How much RAM does the iPhone 5S have ?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mappyman, Sep 13, 2013.

  1. mappyman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Does anyone know how much RAM the iPhone 5S has?

    Its more important to me than the 64bit processor but its hardly been discussed anywhere.
     
  2. CooKieMoNs7eR macrumors 68000

    CooKieMoNs7eR

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
  3. nutmac macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #3
  4. Troneas macrumors 65816

    Troneas

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Location:
    At the alternatives section.
    #4
    its 1GB.


    had it been two they would have promoted it.
     
  5. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    Not necessarily - Apple have never talked about the amount of RAM at an iPhone keynote, even when the 5 was updated to 1GB.
     
  6. billycuth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
  7. jimbo1mcm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #7
    Reminds me of an old joke where the Rolls owner wants to know how much horsepower he has because his Cadillac friends are boasting. Rolls reply was:
    "Adequate"
     
  8. Zerilos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #8
  9. atlatnesiti macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #9
    Considering 64 bit architecture of A7 CPU and software support in iOS 7, it should be 4GB, I could be wrong though...
    AnandTech will give us the exact info, once they get their hands on it.
     
  10. Zerilos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #10
    It will not be 4GBs. I'd bet money it's not.
     
  11. atlatnesiti macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #11
    ... and you're probably right... ;)
     
  12. stephen1108 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #12
    I will be REALLY mad if it's still 1 GB.. That's ridiculous. iOS 6 never killed apps running in the back on my iPhone 5. iOS 7 always has this issue, if I experience the same thing on the 5s I get, I'll be highly upset.
     
  13. Zerilos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #13
    You were probably using a lot of apps not optimized for iOS 7.
     
  14. billycuth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    #14
    Oh, really?

     
  15. Zerilos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #15
    I read that, but he doesn't explain why he came to that conclusion.
     
  16. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #16
    the author is basing on his/her opinion that its most likely 2GB with no hard evidence. so you're basing your belief on the author's belief.
     
  17. billycuth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    #17
    I'm not basing anything or stating it as fact. I said the article suggested it.

    The guy said nothing in the article suggested it. I pointed out that it did. Thanks for playing.

    Why are people on this site so friggin argumentative all the time???
     
  18. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #18
    My 64 bit Macbook Air came with 2GB, so...

    Physician, heal thyself.
     
  19. borgqueenx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #19
    I doubt 2gb...i think its just 1gb but just faster.
    I would also bet money on this. A person from the cpu topic already noted that part name is almost no different. 2gb would go better with the new gpu but thats now how apple thinks.
     
  20. matttye macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, England
    #20
    No, he said the author of that article doesn't give any reason for believing it has 2GB RAM. You simply misconstrued his post.
     
  21. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #21
    Based on Apple markings, you have to wait for the official A7 tear down.
     
  22. billycuth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    #22
    Touche, you're right. This is the problem sometimes with just reading someone's thoughts instead of hearing them. Especially when you don't know them. Thanks for pointing this out.
     
  23. the8thark macrumors 68040

    the8thark

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #23
    Some non apple person's guess is not a reason.
     
  24. billycuth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    #24
    This is true. I misread the intent of the post.

    That said, the fact that it's 64-bit almost demands it.

    We'll find out after the tear down.
     
  25. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #25
    How much RAM does the iPhone 5S have ?

    I think they would in this circumstance. Something like "And to really utilize the 64 bit processing power the 5S now has xxx amount of RAM" or something along those lines.

    It wasn't mentioned with the 5 because the competition was already pushing passed that.
     

Share This Page