How to get MMS working on O2 - step by step

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by JamesBerry, Jun 9, 2009.

  1. JamesBerry macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #1
    1. Make sure that you are on 3.0 GM
    2. Go to Settings / General / Reset / Reset Network Settings
    3. When rebooted, check Settings / General / Network / Cellular Data

    It should now have an APN of idata.o2.co.uk for each of data, MMS, and Visual Voicemail
    4. Send a text message containing the word "MMS" to 1010
    5. You will soon receive a picture message from O2 telling you it is all working

    Good luck guys!
     
  2. peteryan7hao macrumors regular

    peteryan7hao

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    melbourne
    #2
    awesome tutorial!

    though Im not from UK or using O2 LOL
     
  3. JamesBerry thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #3
    I just saw a lot of people struggling with the old MMS settings, not realising that GM contained a new setup for O2 that contains a brand new APN for iPhones...
     
  4. cap'njack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #4
    Cheers! I'll remember this thread on the 17th!!
     
  5. magga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    #5
    Doesn't work for me :(

    Still shows wap.o2.co.uk for VV, mobile.o2.co.uk for CD and wap.o2.co.uk for MMS.

    I still get a reply from o2 saying setting up picture messaging doesn't seem to be working...

    I don't understand why this seems to be working for everyone except me?!
     
  6. JamesBerry thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #6
    After you have reset network settings the settings should be:

    Cellular data

    APN idata.o2.co.uk
    Username vertigo
    Password password

    Visual Voicemail

    APN idata.o2.co.uk
    Username vertigo
    Password password

    MMS

    APN idata.o2.co.uk
    Username vertigo
    Password password
    MMSC http://mmsc.mms.o2.co.uk:8002
    MMS Proxy 193.113.200.195:8080
    MMS Max Message Size 307200
     
  7. macgrl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
  8. Accoladeuk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #8
    If i leave it on that settins then my data doesnt work for safari or the internet. i have to change it to mobile.o2.co.uk

    im on o2 simplicity
     
  9. ImAliveUK macrumors member

    ImAliveUK

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Kings Cross, London UK
    #9
    thats what my settings are and still nothing. Even text mms to 02 and had a reply and nothing. :-(
     
  10. ImAliveUK macrumors member

    ImAliveUK

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Kings Cross, London UK
    #10
    Me too - i'm on pay monthly
     
  11. JamesBerry thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #11
    Safari, visual voicemail, everything working using those settings. It must be a difference on the O2 side - mine is a pay monthly contract

    best wishes
    James
     
  12. Accoladeuk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #12
    i just use, mobile for CD, wap for VV, and wap for mms. then i text mms to 1010 , and now everything is working :)
     
  13. 4hundred4tyfour macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #13
    have received mms from o2, the picture saying its working, but cannot send out? Any ideas?
     
  14. Accoladeuk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #14
    just noticed, mine is doing the same :(
     
  15. 4hundred4tyfour macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #15
    now i am gettin the error message saying it didnt send but the person i sent it do DID get the MMS
     
  16. Accoladeuk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #16
    thats strange :( - i wonder if its worth ringing o2 ?

    i just dont know how id explain im on os 3.0 lol
     
  17. Aron Peterson macrumors member

    Aron Peterson

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Kaufman TX, NY and England
    #17
    It is supposed to configure automatically. O2 detects you have 3.0 installed and sends you a test MMS message to which you confirm OK that it shows correctly.
     
  18. TPMann GB macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    South West England
    #18
    Installed 3.0 GM this morning, text MMS to 1010 and it now works perfectly!

    Sent and received pictures today, haven't tried audio yet.

    Wish there was a way to enable Tethering- those prices are extortionate for the 1 or 2 times when I would actually need it!
     
  19. magga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    #19
    Seriously, don't bother - they are completely clueless. The woman I spoke to previously didn't even know what the Apple Developer Programme was.
     
  20. 4hundred4tyfour macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #20
    yeah i called them and they said they had no setting because MMS is available on the iphone, im now not receiving MMS either. Any on PayG got some settings that are working for sending and receiving?


    EDIT: JUST RECEIVED AN MMS
     
  21. Accoladeuk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #21
    Could people on o2 simplicity, please confirm your settings for network and also the steps you have taken to get the phone to work correctly :)

    thank you
     
  22. magga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    #22
    Tethering works ok on mine, when you say you can't enable it, do you mean it's not in the setting screen?
     
  23. 4hundred4tyfour macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #23
    I sent a text to 1010 saying MMS and it then send a few back and eventually a picture saying MMS was enabled, i then sent a few mms that failed then on worked now everything is working.

    Settings are:
    APN: payandgo.o2.co.uk
    UN: vertigo
    PW: password
    MMSC: http://mmsc.mms.o2.co.uk:8002
    MMS proxy: 193.113.200.195:8080
    MMS max msg size: 307200
    MMS UA prof URL: <blank>
     
  24. 4hundred4tyfour macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #24
    teathering was on my screen and now isnt after trying to enable
     
  25. Accoladeuk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #25
    Thanks :D mines working now, but ive got mobile.o2.co.uk - wonder which is the right one lol
     

Share This Page