How To: Enable tethering on 3.1.2

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by The General, Oct 18, 2009.

  1. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #1
    These instructions are of OS X. I used Snow Leopard, I don't know if Leopard ships with bspatch or not, but if it does then you should be good. Also, make sure you have MobileTerminal installed on your phone.

    First get this file and put CommCenter.patch on your Desktop:
    3G S: http://iphwn.org/CommCenter_3gs_312.zip
    3G: http://iphwn.org/CommCenter_3g_312.zip

    Copy /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/CoreTelephony.framework/Support/CommCenter to your Desktop also.

    Open the Terminal and:

    cd Desktop
    bspatch CommCenter CommCenter-hacked CommCenter.patch

    Now go ahead and delete CommCenter now from your Desktop and rename CommCenter-hacked to just CommCenter.

    Rename CommCenter on your iPhone to CommCenter.backup in case something bad happens, so you have a backup.

    Copy the new CommCenter to your iPhone.

    SSH into your iPhone or use MobileTerminal as root and chmod +x the new CommCenter so that it's executable.

    Restart your phone.

    Hit this link from Safari on your iPhone
    http://m.peacefulinsanity.com/Tether.mobileconfig





    Or just wait a few hours or til tomorrow when this is packaged properly and available through cydia.
     
  2. impulse462 Suspended

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
  3. edrojo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    #3
    Got NO IP

    Hi. I did everything as described. However my PC and macbook didn`t get IP address from Iphone. I tried USB and BT without success. Any ideas? Thanks
     
  4. azboricua macrumors 6502a

    azboricua

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona
    #4
    What is this going to be called in cydia? so that I can check for it.
     
  5. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #5
    Sooo.. I need to update to 3.1.2?
    I'm on 3.1 and wanted to avoid updating until 3.2 came out...
     
  6. edrojo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    #6
    It is not cydia app. Any solution for ip issue?
     
  7. edrojo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    #8
    I'm don't want the mywi method I'm taking about hacking commcenter
     
  8. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    Looks like it's working great for you ;)

    The MiWi method is to install and remove it. Basically it does the same thing... just easier.
     
  9. BrunaBlommor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    #10
    I cannot make it work either.

    edit: I found this: http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=7993753&postcount=2
    thank you pattoniscool, now it works!
     
  10. The General thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #11
    Eh. I'm not going to install rock your iphone and something else just to do a simple hack.

    I can't help you with the IP issue. I have no idea what is causing that.

    Hacking commcenter is pretty easy already... :rolleyes:
     
  11. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    Seems easy enough for me, but Terminalphobic people may have trouble ;)
     
  12. danb77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #13
    Works for me in the UK!

    Thanks very very much. :-D
     
  13. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #14
    Worked for me. Posting this from my tethered MBP.

    Assuming you named your original CommCenter "..-BAK" you can use iFile to set the permissions on the hacked file by just matching your -BAK.

    Remember to reboot, not just respring.
     
  14. edrojo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    #15
    People with no IP issue, I found a solution. It seems that the Iphone didn't assign IP address to the computer on DHCP mode so I used manual assigment:
    IP: 192.168.20.2
    Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Gateway: 192.168.20.1

    DNS: 172.27.10.74
    secondary DNS 201.193.78.6

    Let me know, it is working fine :D
     
  15. corriewf macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
  16. edrojo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    #17
    You can HEX edit the CommCenter file and voila or use the MyWi method
     
  17. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #18
    This is for a manual setup of the Ethernet, is that correct as I don't see any way to manually enter this info under the iPhone choice in Network
     
  18. edrojo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    #19
    Yep, it is for the manual setting of the ethernet. I worked for me just try it and let me know

    thnks
     
  19. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #20
    What's funny is that right after I tested my tethering the internet went out, and while I knew the two were unrelated all i could think was, "great i finally borked something ****** with my phone'" :D
     
  20. scottuf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    NPB, FL
  21. damesJ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
  22. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #23
    No go for me. Every step of this tethering has been an uphill battle.

    Don't really need it, just thought I would get it going just in case.

    All I get in the way of recognition on Mac is iPhone with self assigned IP so you will not be able to connect to Internet.

    Can't get Ethernet to recognize the iPhone or the USB connection.

    And now the iPhone doesn't even enable tethering when I flip the switch.

    Was working OK earlier. This whole thing is half ass with my phone.

    Thanks for your assistance.
     
  23. edrojo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    #24
    I had the same problem, it was a nightmare for me but at least I worked. Did you try to install the mobile conf file from Benm.at site?
     

Share This Page