How to add a system restore point before installing new software on iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by shippouk, Sep 7, 2011.

  1. shippouk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #1
    Hi there
    I was looking at updating to iLife 11, but would like to create some kind of system restore point before doing so in case something goes wrong or in case I do not like the changes, so I can put the Mac back to how it was before.

    Is this possible on a Mac?
    I do not have Time Machine back up to an external hard drive by the way.

    Thanks
     
  2. MacHamster68, Sep 7, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2011

    MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #2
    just run timemachine, as thats what it was meant for ...for backing up your system

    a EXTERNAL backup is a MUST ,

    no point in internal backups (unless you got a Mac Pro and multiple harddrives inside )


    and time machine is much easier and more practical to use then the restore point thing of windows and time machine does the same thing , it creates restore points but much more sophisticated

    (edit)you can use super duper , or carbon copy cloner too , both can even make bootable backups..dont know if they run on Lion
     
  3. shippouk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #3
    What other options do I have to create a kind of SYSTEM RESTORE type point please?
    I have just purchased a 500GB ext HD for Time Machine but am looking for this other solution also.
     
  4. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #4
    Just curious, how or why do you think something would go wrong with installing iLife? It is pretty benign. Install, click and run. Not much else. It does not make any changes to system files. Also, you do know that you need some sort of non local storage for your backup right?
     
  5. shippouk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #5
    Things go wrong all the time with computers. I am NOT a newb to this.
     
  6. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #6
    Then you must be new to searching as this link: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/1641126?start=0&tstart=0 only took me 15 seconds to find using Google.

    Second, no one insinuated that you are a newb. I asked a question based on my multiple, non-newb years of experience as well. I've installed countless apps on Mac OS X as well as Windows. I feel more confident installing on a Mac than Windows.

    Anyway, your answer is supplied within the link I posted. (again 15 seconds).
     
  7. shippouk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #7
    So it seems all I needed was a one word answer to my question:-
    Is this possible on a Mac? - NO
    I searched THIS website (as recommended) but found no answer. Your solution has come from another website.
    Thanks all. This thread can now be closed. But hopefully others will find it useful in the future if they ask the same question.
     
  8. gr8tfly, Sep 7, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2011

    gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #8
    Using Time Machine, make a backup just before making a change to your system and note the time. You can then choose that particular backup if you need to restore your HD.

    Another method is to create a partition the same size or larger than your internal drive, start up using the Recovery HD partition (if you have Lion), or your system restore discs, and use Disk Utility to create an image backup of your internal HD (with Snow Leopard, or earlier versions, make sure to check "erase destination..." to enable block copy).

    When doing the initial partitioning of your external drive, make sure to set the table type to GUID ("Options..." button on the Partiton tab). This will allow you to boot off that drive, if necessary (for instance, if you make an image backup using Restore, it will be bootable).

    Edit: Lion actually does have built-in local backups which are made automatically and sync with Time Machine.

    One reason it doesn't have a specific, built-in, "snapshot" ability (if you exclude Time Machine) is the way Mac apps are installed. Generally, it's simply a matter of trashing the app itself. Any remaining parts are usually in the form of preference files, which are small, unique to that app, and can be eiher ignored, or simply trashed. Apps don't spread out into the system via registry, dlls, etc., the way Windows apps generally do (though, that has improved over the years). You'll find more detailed info on differences between how OS-X and Windows handles things here, and probably those others sites as well. It's not something inherent to the latest version of OS-X, it's been done this way all along.
     
  9. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #9
    Other website. Did you read the link? I didn't pull it out of thin air. I went to the Apple site and got the answer. You are using a Mac right? An Apple product. My God, how hard can it be?
     
  10. MacHamster68, Sep 7, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2011

    MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #10

    edited my post to show other option's


    just looked Carbon Copy Cloner is ready for Lion btw

    i prefer CCC as the backup is bootable so its a matter of just quicky swap the HDD and continue to work
     
  11. Glen Quagmire macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Stop exaggerating. Things don't "go wrong all the time" with computers, and when they do, they're usually as a result of something the user has done.

    Installing a piece of software that comes as standard with new Macs and which hundreds of thousands of other people have installed is not dangerous.

    Incidentally, why do you expect to be able to make a "system restore point" - which is a Windows thing - on an operating system that is *not* Windows? Do you also expect to be able to play Minesweeper and use Notepad?

    Not a newb. Right.
     
  12. xkmxkmxlmx macrumors 6502a

    xkmxkmxlmx

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    #12
    It's because his iLife is probably not legit, duh. I would be worried too :/

    If it is legit, I have to wonder what you have done up until this point for other apps. Because I would be more worried about installing third party than officially bought first party apple products. If it was indeed "bought"...
     
  13. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #13
    Too funny but possibly true. That was the point of my question in the first place.
     

Share This Page