How to fix my split Fusion Drive (iMac) using Mojave

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lawful, Jun 11, 2019.

  1. lawful macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    #1
    I've tried Apple explanation and it didn't work: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT207584

    My mistake was to erase all volumes with Disk Utility to perform a fresh install and now I don't know how to fix muy Fusion Drive. Thank in advance for reading my post and for your time.
     
  2. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #2
    You say you've followed Apple's instructions - what went wrong in that process?
    Please post the output of diskutil list

    Beware that re-fusing will erase all data.
     
  3. lawful thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    #3
    Thank you for your help

    IMG_0137.JPG
     
  4. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
  5. priitv8 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #5
  6. lawful thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    #6
  7. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #7
    The issue with the reset command. Was that it was seeing too many drives and didn’t know which to use.
     
  8. lawful thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    #8
    Ok thank you and how do I solve it?
     
  9. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #9

    As requested, send output of diskutil list and I will instruct further.
     
  10. lawful thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    #10
    [​IMG]
     
  11. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #11
    Run the following commands in order. If you get an error, stop, and post it.

    diskutil ap deleteContainer disk2
    diskutil ap createContainer -main disk0 -secondary disk1

    You've now created an APFS container fusing the drives. We aren't quite done though, cause there's no volume in the container
    Run diskutil list again, and locate the one named "synthesised". In your last screenshot it was disk3, but it may have changed now - that's why you need to run and check again. Then run

    diskutil ap addVolume disk# APFS [name of new drive]
    replacing # by the number of the synthesised disk and [name of new drive] with the name you'd like for the volume. If you want spaces in the name, but it in quotes "".
     
  12. lawful thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    #12
    I did already solve it!! Thank you very much
     
  13. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #13

    Good to hear. You're welcome anyway :).
     
  14. lawful thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    #14
    Thank you again!
     

Share This Page

13 June 11, 2019