how to fix push notifications on unlocked iphone 3g?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by poohbear19, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. poohbear19 macrumors regular

    poohbear19

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #1
    Hi everyone

    I am really sick of not getting push notifications on my phone. It
    is no fun without push :(. I bought a used iPhone 3g that was already unlocked (with ultrasn0w) and jailbroken on version 3.1.3 and modem firmware 5.12.01. I tried Push Doctor and Push Fix but none of them worked.

    So I want to do that "restoring, activating the At&t sim card method, jailbreak and unlock, and insert t-mobile sim" method. I read instructions on how to do it in order somewhere but I don't remember what site it is. does anyone know the site for that? or does anyone know of other ways to fix push on an unlocked iphone 3g?

    how do i keep the 3.1.3 when i restore it? everytime i try to restore it forces you to update but i dont want to brick my already unlocked iphone. thanks!:confused:
     
  2. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #2
    There have been some updates recently. Hactivation and the pitfalls it brings has been replaced with SAM. Subscriber Activation Module should be available in Cydia. I believe you need to uninstall your hactivation first, latest red snow does this.

    Not an expert, just been pouring over the new info on http://blog.iphone-dev.org/ a lot recently, please go read it yourself before doing something.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    I'd go with official activation instead of any hacks no matter what. If u can get your hands on an AT&T sim restore to 3.1.3 again, activate with that sim, jailbreak with redsnow and install ultrasnow from Cydia to unlock.
     
  4. poohbear19 thread starter macrumors regular

    poohbear19

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #4
    yes but how do i restore the iphone without it updating??
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Download the 3.1.3 ipsw and hold down shift or option key and click restore thru iTunes. Then it will let u select the ipsw you downloaded and restore with that.
     
  6. poohbear19 thread starter macrumors regular

    poohbear19

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #6
    just wondering before i start.. have you had experience with this before?
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  8. poohbear19 thread starter macrumors regular

    poohbear19

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #8
    i have read their blog before already.
     
  9. poohbear19, Dec 16, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2010

    poohbear19 thread starter macrumors regular

    poohbear19

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #9
    Hi Applejuiced,
    ok cool so u got your push notifications to work on your iphone 3g? what unlock and jailbreak did you use?
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    I use an old deactive AT&T sim to activate officially after the restore.
    Then run redsnow to JB and install ultrasnow from cydia to unlock.
     
  11. poohbear19 thread starter macrumors regular

    poohbear19

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #11
    Hi applejuiced!

    ok well after many times of asking this same question i finally started today restored (not in recoverymode) with a 3.1.3 ipsw file and an old At&T sim card inside. so i just turned it on and it says waiting for activation this may take some time. Am i supposed to dismiss it? when is it ok to start jailbreaking?
     
  12. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #12
    Should activate itself in a minute or two. Also seems it will activate with an iPad sim in the phone, I accidentally left that in when I was doing mine yesterday.
     
  13. poohbear19 thread starter macrumors regular

    poohbear19

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #13
    hi applejuiced, Omg i tried everything from restoring with 3.1.3 ipsw, installing redsn0w 0.9.4 with the 3.1.2 ipsw cuz that's what youtube said to do, selecting install cydia, downloaded ultrasn0w through adding source repo666.ultrasn0w.com, ALL with the att sim card inside, turned off my iphone, took out the at&t sim card, inserted the tmobile sim , turning it on, said your phone is activated! what am i doing wrong? tried text app, and it still doesn't work!!!!! can u give me an app that push works on for texting? how can other people's push work through this method but not mine!!!
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    If you activated with your AT&T sim and then JB the iphone and unlocked then your push will work fine.
    What text app doesnt work?
     
  15. poohbear19 thread starter macrumors regular

    poohbear19

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #15
    well i don't know what people mean when they say activate an at&t SIM. i just stuck it in there and it asked waiting for activation or something with a dismiss button, but it never found it, it kept searching so i just went right ahead to jailbreaking it.
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Yes and it let u into the homescreen after that right? You're activated then. Your YouTube app works fine right?
     
  17. poohbear19, Dec 18, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010

    poohbear19 thread starter macrumors regular

    poohbear19

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #17
    yeah it let me into the homescreen and it said no signal at the top. (youtube) it worked before i did this whole activation thing but i only tried it just now after i downloaded push doctor and push still doesnt work either. what am i doing wrong? is it the version i picked to download?
     
  18. poohbear19, Dec 18, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010

    poohbear19 thread starter macrumors regular

    poohbear19

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #18
  19. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #19
    I don't know what I am doing, but my phone just activated itself after a minute with an att sim installed. You get two messages, one saying it needs to activate and will take a minute and another saying it is activated.
     
  20. poohbear19 thread starter macrumors regular

    poohbear19

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #20
    mine doesnt say it is activated just the first message.
     
  21. poohbear19 thread starter macrumors regular

    poohbear19

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #21
    r u using tmobile tho?
     
  22. chargit macrumors 6502a

    chargit

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    Evansville, In
    #22
    yes Applejuiced does know what he is talking about. you used a very outdated youtube video because it used an outdated redsnow. everything juice told you is correct. maybe you should find someone locally to help you. not everyone can do the jailbreak stuff.

    what push notifications are you not getting. your not really giving enough info.
     
  23. poohbear19, Dec 18, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010

    poohbear19 thread starter macrumors regular

    poohbear19

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #23
    well i don't know if it is outdated or not. I just searched on google for "redsn0w 3.1.3" because my fw is 3.1.3 and 0.9.4 came up so i used that. same for youtube. i don't know anyone except my cousin but he lives far away now. I am not getting any notifications. I know they are supposed to work though because my cousin has the same apps and her's works.

    What i also noticed was that when I put my inactive At&t sim card in notifications work but when i put back the T-mobile sim card it doesn't work. Trust me I've tested on my self through mutiple accounts on Yahoo!messenger on computer with and without the at&t and tombile sim card

    please im me at crushed_dreams12@yahoo.com
     
  24. chargit macrumors 6502a

    chargit

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    Evansville, In
  25. poohbear19 thread starter macrumors regular

    poohbear19

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #25
    windows

    would you like me to send you links i downloaded the redsn0w and firmwares from?
     

Share This Page