How fast does HandBrake run on your Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by joefinan, Feb 1, 2008.

  1. joefinan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames, UK
    #1
    I'm currently on a 1.67GHz PowerBook G4 and hoping to upgrade to a MBP soon (when is up to Apple...)

    When ripping a DVD for my iPod Touch using HandBrake, the average frame rate is about 8fps - which is why I have to leave it going overnight.

    I'd be interested to know what other users' frame rates are and what Mac you're on.

    Thanks!
     
  2. kresh macrumors 6502a

    kresh

    #2
    30-35 fps
    1.83 GHz C2D Mac Mini
    3 GB Ram
    Leopard 10.5.1


    [​IMG]
     
  3. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #3
    I don't have a file to work on in Handbrake, but my 2.0 CD Macbook does about 20-25 fps depending on bitrate at iPod Hi-Rez
     
  4. mohthom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    #4
    Wow . . . am I doing something right?

    110fps on a 2.4ghz C2D MBP with the latest version of the software.

    MohThoM
     
  5. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #5
    H264??
     
  6. mohthom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
  7. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #7
    Depends on your settings. h.264 produces the highest quality video at any bitrate, so I use h.264, two pass encoding. For TV shows, you want deinterlacing turned on (the second of the four options gives decent quality and isn't horribly slow). And the size obviously makes a huge difference. If you create tiny 120x180 pixel videos, that will be a lot faster.
     
  8. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    I don't know but the screenshot lies. It handbraked that chapter in about 15 seconds. (at DVD quality)

    scrnst-handbrake.jpg

    I did another (because I thought I did it wrong it went so quickly)
    it went at 187fps

    scrnst-handbrake2.jpg

    I <3 this machine so much.
     
  9. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #9
    Apple should runs this as a Mac Pro ad!

    Damn I want one so bad. :p
     
  10. Melrose macrumors 604

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #10
    I was able to rip a 1:30 DVD in about :45 minutes... Which means I go make coffee, run to the Bank or whatever. I find if I try to run stuff in the background, it heats up waaay too much.
     
  11. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #11
    It's impressive eh? First night I set it up I was curious so tried the first chapter of Bad Boys. So so fast, and it was only using something like 60% of the processor in doing it, so you could be doing other things at the same time quite easily.
     
  12. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #12
    it's a sexy beast!

    I seriously thought I did something wrong, like, "no way it just did that so quickly." so I played what I handbraked... sure enough. :eek: Then I did it again to make sure. :D

    The processor never got above that 65% It sits at friggin 2% most times. Amazing.

    <moist>

    edit: I think I am going to handbrake a whole movie for the hell of it and see how long it takes/processor use/etc.
     
  13. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #13
    2500 bit rate H.264 using anamorphic, 2-pass encoding (with turbo first pass) and CABAC encoding (in the advanced area). 120fps on the first pass and 45fps on the second. MP (2006 model) 2.66Ghz.

    There are a couple of other options I enabled in advanced that may slow it down as well. Using Handbrake 0.9.1.
     
  14. joefinan thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames, UK
    #14
    Ok, thanks for your input everyone. You have proved to me that my PowerBook is a piece of *****.

    iBlue - where did you get your wallpaper?
     

    Attached Files:

  15. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #15
    it's not, you're looking at an unfair sample if you're judging from my posts - it's a brand new mac pro. I think many times people have to leave handbrake going overnight to finish a task.

    I got the wallpaper here
     
  16. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #16
    My PMG5 dual 1.8ghz can take around 3 hours on single pass at 2500kbps.

    Upto 7 hours on two pass.

    :eek:

    My MacBook is faster but not by much.
     
  17. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #17
    Handbrake is very CPU intensive and will utilize as many cores as you have. For my 2.8 iMac I tend to get 60-100 fps for 1st pass Turbo and 30-40 fps 2nd pass :apple:TV presets. 8-core Mac Pros fly and with Penryn it should even be faster.
     
  18. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #18
    Captain obvious says:
    Newer computers will ALWAYS ENCODE FASTER...

    =p
     
  19. joefinan thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames, UK
    #19
    Thanks for that!!

    This has been really interesting though - I wasn't sure if HandBrake had a maximum encode rate. To do an entire film in 30mins would be superb so, please Apple, bring out a new MBP! I have savings of £1,700 just waiting for you...
     
  20. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #20
    My MBP 17" 2.4 gets 50-100fps on first pass. 30fps on second pass (could be heat throttling?) last summer. Have not tried it lately, but don't keep track of how fast. I set it and go do something else.

    You can also buy a refurb intel imac to do your encoding, as your powerbook will play the files fine (except for HD videos might have a hard time).
     
  21. joefinan thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames, UK
    #22
    Does the two passes thing make much difference?

    I've never done it.
     
  22. SeVeN macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Jose
    #23
    im sorry to hijack. but i have a somewhat related question if you dont mind answering. what format do i use in HandBrake to watch movies from my iPod on my TV in DVD quality?

    thanks
     

Share This Page