How durable is the MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by .Logan, Aug 7, 2010.

1. .Logan macrumors member

Hello,

I'm going to be buying my first Macbook this week, however I'm torn between a Macbook or Macbook Pro. I'm a University student, so I want to be able to put my laptop in the laptop sleeve in my bookbag almost daily.

I've read online that where the MBP is made of aluminum (a malleable metal) that it is more susceptible to scratches, dents, etc...

In your experience as a MBP owner, do you find you have to be more careful with a MBP than a polycarbonate Macbook? I'm not rough on my things, but would I have to worry about scratches just taking the MBP in and out of my bookbag? Perhaps a silly question, but I really don't know what to expect nor do I know how fragile it is? Any insight would be greatly appreciated, I'd really like to get a MBP because they're much nicer than a plain Macbook, but I don't want to have to worry about damaging the body all the time.

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

3. iVeBeenDrinkin' macrumors 65816

iVeBeenDrinkin'

There are hundreds of pix in this forum of beaten up white MacBooks. The older ones used to crack after a year or two of use. Get the MBP, it'll be fine and you'll be happy.

4. Jaxdialation macrumors regular

Thousands of students us MBP without any problem. Hard for us to answer, because we don't know you, your lifestyle and how much attention you will pay to handling the MBP.

I frankly don't give a rats behind about scuffs and scratches or dents. Thats just me of course, but if people judge you based upon the condition of your laptop you need new friends. If everything works well, who cares.

5. .Logan thread starter macrumors member

I do think I will be happier with a MBP. Just this whole aluminum (could bend/scratch), vs the polycarbonate (very durable, etc.).

I'm sure I'll decide eventually!

6. .Logan thread starter macrumors member