How many IP Address are you using in your home?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by seattle, Nov 17, 2007.

  1. seattle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #1
    I just did a count and I found out I am using 38 IP Address for my home network. How many are you using?
     
  2. notsofatjames macrumors 6502a

    notsofatjames

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #2
    Im using about 8 around the home. I dont believe in DHCP though, it takes too long. I prefer to manually configure each client. By the time you find and connect to a wireless network, then wait to be assigned an IP, then just to find that next time you connect youve got a different IP so all the ports youve forwarded are going to the wrong place... silly.
     
  3. seattle thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #3
    Depending on your router you could setup IP resevations based on MAC address so that each device would get the same IP even with DHCP but I guess it is easier to just use static IPs.
     
  4. TheBusDriver macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    #4
    Six I think, Two G3s, Macbook, my parents laptops, my parents windoze box, and my iPhone.
     
  5. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    I have yet, with the sole exception of my Cisco 851W, found a router where address reservation actually works.

    I have tried a Linksys WRT54G with DD-WRT, and it just flat out doesn't work, and a Netgear WGR614 where it only works some of the time. I don't know what's wrong, it's not anything I'm doing, it's just crappy routers.

    My 851W, like just about everything else Cisco makes, works and it works well. You get what you pay for (and believe me, I paid for it :D)
     
  6. seattle thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #6

    I use Sonicwall firewalls and they do good as well. Cisco does make good stuff.
     
  7. SeVeN macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Jose
  8. todd2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Location:
    Danville, VA
    #8
    Good lord man! Are you controlling the International Space Station from you're living room? :p 38 IPs is crazy!

    As for me Im using 5

    1. My iMac
    2. My Aunts PC (I Know)
    3. My Replay TV (DVR)
    4. My Linux Box/DNS Server
    5. My Vonage VOIP Box
     
  9. scotthayes macrumors 68000

    scotthayes

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, England
    #9
    Really need to see that list :), but sounds like you may need to ask a few neighbours what they've got connected to your network

    using 3, My MacBook Pro, Wife's MacBook and the nintendo Wii
     
  10. scotthayes macrumors 68000

    scotthayes

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, England
    #10
    if you are using DCHP on your router, connect to it and there should be an option to show leased addresses. If static on each client, just count the number of machines.
     
  11. iMacZealot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #11
    Well, I believe I only have one external IP I get from Comcast, but if you mean internal IP's, I have up to thirteen at a time (6 Macs, 3 iPhones, 3 PCs, 1 Nokia), though that's very rare if all of them are powered on and connected at the same time. Realistically, only about 6 of those are online on a daily basis.
     
  12. seattle thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #12

    Ok here is the list.

    3 PCs
    2 Macs
    1 PC Laptop
    1 Mac Laptop
    7 TiVos
    2 IP webcams
    2 ReplayTVs
    7 Wireless routers (6 in bridged mode)
    1 slingbox
    4 servers
    1 firewall
    1 network laser printer
    6 managed switches

    I have other computers that I am not using now so I don't count them.
     
  13. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #13
    An Apple user in Seattle? Oh, wait, that's Redmond...

    I think I have five IPs going.
     
  14. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #14
    I appear to have 5.

    Heh. 38 seems like uber excessive!
     
  15. johny5 macrumors 6502a

    johny5

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    I was surprised I had 20

    2 x Nintendo DS
    Sony PSP
    Nintendo Wii
    Xbox 360
    Playstation 3
    Playstation 2
    HTC PDA
    Airport Extreme
    Ipod touch
    2 x Macbook
    17" Imac
    Macmini
    24" 2.8 Imac
    3 x pc's
    2 x Ip Security cameras

    dont try and find me, my house is pretty secure with 3 security cameras at the perimeter :D
     
  16. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
  17. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #17
    There are about 10 machines using a connection here. 11 when my Powerbooks in use. So I guess... 11!
     
  18. pake macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Delft
    #18
    Just 5.

    my ibook
    my house's PC
    the airport base station with the attached printer
    the "microwave" (the 10 year-old pc)
    the iphone

    My router does try to assign the same ip to a specific client, so they don't change. Just in case, I've got a static for my ibook, lot's of firewall configurations.
     
  19. silbeej macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #19
    7 Tivos.......7?
    damn thats a lot
     
  20. todd2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Location:
    Danville, VA
    #20
    Don't forget the 2 Replay TVs (basically the same thing) So 9 DVRs, AND a Slingbox! Watch TV Much?!? :D:p

    P.S. SEVEN Wireless routers? How big is your house? :)
     
  21. seattle thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #21
    I have 11 TiVos but the older series ones are not on my network.
     
  22. todd2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Location:
    Danville, VA
    #22
    Why do you need 13 DVRs?
     
  23. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #23
    One external, three for the internal network and another two on virtual machines.
     
  24. seattle thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #24
    My house is about 2400 square ft. It is an older house without network jacks so I use the routers as network bridges. I actually spend more time on the internet than I do watching TV.
     
  25. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop

Share This Page