How to configure backup

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by LuckyButtons, Sep 21, 2010.

1. LuckyButtons macrumors member

Hi,

I have previously sort of asked about this within someone else's thread, so apologies to anyone who may have already seen a convoluted version of the below.

Basically, I am about to buy a 2010 Mac Pro 6 core. Due to many of the MacRumors posters, I have been advised to buy my drives and RAM from OWC, which I shall do. I am now trying to figure out just what I should buy, and how I would then set up for backup.

So first, I will tell you what I already have on hand... I'm running a G5 with the internal 230gb drive (holds system, apps, photos, iTunes), an external 512gb LaCie (holds all my work) and and external 2TB LaCie that used only to back up the other two, using Retrospect. (it is partitioned in half and one half is just about full. Truth be told, I don't really understand the backup process and it was set up by someone else.)

I am a graphic designer and keep needing more space to store and back up work.

So I am planning for sure to buy an SSD - 200gb OWC Mercury Pro RE
    Then the MP will come with the 1TB drive.
    Should I get another internal 1TB or 2TB drive from OWC, even if I have the external now?

Once I know what I should get, I then am confused about how it all gets backed up. I've always heard the backup drive needs to be MUCH larger than the sum of the drives it is backing up. Is that true? If so, do I need 1 drive that is bigger than 2TB for everything to go on, or can it be split up??

Thanks in advance for any assistance!!

2. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

Sean Dempsey

I've never heard that you need a backup larger than your drives.

If you have a 200gb SSD, and a 1TB drive, how full is the 1TB?

Your backup only needs to be as big as your data, with maybe a little room for growth.