How to send lots of text messages?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Renegade89, Feb 19, 2009.

  1. Renegade89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Nevada, USA
    #1
    Ok, so a local radio station is having a contest, and whoever sends the most text messages to their (as in the radio station's) number by Feb. 28 wins a trip to a concert.

    What do you think the best way to send out tons of text from my iPhone number would be? I dont think I'll have a chance by just typing, pressing send, typing, pressing send, etc. Any suggestions?
     
  2. moka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

    Post up your number here and we will all send you 100 txt's each that's 5,000 txt's at 50 members...
     
  3. Renegade89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Nevada, USA
    #3
    Lol, i wish it was that easy... but they station counts the texts it gets from each phone number. So the text has to specifically come from my number.
     
  4. jmccullough108 macrumors 6502a

    jmccullough108

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    Text google and cha-cha for for like 5 hours straight..

    Or if you have twitter.. set all your updates to be received by SMS.. (I have 750+ followers, did it, and for 25 minutes that it was running, I got 753 text messages) :p
     
  5. mknawabi macrumors 6502

    mknawabi

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
  6. andreab35 macrumors 6502a

    andreab35

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

    InfiniteSMS. 99 cents unlimited texting. I got it in the app store this morning.
     
  7. Sirobin macrumors 6502

    Sirobin

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #7
    So, apparently no one is actually reading what he needs...the OP needs to SEND a lot of texts to a single number. It's an interesting question, I have no idea though.
     
  8. Renegade89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Nevada, USA
    #8
    Yes, I have to send the texts. I edited the original post for clarity.
     
  9. chipno macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #9
    What needs to be in the messages? Anything specific or can it be just any random messages to them?
     
  10. Rayfire macrumors 68020

    Rayfire

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    PNW
    #10
    I tried to use the + with a same number but the iPhone notices they're the same so it erases it, I was hoping it won't so you can add multiple recipients with the same number. Other than that, like what Sirobin said, interesting question but I have no idea.
     
  11. jlwillia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #11
    Why don't you just type something, copy, paste, and send over and over.


    .......oh wait.......


    fail.
     
  12. Sirobin macrumors 6502

    Sirobin

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #12
    Yeah, I tried the same thing =/

    Well, he could just type a space, press send, and do that over and over...but he wants a better way.
     
  13. bradenwh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #13
    Why is it a fail? The iPhone has copy and paste.
    *cough*Clippy*cough*
    Oh, wait, you have to jailbreak.
    Is that a problem?
    No.
     
  14. Renegade89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Nevada, USA
    #14
    All I have to type is "Lady", so copy/pasting with clippy isn't really worth it. I wish I could put the same number in a message to "multiple" recipients, but like Rayfire said, it just erases the number.
     
  15. cjm3113 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #15
    What if you make multiple contacts with the same number? Still erase it?
     
  16. Rayfire macrumors 68020

    Rayfire

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    PNW
    #16
    It won't let you add a recipient which has a number already on the SMS recipient list.

    @OP
    Can you borrow a different phone that has faster SMS sending?
    Those phones that only requires you to press one single button repetitively so
    you can send multiple text messages to a single (or more) recipient.
     
  17. Renegade89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Nevada, USA
    #17
    Well I still have my RAZR that I had before I got my iPhone, but wouldn't I like have to deactivate my iphone to use it?
     
  18. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #18
    Nope, just switch sims and your good to go!
     
  19. Rayfire macrumors 68020

    Rayfire

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    PNW
    #19
    Precisely. If you're that unsure, back up your iPhone first with iTunes so everything is saved, then remove the sim and put it on your Razr and text away! ;)

    First time I suggested a different mobile phone over an iPhone haha
     
  20. locifcan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    #20
    It's easy for me to send messages, but you need to jailbreak your iPhone first.

    Copy and Paste then click Send.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. sergiuria macrumors 6502a

    sergiuria

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    Near a bunch of T-Rex
    #21
    Care to explain what this is?
     
  22. Renegade89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Nevada, USA
    #22
    My phone is jailbroken. What the heck is that?


    On a side note, I tried using a few of the jailbroken apps for text messaging, and with biteSMS I was able to send messages to multiple recipiants of the same number, but when i went to resend in the "outgoing" list I had created, all I got was automatic replies from the error system, saying i didn't enter a valid number. Basically after sending once it added +1 to each number, making it invalid (probably because the number we have to text is a 5-digit number).
     
  23. richmonddjs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    Richmond, Va.
    #23
    you can get copy and paste on a non jb phone. Go to pastebud.com
     
  24. ppc750fx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #24
    What's the number?

    You might be able to use an e-mail or HTTP to SMS gateway...
     
  25. grantsdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #25
    Use the text send feature on ATT.com and make a macro to send texts.
     

Share This Page