    If you go to Prefs/General/Catalogue Setting/Metadata and tick 'automatically write changes to XMP', it will do 'save' as you go along. You also ned to do this if working alongside Bridge, so changes can be seen in the other programme.
     
  10. orcaphotos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #10
    question (same topic as this post)

    Hi.

    I have been using LR for a few months.

    1. I am stuck on a few things. If I make develop changes to images in LR and do not need to edit them in PS, how do I save those changes? Is it possible and can those changes be kept when I post the photos on my website?

    2. Before LR, I had a folder with OR (07-11-2009 OR Blues) and then when I would save the edited image, I would have an EDIT folder (07-11-2009 Edit Blues). If I were to continue this method, how would I get the folder to appear on LR? I know this may sound like a stupid question, but do I have to import that folder. It seems that at times, the folder appears automatically and other times it didn't, so am thinking I have to import it.

    3. In regards to #2, I just recently noticed that if I edit in LR and then continue to edit in PS and just click "save" in ps, it will save a PSD next to the OR file in LR. Would this be a better method? That is if I am understanding it correctly.

    4. How do I save changes to folders that I change the names on, move them around, etc or do I not need to?

    5. And in regards to XMP, I just now went and checked the box for automatically write changes in XMP. Do I now have to go back to all the images I made changes to only in LR and somehow "save" or will they automatically be saved now that I checked the box?

    6. What does it mean on the "save metadata to file"? does that have anything to do with the develop, edit changes?

    Sorry for such a long post, but I have been researching and reading for days now to figure this out and didn't have much luck, so I hope someone here can clarify this for me.

    Thanks!!!
     
  11. firestarter macrumors 603

    firestarter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Location:
    Green and pleasant land
    #11
    Spend forty bucks on these training videos and save yourself lots of time.

    In general, don't move files around outside lightroom. If you want something to go through Photoshop, tell Lightroom to send it to PS, and let Lightroom manage the file when it comes back.
     
  12. snberk103 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    An Island in the Salish Sea
    #12
    I am new to LR too, but I had an epiphany that helped me sort things out. I'm not claiming that this is the gospel truth, but it works for me.

    LR is for managing images and your workflow.
    PS is for manipulating images as part of your workflow.

    Confusion is easy as LR has manipulation controls, and PS has incorporated some ways to manage images and workflow.

    LR starts with the assumption that you have a library of images. You want to keep the library sorted, and that you may want to use the same image repeatedly, but in different ways. Therefore you work with Export when you want an image to use for the web, to email, or to send to a printer. This is instead of saving copies for each use. If you need different crops you can save a virtual copy for each crop. LR assumes that for each Export what is considered "best" may change, and therefore doesn't save the changes since what is "best" for sending to a printshop may be different than what is "best" for emailing. Therefore there is really only one copy of the image saved. You can (should) save Export Presets for your common uses. Even the uncommon ones since you may be able to change just one or two Export parameters for a one-off Export.

    PS assumes that you start with an image, and use PS to make it better. The image when saved is the "best" for whatever use you were editing it for. But, unless you have the original file saved somewhere you may not be able to use the edited image for another use. If you are saving the original image, and then each edited image as you create them, you end up needing massive amounts of storage since each edited image may be saved multiple times. And you now have to keep track of how the edited images relate to each other and to the original.

    LR is designed to be able to work with a multitude of images at once (colour correcting an entire shoot). You don't have to (I don't yet) but its built in. PS was designed to work with one image at a time (though it can work with multiples using actions. But I think this is more of doing the same thing over and over i.e. working on images serially).

    Hope that helps. Again - I could be wrong... but this thinking helped me get my head around LR.
     
  13. firestarter macrumors 603

    firestarter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Location:
    Green and pleasant land
    #13
    Well, that's an OK assumption - but remember that Photoshop is a much older app. The two weren't designed to be complimentary in that way.

    PS is top-flight image editor, with some browsing and file management capabilities in the form of Bridge.

    LR is a complete one-stop RAW processing and file management app for photographers - which aims to implement 95% of functionality photographers need in one package.

    Really, there's not a lot that you need PS for if you have LR. Personally I've only used PS for some very selective adjustments, and perspective changes.

    For most folk (especially high-volume photographers like wedding photographers) Lightroom will probably give them everything they need.
     
  14. emorydunn macrumors 6502

    emorydunn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    #14
    That is the best explanation of Lightroom I've seen.
     
  15. orcaphotos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #15



    I do use LR for about 85% of my editing to my photos and not open them up in PS. So I am wondering how do I save the image that I edit in LR as I may not need to export them at that time?

    Thank you everyone for your comments. Very helpful.

    The video link is good to know its there, but I only need about a 1/4 of that info on there. I have watched many videos online, read book, etc and just couldn't get a grasp on the "saving" issue and above issues mentioned.
     
  16. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #16
    You don't save them, any changes are kept in the database. If you need to make a copy then you can (right click, create virtual copy) and keep those changes. The virtual copy is indicated with a fold in the corner of the picture (as shown below).

    This doesn't save a separate image, just a separate entry on the database. Both 'images' can be altered in what ever way you want.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. emorydunn macrumors 6502

    emorydunn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    #17
    Any changes you make are auto-saved to the LR database. Then anytime you load the photo you see the changes. There isn't a 'save' button you press after making changes, you just go onto the next photo and make changes and so on.
     
  18. orcaphotos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #18
    Got it!!

    I was told a while back that in order to save any changes made i need to click on the "save metadata to file"? Does that have anything to do with the develop changes or the actual metadata (like keywords, captions, photographer info, etc)?

    Let's say it does, so does that mean after I add any more keywords, info to a photo, I have to click on the "save metadata to file"?

    Thanks again. After this, I should be set. :)
     
  19. winkart macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #20
    Adobe lightroom save option.

    Hi folks. The simplest way to keep and save changes in Adobe lightroom. Once you have made your changes to the original photo open a programme that gives you the opportunity to make a screen capture. I use Paintshop pro. Once you have captured your image you can then save it as a jpeg and rename it into whatever folder you need to. From here on in you can do as you will with your image in any programme you choose to edit. Good luck.:)
     
  20. firestarter macrumors 603

    firestarter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Location:
    Green and pleasant land
    #21
    Dude, that's an awful tip.

    If you want a JPEG from lightroom, just export one. Using screen capture limits you just to screen resolution - while an export will be better quality, at the original picture resolution. You can also export TIFF, which isn't lossy.

    When Lightroom has a perfectly good feature to create a virtual copy and lock-in any changes (just a simple menu click) then there's no reason at all to be recommending nasty hacks like this.

    You would probably benefit from spending some time learning to use Lightroom better, since you're using a pointless 'workaround' that causes extra work and degrades your images.
     
  21. Clark Kent macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #22
    :D :D :D

    No way you're real!
     
  22. firestarter macrumors 603

    firestarter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Location:
    Green and pleasant land
    #23
    Let's hope not! :D
     
  23. Razeus macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #24
    You should be using the "Publish" feature for the hard drive. That way any changes you make, are export to your hard drive when you hit the publish button.
     
  24. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #25
    Nice!

    But if you want the highest quality, everybody knows you want a RAW image. So, if you want that extra bit of quality, just set up your camera on a tripod pointed at the screen, take a photograph and bam! RAW image with your changes saved!
     

Share This Page