How to Install the macOS Mojave Public Beta

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Jun 27, 2018.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Apple has released the first public beta of macOS Mojave, the next major version of its Mac operating system due to launch in the fall. The availability of the public beta means Mac users don't need to be part of the Apple Developer Program to be able to download and test the software. This article shows you how it's done.

    [​IMG]

    Before continuing, a word of warning: We don't recommend installing the macOS Mojave Public Beta on your main Mac. The stability of beta software cannot be guaranteed, as it often contains bugs and issues that have yet to be ironed out, so you're better off using a test machine to avoid any potential data loss.

    macOS Mojave is a major update that introduces a range of new features like a Dark Mode, Desktop and Finder improvements, new apps, and a revamped Mac App Store, but not every Mac that can run macOS High Sierra will run macOS Mojave. The full list of compatible Mac models is as follows:
    [*]MacBook (Early 2015 or newer)
    [*]MacBook Air (Mid 2012 or newer)
    [*]MacBook Pro (Mid 2012 or newer)
    [*]Mac mini (Late 2012 or newer)
    [*]iMac (Late 2012 or newer)
    [*]iMac Pro (2017)
    [*]Mac Pro (Late 2013, plus mid 2010 and mid 2012 models with recommended Metal-capable GPU)Bear in mind that if you decide you want to revert back to your previous setup after testing the Mojave beta, you will need to erase the beta partition and perform a new macOS High Sierra installation.


    Click here to read more...

    Article Link: How to Install the macOS Mojave Public Beta
     
  2. writevli macrumors member

    writevli

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium
  3. Sovon Halder, Jun 27, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2018

    Sovon Halder macrumors 6502

    Sovon Halder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Location:
    India
    #3
    Can anyone confirm if this beta is actually that buggy or not?
     
  4. WBRacing macrumors 6502a

    WBRacing

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Nice article for sure, but I do think that if someone really needs it then they probably shouldn't be installing beta software.
     
  5. DanielDD macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Location:
    Portugal
    #5
    Is there any issue if I make a partition and install it there?
     
  6. theluggage macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #6
    Finding that out is what beta test programmes are supposed to be about... although it sometimes gets forgotten in this age of (fr)agile development.
     
  7. justperry macrumors G3

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #7
    Emphasis on ERASE:

    This is simply not (completely) true, you could use Time Machine to undo the installation, and there are more methodes like Carbon Copy Cloner amongst others.
     
  8. MarkB786 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Location:
    Rocky Mountains, USA
    #8
    Hoping for great things. Now, please update the Mac line! Ready to buy a new laptop.
     
  9. justperry macrumors G3

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #9
    I've said it before here, it's by far the best beta OS release since it's inception about 2 decades ago.
     
  10. C DM macrumors Sandy Bridge

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #10
    It's not really about the bugginess of it, but just more of a general commentary about it being a beta.
     
  11. Sovon Halder macrumors 6502

    Sovon Halder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Location:
    India
    #11
    Cool! I'm upgrading tonight.
     
  12. FrankeeD macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #12
    I installed Mojave on a Mid-2012 MBP (the oldest MBP that it will run on). I have a SSD in the main drive bay and a 7200 rpm Western Digital drive in the optical bay, and installed it on the spinning drive. It's painfully slow because it's on a spinning drive (which is why I have Sierra on the SSD). The biggest issue is that it tells me that I don't have any Wi-Fi hardware installed, so of course I can't connect to the internet. The card type is:
    AirPort Extreme (0x14E4, 0xF5) Has anyone else had this happen?
     
  13. Guy Clark Suspended

    Guy Clark

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Location:
    London United Kingdom.
    #13
    Went like a breeze on my late 2015 21.5" 4k iMac. Upgrading from High Sierra which was on an HFS+ partition it converted to APFS during the upgrade. I created a USB installation stick
    http://osxdaily.com/2018/06/11/make-macos-mojave-beta-boot-install-usb-drive/

    Follow directions for the Public Beta and make a Time Machine Backup First.
     
  14. Klaatu63 macrumors regular

    Klaatu63

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #14
    The first question you ask yourself in the Beta program is how do I fall back. Over the years I have placed my fate into the hands of Carbon Copy Cloner (CCC). Too date I have only had to fall back twice and in both cases CCC delivered.
     
  15. justperry, Jun 27, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2018

    justperry macrumors G3

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #15
    Do make a backup in case something goes wrong, as one should always do.

