How to flash Nvidia GTX 780 Ti

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mastermamo, Jan 17, 2017.

  1. mastermamo macrumors member

    mastermamo

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Location:
    Cape Town South Africa
    #1
    Does anyone know a stable safe method to flash a GTX 780Ti?
    I have a GT120 as my boot screen GPU and the 780 as the card for AE etc.
    System spec:
    Mac Pro 2012 5.1 6 3.03Ghz
    OS Yosemite
    64 gig RAM

    I haven't delved into flashing before so consider me a total noob when explaining.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    I don't think anyone can flash that particular card. I don't think even MVC offers service for it.
     
  3. joot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    #3
    Is this card better than the gtx 680 in terms of CUDA for Premiere? I'm debating between the two.
     
  4. mastermamo thread starter macrumors member

    mastermamo

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Location:
    Cape Town South Africa
    #4
    Yes it's better in my opinion but has a higher power demand. On Premiere it runs brilliantly and can manage 4K playback relatively comfortably.
     
  5. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #5
    I think he doesn't sell that card because it needs 6+8 power plugs and will shutdown macpro under load without additional psu. He can flash it tho.
     
  6. mastermamo thread starter macrumors member

    mastermamo

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Location:
    Cape Town South Africa
    #6
    I haven't had any issue with the power drain from this card even under heavy loads when rendering. Seems stable enough with the normal PSU
     
  7. zozomester macrumors newbie

    zozomester

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    #8
    There is no public Mac rom for Reference GTX 780?
     
  8. Theophany macrumors 6502a

    Theophany

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    NW London.
    #9
    Nope. Given the work that MVC puts into flashing these cards I don't blame him for keeping it private to make some cashola. It's not just a case of flashing the ROM, sometimes additional soldering work is required.
     
  9. Filin Contributor

    Filin

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Location:
    Ukraine
    #10
    Stock flash chip doesn't have enough free space for additional EFI bios. MVC replace it with different.
    Also after that you can't read/write bios of this card with standard software.
     
  10. zozomester macrumors newbie

    zozomester

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    #11
    Damage:(
     

Share This Page