How to keep Spyware & Malware off Leopard?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by HiFiGuy528, Jul 28, 2008.

1. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

HiFiGuy528

I am new to Mac. I've read that OS-X does not need any anti-virus program. But how do I keep my new MacBook (clean) free of Malware, Spyware and Key Loggers?

Thanks! :)

2. Sky Blue Guest

Sky Blue

Don't download anything silly off the Internet.

3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

Sun Baked

Simple.

Don't install them...

Besides the infected files you download, which will just be something you pass on -- but doesn't spread to other parts of Leopard.

Most of the other stuff requires the user to actively infect the machine.

aka, this site requires you to install this app, your video codecs are out of date -- please install this trojan from our site, your app is out of date -- please use our link, etc.

4. NAG macrumors 68030

NAG

Basically avoid the internet's equivalent of the red light district. If you install random stuff and give your password out to everything that asks your chances of installing something bad increases.

5. jroller macrumors regular

The short answer --for now at least-- is that you do not have to do anything. There is nothing out there that will affect you. (Ok, there is like one trojan that can hurt your system...IF you choose to download it and then you enter your password as you are installing it. There is nothing that will do anything without your participation.) So.. just don't install anything from sites you can't be certain is trustworthy.

6. Str8edgepunker macrumors 6502

My recommendation would be to populate your hosts files with entries to ad sites pointing to 127.0.0.1 (Your loopback address). Here is a good web site with entries for it:

http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.txt