How to print a range?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by vansouza, Sep 26, 2009.

  1. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #1
    I have tried searching; but if some kind soul wants to help, please do.

    I often swipe ranges of a page in Safari and have to copy and paste to print it out. In XP you could just choose print range so something like that; so long ago I do not remember.

    Is there a way to do this with SLeopard? Thanks... :mad: :confused:
     
  2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    There's a "From x to y" option. Is this what you mean?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. vansouza thread starter macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #3
    No, but thanks, I use that to print 1 of n pages but I am talking about selecting text with the mouse and wanting to print only that range...
     
  4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    Someone probably has an Automator action to print text - then, you could add a Service which would get the selected text from Safari (or any application), and send it to your printer.

    There already is a Service which will create a new TextEdit document. Go to System Preferences > Keyboard > Keyboard Shortcuts, select "Services", then go to the "Text" section and enable "New TextEdit Window Containing Selection". It doesn't help if you have to copy & paste numerous selections, but if you want to save/print a single selection, it's handy.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. vansouza thread starter macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #5
    Thank you... trying now.
     
  6. vansouza thread starter macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #6
    Hummm, not showing up for me. I take it that is the Edit menu item in Safari but that last item does not show up. I did activate it per your instructions and even rebooted.
     
  7. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #7
    It'll only show up if there actually is text selected. Maybe this is the problem? This is new behavior in SL - Service items are contextual.
     
  8. vansouza thread starter macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #8
    Thank you, of course it is working well; I just was not right clicking the mouse. Now I see it. While it is not the print range I was looking for as Win XP does it; it certainly works faster then my other methods...

    Thank you very much.
     

Share This Page