    In my case it went well on my 2012 MBP but not on my MacMini of the same year, this though is not Apple's fault.
    I have an SSD and a HD inside, I installed Windows on one but didn't use Bootcamp, instead I Partitioned the disks myself, it's not a corestorage partition and on top of that it had filevault on, I did a High Sierra Install last year and it got hosed, this time I forgot to switch off Filefvault on it and again it got hosed.
    But, this was a very special case, I heard few people complaining about a hosed system after installing the beta so you are most likely not affected, and again, this wasn't Apple's fault.


    I have the same machine, that is the 13", you might try this:

    Go to /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration
    Make a copy of that folder to the Desktop
    Delete the /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration Folder
    Restart
    You will lose all network settings so you have to input them again.
    If the above didn't work you can put the folder back and restart again to restore what you had before.
    SIP needs to be off for this be able to change anything in the Library Folder.
    If you don't know what that is you have to options, ask here again how to disable SIP or just wait for a fix.



    I thought CCC wasn't completely compatible with Mojave or APFS just yet.
     
  16. emm386 macrumors 6502

    emm386

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    #16
    Right...like Apple "guarantees" the stability of their final operating systems...
     
  17. iamtheonlyone4ever, Jun 27, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 23, 2018

    iamtheonlyone4ever Suspended

    iamtheonlyone4ever

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    #17
    thanks for the useful command
    is incredible how can someone creates a guide on how to install Mac OS beta
    and don't even include that basic piece of information
    which is in most cases necessary
    just to be fair I look at the main post and I didn't found that information
    I double check and I still didn't find it
    so if I missed I apologies
    but I have the one you posted
    thanks

    there are a few ways to install Mac OS beta
    a person can upgrade
    a person can clean install on a separate drive
    also some people likes to create a bootable pen drive
    just in case
    always keep that in mind
     
  18. Sovon Halder, Jun 27, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2018

    Sovon Halder macrumors 6502

    Sovon Halder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Location:
    India
    #18
    I tried to do a time machine backup with an empty 64GB usb-c pen drive formatted to required file system. But it threw an error saying not enough space. Holy crap! I wonder how much space it consumes. * I excluded every media file I downloaded or other stuff that I downloaded.

    EDIT: After excluding Steam game apps. And reviewing approximate backup size from Time machine, I'm doing a backup now. But it's too damn slow. :(
     
  19. justperry, Jun 27, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2018

    justperry macrumors G3

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #19
    Command-I on the disk, or right click on the disk "show info", this will show you how much space is in use.

    You could slim down the disk, it will shave a few Gigabytes of it, also, you might have a local backup on your disk which can also be quite big.
    Download an app so you know where the big files are, maybe you can slim it down so you can fit it on a 64GB USB stick.
    Grandperspective is an older app, free and does the job, chose your disk to be scanned, after some time it will show you where the big files are.
     
  20. Sovon Halder macrumors 6502

    Sovon Halder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Location:
    India
    #20
    I took the risk of not making a backup (cause it's slow).

    Installed macOS Mojave. Took longer than usual macos upgrade.

    The Problem :: Only that the cursor was gone after the installation menu where they ask about Analytics report etc. I had to restart and those menus didn't come again. Couldn't see what kind of welcome message Apple put there.
     
  21. Sovon Halder macrumors 6502

    Sovon Halder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Location:
    India
    #21
    if anyone is looking...

    It does slow down computer. Noticeably.

    I installed it on my 2017 13" TB model and I can clearly see that things started to become sluggish. Stuff like app opening time, system information access time, preferences pane opening time & the apps within it etc.

    Hope it's because of beta & they would fix it in the final release.

    EDIT: In the brief 15 minutes I used last night, the Dark Mode blew me away. Holy Jeez. It's 10 times better than what I expected. Beautiful for eyes.
     
  22. apolkowski macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Location:
    Poland, Warsaw and Masurian Lake District
    #22
    Does it work with VMWare Fusion? I tried with my ancient Mac Mini of 2014 (yet the most current one ;-)) and decided to go back to HS because of a long list of apps indicated as not compatible. I do not want to try with MBP where I have Fusion installed as long as VM is not supported.
     
  23. redheeler macrumors 604

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #23
    18A314k while the developer beta 2 is 18A314h. So they are basically the same.
     
  24. s15119 macrumors 65816

    s15119

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #24
    Yes. It's a BETA - it has bugs.
     
  25. justperry macrumors G3

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #25
    After installing a new OS it might be awhile before it's back to normal, it might be busy with indexing the disk.

    Start up in Safe mode, it clears the caches.

    You might have some incompatibility which slows down the system.

    Rest PRAM and SMC.
     

Share This Page