Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

futuremacdev

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 1, 2008
Hi guys,
I'm just starting out with the iPhone development, so maybe I'm asking something simple. I need to programmatically retrieve some system info, such as the battery charge percentage, whether the battery is currently charging, the CPU frequency and other system info. Do you know how to do it?

I've searched the docs, but there's not a single reference to something with "battery" in the name. There are a few C functions for the Mac OSX, and even a complete BatteryInfo sample project, but nothing for the iPhone. Is that possible?

How was the BatteryInfo and HWInfo apps written for the unlocked iPhones, if there is no documented functions for this?

Any help is highly appreciated!

himansk

macrumors regular
Oct 16, 2006
The unlocked phones use a completely different API, I dont think the official API has exposed the hardware information to the developers otherwise I would expect somebody to have already answered your question.

futuremacdev

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 1, 2008
yeah, I guess you're right...but let's admit it, it sucks! I mean, knowing the battery status is a pretty important need for many mobile apps, how could they avoid adding an API for it???

Say for example I'm using the Localization API. If the battery is full, I can update the position every 10 seconds...if it's low, I may decide to update the position every 60 seconds. But if I don't have the battery info...:(

The SDK as it is doesn't impress me much..let's just hope they'll fill the blanks..

gnasher729

Suspended
Nov 25, 2005
yeah, I guess you're right...but let's admit it, it sucks! I mean, knowing the battery status is a pretty important need for many mobile apps, how could they avoid adding an API for it???