How to Setup Continuity

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by snarestud940, Sep 17, 2014.

  1. snarestud940 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #1
    is there a certain way to setup Continuity from my iPhone 5 to my iPad 3?

    And when my iPhone 6+ comes in around October 1st, will it be easy to change?
     
  2. wermy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    #2
    Same question here. I thought it would "just work" if I was signed into icloud on both devices. If I've got safari open on my iphone, shouldn't I see a safari icon on my iPad's lock screen or something, so I can open the same page there?
     
  3. snarestud940 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #3
    i'm more concerned about sms text, and phone calls.
     
  4. wermy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    #4
    Ah. I don't believe SMS continuity is available yet - I think that's due in October. Not sure about calls.
     
  5. SurefireObject macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    #5
    Turn bluetooth on in both iOS 8 and 10.10. Maybe reboot if that doesn't do it.
     
  6. madsci954 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    Handoff is under Settings > General

    Cellular phone calls is under FaceTime
     
  7. brian017 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Location:
    Kilkenny, Ireland
    #7
    Turn on iPhone Celluar calls under FaceTime settings on your iPad and have bluetooth on both devices

    SMS relay isn't available yet
     
  8. snarestud940 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #8
    I'm confused, is this for answering phone calls on your iPad?
     
  9. brian017 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Location:
    Kilkenny, Ireland
    #9
    Yes, and making them. Works fine on mine
     
  10. snarestud940 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #10
    once the yosemite update comes out, we can get that on there too right?

    sorry for all the questions. The iPad must be on wifi to do this right? do the devices have to be connected via bluetooth?
     
  11. SurefireObject macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    #11
    It ONLY works with Yosemite and iOS 8. Not Mavericks.
     
  12. snarestud940 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #12
    does the iPhone and iPad need to be synced under bluetooth as well?
     
  13. SurefireObject macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    #13
    I just turned BT on and they both started seeing each other.
     
  14. snarestud940 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #14
    ok, but you don't have to sync them to each other on bluetooth right?
     
  15. SurefireObject macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    #15
    I didn't have to pair them or anything like that. I think it took a reboot of one or both devices for it to start working.
     
  16. snarestud940 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #16
    awesome thanks!
     
  17. nrweaver, Sep 17, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2014

    nrweaver macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #17
    I got iphone 5s and and ipad to show active apps.

    Has anyone got the ability to use the LTE from iphone on their ipad yet? What they are calling instant hotspot. This is what I really want to figure out.
     
  18. tkermit macrumors 68040

    tkermit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #18
    Apple should be more explicit about the fact that BT needs to be turned on in order for Handoff to work...
     
  19. threelions macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    #19
    My 5C and Ipad 4 won't connect over BT unless I set up a hotspot. Any ideas? Or do I have to set up a hotspot for this to work?

    EDIT - To be honest if it requires BT I probably won't bother with it much as BT gives me a massive headache.
     
  20. flashflooder macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #20
    Can iPad 3 even do Handoff? Don't see an option under General.
     
  21. conklaven macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #21
    Just tried it out...

    No bluetooth is required.

    you just have to be in close proximity... its 1 am here so i didnt test out the distance.
    You have to have both connected to wifi and
    both logged into same apple account

    thats it no advance set up required

    you go to facetime on your ipad and type the number you want to call and it asks if you want to call with cellular or facetime audio. then you'll be able to see it making the call on your phone and you'll hear it on the ipad.

    EDIT: actually i am not sure on the bluetooth as i now see both my ipad and iphone have bluetooth on. this must of happened during the update as i never have BT on my phone.
     
  22. childoftheko4n macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #22
    So, i just took a phone from my mac
    and ipad

    no bluetooth needed :D
     
  23. Pagemakers macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #23
    What happens if I want to be able to use continuity for phone calls from my wifi-only iPad but I don’t want to use my iPad for FaceTime?

    It is possible to use continuity without my iPad intercepting FaceTime calls?
     
  24. Pagemakers macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #24
    “Hey Siri” also can’t make a continuity calls from iPad to iPhone. She says she can’t make phone calls only FaceTime calls. Think that’s a bug.
     
  25. Apple Fan 21 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    #25
    Still not working for me. iPad Air and iPhone 5S, both on same wifi
     

Share This Page