how to pick no toll roads when using maps

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by audirs5, Apr 24, 2016.

  1. saudor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #2
    You can't. It baffles me that apple fails to understand the logic that not everyone wants to go on a toll road - even if it's just for 1 minute. I swear if there's a toll road nearby, it will always default to it with no other options.

    But fear not, more social media integrations coming soon!
     
  2. JT2002TJ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    #3
    I really want Truck Routes... In the NY area you cannot pull a trailer on Parkways, only Expressways. So, just like all the truckers out there (TONS of them), Tuck only routes would be very helpful.
     
  3. Crzyrio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #4
    No way currently.
    This is desperately needed in Canada espically where a short distance on our toll road can cost anywhere from $2 to $20
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    Use Google Maps.
    Not perfect, by any stretch - but does have a route setting to avoid toll roads.
     
  5. gsmornot macrumors 68030

    gsmornot

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #6
    It works for me. When I select a destination that includes tolls, it will tell me it does at the top of the destination screen, just below the transportation options. An alternate route on the map is provided in a lighter blue. Selecting that route will result in a route without toll roads. The only time it does not is when there is no other way.

    One caveat, you will want to dig a little deeper to see where the toll is within the route. If its 3 miles at the end of a 300 mile route its not obvious. I have selected different points for a destination to back track the route to find the spot with the toll. It really could be easier but saying there is no option is incorrect.
     
  6. audirs5, Apr 25, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2016

    audirs5 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    #8
    I'm sorry. But how the **** is this not a standard easy to pick option? Is Apple Maps that far behind? Ive been giving it a chance because my car has car play (Another total POS), but WOW...
     
  7. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #9
    Yes Apple maps really is that far behind. Still can't do stuff Google was doing when Apple maps launched 3-4 years ago including avoiding tolls. Dunno why apple bother.
     
  8. lolkthxbai, Apr 25, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2016

    lolkthxbai macrumors 65816

    lolkthxbai

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    #10
    Did any of you even read gsmornot's post...?
    Apple Maps does give you routes with no tolls.

    Instead of a "no tolls" button like your used to in Google Maps, it automatically highlights an alternate route in light blue if there is a way to reach the destination with no tolls. But I guess complaining about it is easier than actually reading the screen or a post that specifically answers your concern, right?

    image.jpeg image.jpeg
     
  9. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #11
    The alternative route does not necessarily avoid tolls.
     
  10. JT2002TJ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    #12
    x2... That only works if you have 1 or 2 toll roads. But up here in the NYC Metroplex area, that doesn't even come close to working. And worse yet, you would have to know the roads in advance to be able to know it it is truly "toll only". Other thing about up here, there are EZ Pass only (toll company) based on time periods (George Washington Bridge overnight lower level), this info is also a MUST KNOW...

    I submitted an enhancement request to include this AND Truckers routes... With Parkways and Expressways up here and a trailer, it is a PITA and you have to generally know the routes to be compliant.
     
  11. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #13
    It will avoid tolls if they can be avoided, if not it will give you toll roads just like Google Maps does when you have 'avoid tolls' turned on.

    Notice in the screen shot it says 'Avoid tolls' however it then says 'this route has tolls'. The alternative has the little one in the circle too indicating it also has tolls. Just like Apple Maps its only lets me use tolls roads even though NONE of them should have tolls since I have avoid tolls on.

    IMG_0293.png
     
  12. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #14
    man, i knew that apple maps lets you know which route has tolls, because my friend katrhyn called me on her SAMSUNG phone asking me how to get home without having to pay a toll
     
  13. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #15
    Your example is not a good one, as there are toll bridges on either of those routes across the Delaware river. The northern crossing, near Trenton, started tolls last winter (I could be wrong, as I haven't actually been up that route for several years, but that's what I read)
    "avoid tolls" is not the same as "no tolls", or "miss all tolls without exception"
    That would be one of the reasons that you would see "This route has tolls", despite selecting "Avoid tolls"
    Some tolls will be unavoidable, or not worth the effort. I think that is part of New Jersey's and PA's plan (Delaware likes your money, too :D )
     
