How long do you leave Handbrake running?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by JW008, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. JW008 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #1
    Now that I've figured out why people rip with Mac the Ripper and then get it Apple TV ready with Handbrake, I have to say that Handbrake has been running non-stop for quite a while. I know it can't be too good for the processor to leave it running for a long time, but I was wondering how long do most of you keep it running?
     
  2. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #2
    Till it's done, basically. I rip using the 'normal' setting on Handbrake and then AppleTV encode using VisualHub.

    Trying to cut that out by ripping straight from the DVD into AppleTV preset in Handbrake.
     
  3. Nimiety macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #3
    Days.

    Literally.

    My poor PC has been ripping, encoding, transcoding, etc, almost solid for a month now. I will almost exclusively use the handbrake queue, as it affords me the time to rip another movie while the first is going (I have two dvd drives) and I can keep adding on to the queue.

    I am quite certain the PC is looking forward to me taking a vacation away from the house. :)
     
  4. JW008 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #4
    Right, but I like ripping with Mac the Ripper because it takes less time to rip the VOB file from the disc and that lets me be able que up an entire TV show and a couple of movies and then let them encode throughout the day while I'm at work and then school. This way I don't have to be home to physically put in another disc. I got the entire second and third seasons of Arrested Development encoded while I was asleep last night.
     
  5. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #5
    It has been running on my old Quicksilver Mac (733 MHz G4) for about 14 days :rolleyes:. On the MacBook, I've done two days continuous - but other things have been running longer, like seven days, two CPUs at hundred percent. Just make sure you don't prevent the cooling from working. Put it on a flat surface, not on the carpet or the sofa, not on a radiator, and leave space at the back for the air to flow out.
     
  6. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #6
    So what file size do you guys get a Feature Film into? Ripping off the DVD using Handbrake and then encoding in Visual Hub a full film in 'High Quality' is about 3gig.

    Edit: To answer your original question though, it's been running so far since Saturday night, and I've got through about 6/7 full films.
     
  7. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #7
    Don't worry about your processor. It's not a toy that will wear out.
     
  8. JW008 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #8
    A 22 minute episode of Arrested Development clocks in from 420-450 MB. I'm about to encode The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King. There's no telling how large that file will be!
     
  9. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #9
    Would you let me know? I thought 3 gig was awful large, actually. Most of my downloaded films (Meh, what you gonna do) weigh in at at around a gig when AppleTV encoded. But I guess they are going to be lacking in quality compared to their DVD ripped counterparts.
     
  10. JW008 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #10
    I'll post it here when it's finished, but I'm about to leave home for work then school and won't be back until 9 EST time tonight, so it will be relatively late in the day.
     
  11. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #11
    Nah worries. Appreciate it, thanks.
     
  12. ladysman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #12
    I use handbrake preset and set it to 2 pass encoding (no turbo first pass) and i can say the biggest movie I have is 2.1 and most are 1.6-1.8 range with a few 1.4.
     
  13. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #13
    Thats from a DVD, yeah?
     
  14. 156457 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    What's does 2 pass encoding do? I always use it but I've never known what it does, also, why would you not have turbo first pass :S Doesn't it speed things up?
     
  15. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #15
    I have to ask *why* you would ever want to encode right from dvd with HB, then re-encode again with VH ? Trust me when I tell you that you are taking way longer than you need to and getting *very* lossy video.

    May I suggest one of two workflows depending on what software you prefer:
    1. HandBrake straight off the dvd to final movie (realize some newer dvd's with advanced protection may need to be pre-ripped with mtr or fairmount/dtox first ).
    2. rip movie with mtr or fairmount and then encode with VH.

    The workflow you are describing is not only very long, but you are getting lossy conversion in each step, so your final quality would be much lower than a one encode process.
     
  16. AliensAreFuzzy macrumors 68000

    AliensAreFuzzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #16
    I have actually queued up Handbrake to the point where it ran for a week straight (I was out of town and didn't bring my MBP with me). Once in a blue moon, I'll come back and find that HB crashed midway through the queue, but that doesn't happen that often.
     
  17. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #17
    Processor will be fine. The biggest issue over the long haul could be wear and tear on your fans as HandBrake will run your cpu's at full tilt in x264 encoding and the fans tend to run quite a bit to keep things cool. Note: we see this issue with the intel core 2 duo's in the mbp's.
     
  18. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #18
    Yeah, I figured that was stupid way of doing it. I'm just using the AppleTV preset now and going straight from DVD to AppleTV.
     
  19. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #19
    No matter what program you use, final file size is very simple to figure out.
    (Video bitrate (ABR) + Audio Bitrate) x length of film = Final file size

    So, for instance the HandBrake preset uses 2500 kbps video bitrate and 128 kb/sec audio bitrate. So thats 2628 kbps.

    Take your movie length in seconds x 2628 and that will give you the file size in kb. Now just convert that to MB.

    Note: there will be a slight variance from the final calculation due to muxer/ container information but its pretty much negligible in the real world.

    The specifics are found here: http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=4313&st=0&sk=t&sd=a&start=20
     
  20. jdreher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    #20
    a few days...

    I haven't gone into full Ripping/Encoding production here with my DVD library yet...but I had tried just copying the Video_TS folders from a few DVDs directly to my hard drive and then queing several of the copied folders at once into handbrake. Copying the Video_TS folders is pretty quick and seems more simple than ripping with another program. I haven't really researched it, though, so before I do go into full-time, mass-production DVD "backup" mode over here, I'd be open for suggestions as to why this method is slower/less-quality/etc and why using MactheRipper is better...
     
  21. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #21
    Thanks for the info dynaflash. I learned something today, I had no idea there was a science for working the file size out.
     
  22. TroyJam macrumors member

    TroyJam

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona
    #22
    Does anyone know if 2 pass encoding improves the quality of the :apple:TV video?
     
  23. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #23
    Sure does. How noticable it will be, and if the difference is worth the extra encoding time, is completely subjective though.
     
  24. JW008 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #24
    Sorry it took so long---I got caught up after class.

    Here's some that have encoded today (on Apple TV preset on Handbrake):

    Return of the Jedi- 2.48 GB
    Memento- 2.11 GB
    28 Weeks Later- 1.88 GB

    Return of the King hasn't finished encoding, but it looks like it's going to clock in at well over 3 GB (it's an hour and fifteen minutes longer than Return of the Jedi). It might even touch 4 GB. Hope that gives you a benchmark!
     
  25. FreeState macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #25
    Here are my LOTR files (720p) 3.56g - 3.73 each movie in 2 files:
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page