How often do you use Windows on your Mac?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by crazycat, Oct 15, 2007.

?

How often do you use Windows on your Mac?

  1. Daily

    34 vote(s)
    27.9%
  2. Once every few days

    33 vote(s)
    27.0%
  3. Once every few weeks

    19 vote(s)
    15.6%
  4. Once every few months

    12 vote(s)
    9.8%
  5. Never, but i still have an Intel Mac

    11 vote(s)
    9.0%
  6. I dont own an Intel Mac

    13 vote(s)
    10.7%
  1. crazycat macrumors 65816

    crazycat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #1
    How important is running windows on your mac to you and how often do you use it?

    I personally need windows and use it daily, i used to have 2 computers in my home office and now i just run a mac.
     
  2. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #2
    Um... 1 a week tops. I really only use Windows to watch streaming netflix, or to check something real quick... past that, OS X does everything I need.
     
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    When it first came out i used it quite regularly. But over time i really don't need it that often at all. Now it is only every once in a while but tending towards never. I will keep it though on the off chance that i'll need it.

    edit:
    Admittedly i only had a single 1.8 GHz G5 nothing like your dual 2.7 beast but i found VPC to be horrid almost utterly useless. How well does it run. Have you tried Fusion or Parallels on your MBP you'll probably get much better perform if you needed it.
     
  4. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #4
    I use Virtual PC on my PowerMac on a daily basis. I run Quicken in XP and I also rely on Internet Explorer to do browser compatibility testing when I'm working on my website.
     
  5. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #5
    Only very occasionally now.

    I'm only really stuck with 2 programs I need on Windows and I don't use them very often.
     
  6. aristobrat macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #6
    I have to use Windows anytime I'm at home and need to connect back to my work network. The VPN that we use at work isn't well supported on OS X. That's about it. :)
     
  7. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #7
    Wow, I'm surprised at how many people use it. The secondary (perhaps not-to-be asked) question is how many people *paid* for it.
     
  8. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #8
    The years of trouble i had with it and supporting my family's problem is more than enough payment.
     
  9. Carrot007 macrumors regular

    Carrot007

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    #9
    The only mac I use windows on is my macbook (so I don;t have to lug a 2nd laptop around with me)

    I do however use windows most days at home, mostly to play games.

    Actually windows is temporarily installed on my file server also untill I get time to re-install a BSD on it. (to which there is a long dull tale behind) Though since all it does is be a central file store for my various machines to OS really does not matter!
     
  10. GSMiller macrumors 68000

    GSMiller

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #10
    I only use Windows to play a game or do my homework where the CD-ROM doesn't work on OS X. So it's once a week when I'm not addicted to a game, several times a day when I am. Other than that I never use it.
     
  11. jstad macrumors regular

    jstad

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #11
    only reason I have windows is for Visual Studio and Azureus - Shu mod (since it doesnt work on other OS's with the mod)
     
  12. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #12
    I use Windows very infrequently, and only for Winamp (which runs perfectly under CrossOver Mac) - only once every few weeks or so.
     
  13. odinsride macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #13
    Hardly ever...the only reason I need it is to use a guitar tabbing program called Tabit. I'd say once every few weeks...
     
  14. Raid macrumors 68020

    Raid

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto
    #14
    I use Windows once every few days on my Mac, more often than not it's because I want to play BF2. :)

    My copy of XP pro and a Microsoft Office is legit because my boss bought it for me so I can use Excel at home. I do have the Mac version of office, but I'm accustomed to all the key stroke shortcuts in the windows version and it's much faster for me to use that.

    Other than that I don't use Windows that much. Even keeping my usage limited to BF2 and Excel, I find the upkeep required of running a Windows machine (virus scanners, disk defragmenters, firewall programs & spyware checkers) to be a pain!
     
  15. saxman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    #15
    I don't have an Intel Mac, but use Windows occasionally through Virtual PC on my powerbook. It runs like a 300MHz computer, but useable for the occasional Access database I need to open. It definitely does not do graphics. Good for learning patience though
     
  16. queshy macrumors 68040

    queshy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #16
    Once every few weeks...some stuff from my uni doesn't work well on mac for some reason...it requires safari under rosetta which is too slow for my likings...I find parallels works better.
     
  17. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #17
    At least once a week, until the end of race (NASCAR) season. "Raceview" only works in Windows, for now (live, 3D car/track representation).

    Additionally, amateur radio logging software, using serial communications with radio over USB.

    Both applications through Win2K running on Parallels.

    I haven't used it in a while, but I also have XP installed in a Boot Camp partition to run R/C aircraft simulator (RealFlight 3.5). I might run in Parallels, now that it has some 3D support, but RealFlight is very graphics intensive. Runs great on 2.33 MBP booted natively, but I'd probably have to cripple it somewhat to run reasonably in Parallels.
     
  18. sunfast macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #18
    I use XP occasionally on my MacBook for some navigation software and seeing how my website looks in IE. And for playing 3D pinball :p
     
  19. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #19
    I have Windows installed which I have accessible via either Parallels or Boot Camp, however, if something doesn't work on OSX I usually just forget about it instead of bothering with booting Windows.
     
  20. Steve Jobs=God macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #20
    Not used it yet, but i do need it, been looking for a copy of XP to buy but all i can find is the upgrade versions, doing my head in :mad:
     
  21. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #21
    I've only just realised I haven't got round to installing Parallels & Windows on my mini yet and I've had it for nearly a month.

    So that's not very often then :)
     
  22. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #22
    I use NewsBin Pro in a Parallels virtual machine everyday. It's too bad there's no Mac port of NewsBin Pro...
     
  23. atarigraffx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    #23
    i use it for my windows version of Maya 8.5 and Z brush 3
    im a media arts and animation student so most of my homework must be done with those progs
     
  24. ukmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Telford, UK
    #24
    I use Parallels for Win XP at work on my MacBook. I would love to move entirely to OS X but Outlook is critical to my workflow and despite trying access to Exchange through Mail I just couldnt get on with my work in the same way as through Outlook.

    I have never bothered to invest time in trying Entourage as Parallels just works and means all the plugins I need ( Enterprise Vault for Email Archive etc ) just work also.

    --
    Scott
    Visit http://ukmac.net
     
  25. flyinmac macrumors 68030

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States

Share This Page