How well can you play WoW in parallels?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by nlr, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. nlr, Nov 9, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2010

    nlr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hello,

    I am wondering How well can you play WoW in parallels? (it doesn't necessarily have to be maxed out) as I am using a program which needs to run in windows...


    And should I upgrade ram to 8GB in my mbp 2010 i7 2.66 GHz as I want to run wow in parallels well? It doesn't necessarily have to be maxed out


    I would try it myself but I haven't got it installed yet...
     
  2. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #2
    Run the required application in Parallels (hopefully with a very small memory footprint like 512MB of RAM and 1 processor); then run native Mac WoW. You'll likely have to lower the resolution and view distance but that will give you best results. Don't bother trying to play in Parallels.
     
  3. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    As the above said, run WoW natively in OS X. Absolutely no reason to run it in Parallels.
     
  4. rbarris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #4
    Better yet, take a moment to name this "application".
     
  5. Entopia7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #5
    I'm going to go out on a limb and say the reason he wants to run WoW in Parallels involves allowing a second, shady application to interact with Warcraft's data stream to the server OR the application itself, be it for botting, cheating, mapping, etc.

    I don't understand why someone would pay to log into a game that they don't even want to play themselves.
     
  6. randomosity macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #6
    could be because hes tryin to lower his ping with Tunneling, im in Australia and there are no local servers. My minimum ping is about 400 on average.
     
  7. Gata macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    #7
    Virtual machines are generally bad for any sort of 3-d gaming. Try Bootcamp. If you really have to go the VM route, you'll be forced to play at far lower resolutions and settings than if you were playing the game natively.
     
  8. jared_kipe macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    I have not only run WoW in windows7 in parallels, I have run TWO virtual machines EACH with WoW running in them while using the computer for normal every day things. Parallels runs WoW really really well if you don't need the settings very high.

    You can PM me for the reason I did it if you are curious.
     
  9. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #9
    Actually I was gonna ask that question- why choose Parallels?
     

Share This Page