How to re-run set up assistant on Yosemite?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by rarchy, Aug 30, 2015.

  1. rarchy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    #1
    Following on from my post below where I was having problems with time machine and migration assistant, I have decided I need to re-run set up assistant - so just wondered if someone can tell me how as I have googled and found a few ways and not 100% sure which is the best or correct.

    My laptop is pretty new and I don't have any thing on here that I can't re-download so it isn't an inconvenience that it wipes everything and then I can get the files I want on my user name

    Question - as I ran migration assistant and selected photos, it set up a new account with the files on, will it delete this user name and the files? Its better if it does so I can just start again and those files are on the hard drive so I can get them again with set up assistant

    (Basically to summarise the other post for anyone who cares, I have old files I want from backups of an old computer (which has now died) and really struggling, entering time machine the normal way I can't find the files, going via finder I can find the files but it is incredibly slow (as it to find just one photo takes 30 mins, let alone whole folders), and doing the migration assistant sets up a separate user which i don't want and was just a massive faff)

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...acbook-snow-leopard-new-mbp-yosemite.1910963/
     
  2. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #2
    The only way I know is to do a full Yosemite OS Install via Restore (unless you have the full Yosemite installer available). Re-installing the OS SHOULD not effect your current data on your new Mac, BUT make sure you have a full, verified back up before performing just to be safe.

    My preference would be to back up with a clone via Carbon Copy Cloner (my preferred), Super Duper, or Disk Utility. Make sure you boot from your cloned drive as a verify test before Restoring. Time Machine back ups can be challenging as you know.

    BTW, use the same account name you currently use when you run the Setup Assistant.

    Maybe someone else has a different idea.
     
  3. rarchy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    #3
  4. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #4
    That is a good article with instructions. According to the article, I was wrong, it will not run the Setup Assistant because you had Yosemite already installed. Here is a link to search on: How to rerun Setup Assistant on Mac
    Check out some of the search links. The first link recommends deleting a file (.AppleSetupDone) that makes the Mac think Setup Assistant has never been run.
     

Share This Page