  14. lolkthxbai macrumors 65816

    lolkthxbai

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    #16
    If the toll can be avoided, both Apple Maps and Google maps will let you know. If it doesn't, it's because the toll was implemented recently and map data hasn't been updated. The alternative to avoiding tolls between shorter distances than the one cynics posted would be to take the regular streets and avenues and the map may not suggest that as an alternate route because of the complexity and ETA. That's the only reason I can think of why it wouldn't avoid the tolls even if you know of a way to do so yourself already.
     
  15. dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #17
    I guess it is the price of progress, with Google/Apple knowing what's good for the user better than the user would! ;-)

    The 13 year old nav system in one of my cars (with current map data) gives a choice of "Avoid Tolls" and if selected, will not plot a route if it is not possible. It will also go 50 miles out of the way if it avoids a toll, will take surface streets for 100 miles if "Avoid Freeways" is selected, and do similar things for "Shortest Distance" or "Fastest Route". I kind of like it doing what I ask and telling me if it isn't possible; other people might think it is more user friendly when the system can't do what you want and offers alternatives... until those alternatives don't correspond with the user's desires. Like when I try to search for something in an area that I am presently not: Depending on the weight of the results rather than searching the zoomed map area Apple/Google Maps will show me results for my current location. This isn't really helpful if I'm finding something for a friend/relative, planning a vacation/trip, or using a system with location services unavailable/off. Yahoo Maps was better in this regard (and many other UI features) but I guess the data is king.
     
  16. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #18
    I agree and understand that. My point was Apple and Google function the same way in that regard.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 28, 2016 ---
    Yep, my Garmin will do that. I am kind of surprised Google doesn't say "no route available".
     
  17. JT2002TJ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    #19
    Just to let you guys know. There are routes to get from my home in LI to NJ, I just tried it on apple maps, it only gave me 2 choices, both had tolls. If you know the route, the two choices it gave me were Throgs Neck Bridge (toll both ways) or Tri borough bridge (toll both ways). The non-toll option is to take the 59st Bridge, Manhattan Bridge, or Brooklyn Bridge into Manhattan. All routes out of Manhattan to NJ have no tolls (George Washington Bridge, Lincoln Tunnel, or Holland Tunnel)

    Google maps was able to find the route by touching the three dots, selecting route options and "Avoid Tolls"

    So YES, Google maps does it right, Apple maps doesn't. OP is correct.
     
  18. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #20
    I'm not familiar with those areas care for a screenshot from both?

    Be helpful for Apple feedback.
     
  19. saudor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #21
    For 300 mile, I bet it. But when the trip is barely 15km and all alternatives show toll roads, that's a problem. Google maps of course worked without problems. That being said, I prefer Apple maps as Google maps heats up the phone. But the quality is just not there.
     
  20. gsmornot macrumors 68030

    gsmornot

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #22
    Like I said, needs work but it is there. I could say this feature needs work several more times but I think we get the point. I have bypassed tolls and on return paid them because I didn't pay attention or missed a turn and the reroute took me on a toll road. Just pointing out that the feature is there.
     
  21. JT2002TJ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    #23
    The apple maps has two options, the only alternative is grey, both require tolls. The google maps, goes through Manhattan via the 59th street bridge (when I select "avoid tolls"), which has no toll.

    The George Washington Bridge has tolls only going into NY, no toll heading to NJ. There really needs to be an option to select "avoid tolls" in Apple maps.

    This doesn't even bother me so much, since I would rather pay the tolls, but the bigger issue is "Truck route", where you can select roads that you can use a trailer. Both Apple Maps and Google maps do not have this option.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #24


    Yeah, sure. Until it decides to simply change back to the first route while you're driving.

    Pisses me off. What's the point of giving me a choice if it's just going to revert back to the other way when I'm not looking?

    Freaking useless feature.
     
  23. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #25
    Why would it do that?
     

Share This Page