How well does KOTOR run on the 9400m?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by dylin, Nov 22, 2011.

  1. dylin macrumors 6502a

    dylin

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #1
    Ive been debating if i wanted to purchase KOTOR, but dont want to buy if the frame rate is going to be terrible. And by terrible i mean below 30 fps on average.
     
  2. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #2
    I have no clue on the Mac version... but I used to play the Windows version on Wine (which I still have a Wineskin port on my Mac right now). When I played in Linux on Wine (like over 7 years ago when the game was new...) I had a much MUCH slower GPU than that, and was able to get higher than 30 fps with the right settings... I have no doubt you could get that game playable on a 9400m. It is a very old game.
     
  3. mgartner0622 macrumors 65816

    mgartner0622

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #3
    I have an older version that I've owned since new though and it doesn't work with lion...so be careful.
     
  4. Canaan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #4
    I have been playing the version from the Mac App Store and it runs just fine on pretty high settings. (Higher than when I originally played it back in the day on PC) No complaints here. Not sure about FPS, but I'm usually pretty picky and anything below 30 hurts my eyes so it is for sure above 30 if you tweak the settings right.
     
  5. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #5
    I went to the Mac App Store and searched on KOTOR and Starwars Knights of the Old Republic and did not find it. You have a link by chance?
     
  6. soLoredd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Should run fine, I play on my 2011 13" MBP every now and then and it runs great.
     
  7. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #7
    the graphics power in the 2011 13" is about twice as good as a 9400m.
     
  8. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #8
    The game is extremely old. I have no doubt even the latest Intel GMA machines could play it perfectly.

    I mean, it was originally a PowerPC release for the GeForce 2 MX. I think you'll be ok.
     
  9. vincenz macrumors 601

    vincenz

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #9
    Try searching "star wars knights republic". It should come up. "kotor" and "starwars" isn't going to work.
     

Share This Page