How to check your iBoot version in Windows (or Mac)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by thelatinist, Nov 5, 2009.

  1. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #1
    I know people have been asking all over the board, so here's the answer, courtesy phoeny at the Dev-Team blog:

    And, for those who don't know, on a Mac the procedure is:

     
  2. kAoTiX macrumors 6502

    kAoTiX

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #2
    Once in DFU mode, where do you go from here. You're now stuck with your phone in DFU mode and will have to restore surely? All just to find the bootrom version.

    The info works though, I tried it on one of my other iPhones so thanks.
     
  3. thelatinist thread starter macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #3
    Why would you have to restore? You can get out of DFU mode by holding down the home button and the power button for about 10 seconds. If your phone is connected to your computer you'll hear a beep as when a USB device is disconnected. Then just press the power button and your phone will start up as usual.

    And there are very good reasons one might want to check his iBoot version. People who bought iPhones around week 40 need to know whether they have the new version of iBoot, which requires a tethered jailbreak.
     
  4. kAoTiX macrumors 6502

    kAoTiX

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #4
    I thought you had to restore to get out of DFU mode. When ever I've gone into DFU mode and rebooted it took me to the recovery screen telling me to plug into iTunes.
     
  5. thelatinist thread starter macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    If you get into a boot loop doing this, you can get out of it using iRecovery.
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    I have never had a problem getting out of DFU mode by using the Home + Power keys to start a reboot.
     
  7. thelatinist thread starter macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #7
    Neither have I. But if kAoTiX has this problem, iRecovery should fix it. It's not like putting your phone in DFU mode actually erases anything.
     
  8. B737 macrumors 6502a

    B737

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    #8
    what iboot number will it say if you have the new pita bootrom?
     
  9. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #9
    359.32 or 359.3.2

    I think it's the first one, anyway, if it doesn't have a 2 on the end, your good (359.3)
     
  10. B737 macrumors 6502a

    B737

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    #10
    thanks lizard!
    my friend just got a 3GS two days ago, i almost jb it until i read about the tethering restriction on the new bootrom. But the phone was purchased at ATT store, and when i checked it, it still had 3.1 installed.... if the OS wasnt updated to 3.1.2 i have a hunch maybe theres a chance it may be older stock, and have the older bootrom. heres to hoping... i'll look today.
     
  11. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #11
    Probably, must be a slower AT&T store to see 3.1 still

    Did you check the 4th & 5th characters of the serial # to see what week it was made ??

    XX936 and below is golden
     
  12. MinuteDreamer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #12
    Hi guys :)

    Just in case anyone's looking to this thread as a reference, the instructions didn't work for me. (I'm on WinXP, with a 3GS)

    Specifically, when I went to look in the details panel, I didn't have a "Device Instance Path" as a drop down option. I had something close, "Device Instance Code" or something like that, but it didn't have the iBoot version information.

    BUT I was able to use usbview (instead of device manager) to figure it out. USBview is one of the tools you use to get your ECID when you're using umbrella to generate a backup shsh in case you want to reinstall an old firmware after Apple decides it doesn't want to let you anymore.

    I'm not sure if we're allowed to post links in this forum, so if you're looking for usbview, you can google for: "howto usbview ecid shsh umbrella" to see how it's used for iPhones.

    Oh, and the Power+Home button trick worked just fine for me for getting out of DFU mode.
     
  13. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #13
    Links are fine as long as it's not pirated software.
     
  14. MinuteDreamer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #14
  15. Aznheat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #15
    What is tethered jailbreaking? If I have the new bootrom, does that mean it's hopeless... for now :D...

    Anyways, I haven't been able to jailbreak my 3Gs, with ANY method. Always run into the 16XX errors. Windows and Mac. :(
     
  16. extece macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #16
    I don't get it.

    Mine is:

    USB\VID_05AC&PID_1281\CPID:8920_CPRV:15_CPFM:03_SCEP:03_BDID:00_ECID:00000XXXXXXXXXXX_IBFL:01_SRNM:[XXX40XXXXXX]_IMEI:[0119XXXXXXXXXXXX]


    I don't see where the Boot Rom Id is.

    I have tried this on WinXP Pro and Windows Seven.
     
  17. iPhone-power macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #17
    That is the display from Recovery Mode not DFU Mode.

    While you have it, make note of your ECID # as it can be needed for some 3GS restores using SHSH.
     
  18. extece macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
  19. iPhone-power macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #19
    You can always sell that one and get a gently used 2 month old 3GS with old bootrom. I just picked up 2 pristine 3GS's with older baseband (for wife and I)
     
  20. scirica macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #20
    You can hold out for a non-tethered jb some day, but I'd do what others have done, sell and buy slightly used!
     
  21. mikk76 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #21
    hi guys, i followed the tips detailed in the post #1 and i returned this info :confused:

    Anyone can hep me to understand if i have new iboot?

    [​IMG]
     
  22. macrumors-james macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    #22
    didn't work for me

    didn't work for me, there is no "Device Instance Path" listed and i'm definitely in DFU mode. Refurb 3gs from Black Friday '09

    See photos:
    [​IMG]

    -----------

    [​IMG]

    EDIT: i'm attaching the photos too incase the above photos go offline

    EDIT: nevermind, DFU does not work on 3GS: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=747363 :(:mad::confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  23. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #23
    Recovery Mode and DFU are different. The phone MUST BE in DFU mode not in Recovery Mode.
     
  24. macrumors-james macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    #24
  25. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community

Share This Page