iPod touch How to do Virtual Memory modding?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Thetonyk123, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #1
    I've been looking online and I can't find a guide that works for iOS 6. I know the dangers of VM modding but is there a reliable way to do it on iOS 6?
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Knowing the dangers, the question that still stands is: Why?
     
  3. Thetonyk123 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #3
    The iPod touch 4 has little ram and I want to speed it up a little. By the time my flash memory dies I will probably have a new one.
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    I don't know exactly how to go on doing that, but this would be a question more directly and oriented toward a hacking community. Here we can help you with your jailbreak, but this advanced requires more knowledge than you'll find here on MR.

    I suggest you go to Hackti0sh.org and look for the iPhone Hacks section. There, actual iPhone heavy duty modders will be glad to help.
     
  5. Thetonyk123 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #5
    Thanks, will do.
     
  6. Auxo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Location:
    A³tweaks
    #6
    Interesting to say at least!
    Update us back here when you've made contact with the hackers.

    Add the iPhone 5 into the equation, please. :)
     
  7. Thetonyk123 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    On the other threads I read online they said it does not work on A5 and up devices unfortunately. Hopefully there is other news for, them!
     
  8. Eclipse538 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    #8
    I have done this on my 3gs, and it works quite well. But im not sure if it will work on the ipod 4, which processor does my 3gs have?
     
  9. Thetonyk123 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #9
    The 3GS has a 800mhz Samsung processor. (The processor is under clocked to 600mhz)
     
  10. regkilla macrumors 6502

    regkilla

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #10
    How about this: Get rid of that low RAM, weak iDevice and get an iPhone 4 at least. I wish Apple would have never released that piece of junk. iPod Touch 4th gen owners feel modern games like N.O.V.A. 3 should run smooth on their weak iPod Touches.


    UPGRADE!
     
  11. Thetonyk123 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #11
    Yeah because everyone has that much money right now...
     
  12. regkilla macrumors 6502

    regkilla

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #12
    The iPhone 4 is very cheap now.
     

Share This Page