How many times can I change the strap on my watch

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by Ruja, Oct 3, 2016.

  1. Ruja macrumors regular

    Ruja

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    #1
    Currently I've not received the AW2 yet and as I'm a crazy of the customization I mean, I was thinking about buying several straps on Amazon and according to the clothes I was wearing this day, set my watch with the corresponding strap but now I'm wondering if doing it many times can damage my watch. What do you think about it?
     
  2. MCube74 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    I have not thought about it yet but I guess, if you get Apple Care+, you have nothing to worry about.
     
  3. Relentless Power macrumors Penryn

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #3
    If you do it correctly. There should not be an issue.
     
  4. Julien macrumors G4

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    All but certain it will be less wear and tear than charger the battery is. So even if you change the strap a couple of times a day the mechanism will likely be working fine when the :apple:Watch will no longer hold a charge.
     
  5. Ruja, Oct 4, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 6, 2016

    Ruja thread starter macrumors regular

    Ruja

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    #5
    Yeah I guess but that's not the case

    Yes I hope so but you know as almost everything, there's a limit

    Maybe I didn't explain properly, I meant the mechanism where you connect the strap not the watch itself.
     
  6. Julien macrumors G4

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    Me too:D Sorry if English is a 2ed language.

    [easer version] The (strap/band changing) mechanism will outlast the Watch.
     
  7. Ruja thread starter macrumors regular

    Ruja

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    #7
    Mine too :) (English I mean)

    Thanks
     
  8. Fireproof! macrumors 6502a

    Fireproof!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    #8
    I've had the first generation since the first week they were out and after the first month, I bought a bunch of bands and have been changing them multiple times per week since then. For what...2 years now? No changes on the watch at all. The "button" to release the strap still works as new. I think you will be fine.
     
  9. lordofthereef macrumors G5

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    I swap my band twice a day. Swap on a sport band for my run/gym time then back to a Milanese loop. I have to think it was designed for this. I suppose there is a maximum number of swaps the same as there is a maximum number of plugs/unplugs in a lightning port or even presses of the physical buttons in the device.

    In short I wouldn't worry about it.
     
  10. greytmom macrumors 68040

    greytmom

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #10
    Another person here who changes it several times a week... no need to worry.
     
  11. MCube74 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    So changing the straps/bands every day is fine?

    I plan on switching my straps every day to match my wardrobe.
     
  12. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #12
    I've had my watch since April 2015. Change bands almost daily. Still as solid as on day 1.
     
  13. greytmom macrumors 68040

    greytmom

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #13
    Yep, I do it all the time.
     
  14. MCube74 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    Ok cool. That is comforting.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 4, 2016 ---
    thanks.
     
  15. Ruja, Oct 4, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 6, 2016

    Ruja thread starter macrumors regular

    Ruja

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    #15
    It's really great to read that man!
    Thanks for sharing.

    I'm really happy to read all these comments. Thanks!

    I can't wait any more!!!
     
  16. recoil80 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    #16
    You are changing it wrong :D

    I don't think it is a problem to change straps often. Watch was designed from the start to support multiple bands and Apple is happy if you buy a lot of them. For now I'm happy with the rubber band and don't think I'll buy a new one soon, but I'd buy a strap if it had additional functionalities like measuring heart rate better or be able to read other parameters.
    I don't see Watch as a fashion object, some straps are elegant but expensive and if I'm invited to a wedding I prefer wearing a classic watch. But it is just me, Watch is very personal as tastes are
     
  17. Ruja thread starter macrumors regular

    Ruja

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    #17
    Yes, you're right regarding to they're very expensive and for this reason, I'll buy on Amazon or similar places
     
  18. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #18
    How many times must you change it? 0.

    How many times can you change it? Unlimited.
     
  19. Ruja thread starter macrumors regular

    Ruja

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    #19
    Hi,

    Why did you say 0 times MUST be change???
     
  20. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #20
    All this means is you don't necessarily need to change it at all.
     
  21. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #21
    I'm guessing English isn't your first language?

    He was just pointing out that your question should be "How many times CAN I change the watch band?" "Must" is for something you might not want to do, but you need to do it anyway.
     
  22. Julien macrumors G4

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #22
    Read posts #7, 8 & 9.;)
     
  23. BarracksSi Suspended

    BarracksSi

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    #23
    Google Translate fail. Maybe. ;)

    (I've tried Google to translate to Korean; my Korean friends see the result and say, "Uh, that's pretty terrible...")
     
  24. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #24
    Korean <> Japanese seems to work okay. Google translate does better between languages with similar word order.
     
  25. Ruja, Oct 6, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 6, 2016

    Ruja thread starter macrumors regular

    Ruja

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    #25
    Yes, definitely I shouldn't have written MUST. Sorry

    Yes, you're right. I'm Spanish guy and you're right again, I was wrong by writing MUST instead of CAN.

    SORRY for your eyes :)

    No, I didn't use it... and I don't know what I was thinking about in when I wrote that. For sure my level of English is not good enough but this fault.... I don't forgive myself
     

Share This Page