how to jailbreak from 4.1 to 5.01 untethered?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Steve-Jobs, Jan 2, 2012.

1. Steve-Jobs macrumors 6502

Steve-Jobs

Hi, I've been searching the forum to find a proper jailbreaking instruction to 5.01 upgrade, from 4.1 on Iphone 4.
    I'm kind of new to this I've done Jailbreaking once ages ago and worked perfect, could be my luck. I don't want to mess this one up so I need some help from people who has JB'd to 5.01
    I have my SHSH saved to Cydia (I think I did it says SHSH: 4.1, 4.2.1, 4.2-b3, 4.33 4.3.5, 5.01)
    Is it possible to keep all my apps and contacts musice etc. before Jailbreaking, or do I have to do anything before starting the JB?

Thanks in advance for al your help..

2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

Are you just JB or also unlocked with ultrasnow on unofficial carrier?

3. Steve-Jobs thread starter macrumors 6502

Steve-Jobs

I'm only JB my BB is still 02.10.04 whic is locked... and the version says 4.1(8B117)

cheers

4. Steve-Jobs thread starter macrumors 6502

Steve-Jobs

It looks like all th JB videos are based on tethered 5.1 JBs does it mean that I have to upgrade from my current 4.1 to 5.1 tethered?

5. secretanchitman macrumors 6502

secretanchitman

no, ios 5.0.1 has an untethered jailbreak since last week or so.

use the latest version of redsn0w or pwnage tool to jailbreak and keep your baseband at 02.10.04. i would recommend redsn0w as it incorporates some important fixes for the jailbreak that pwnage tool doesnt right now. also it hacktivates just fine.

http://www.freakgeeks.com/2011/20298/jailbreak-untethered-on-ios5-0-1-guide/ - this tutorial is exactly what you need. redsn0w works on both windows and osx.

6. Steve-Jobs thread starter macrumors 6502

Steve-Jobs

Thanks for the reply. So do you think I should keep my BB? It's already locked and looks like there'll be no unlock for it...

7. biohead macrumors 6502